Name:  Tina Brown

Age:  56

Where are you from:  Baltimore, Maryland

I have a Master’s degree in System Engineering and a B.A in Psychology.  I have two grown children Michael and Melissa, a beautiful daughter in law Angelina and a grandson named Tyrell.  I live in Tampa, Florida now, after many years of dealing with the cold and snow of the Poconos.  A beautiful place but cold in the winters.

I’m single.  I love to write (of course) people watch, garden, interior decorate, etc.  Many interests are many!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news? 

I’m working on my next book that I hope will knock my readers socks off!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

The first book that I published in 2012 started as a journal.  My childhood memories were ripping me about.  I needed a way to deal with it so I began writing.  I thought I had a pretty good story that folks could relate to.  After many years of dreaming of publishing my memoirs, I took the plunge and never looked back.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I took me years to accept the title.  I didn’t feel that I was worthy of such a title.  My readers say otherwise and I believe them.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve read memoirs of the rich and famous.  Their stories are not that different from my own.  I felt like my story would resonate with regular folk like myself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

My stories read like a private conversation is taking place with the reader.  I work hard to write in the dialect of my characters.  Grammar gets thrown out the window because most people, me included, just don’t speak that way.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

That’s the most difficult part.  To be quite honest, my title often come while I’m in prayer.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

All things are possible with perseverance.  It doesn’t matter how difficult your life has been, you can always pull yourself out of it and have live your dreams.  It won’t always be easy but it CAN be done.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I am often told by my readers that my characters remind them of someone they know or of their own experience.  My books are very realistic.  They are a narration of my experiences as well events that have been shared with me.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

The most influential book, The Bible.  No matter what my readers ‘faith base is, there’s wisdom in the bible.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that strikes you about their work?

There’s so many independent authors who are doing amazing work.  Too many to mention.  I invite you to check out an anthology, Just between Us- Inspiring Stories by Women, that I had the pleasure of working on with a few amazing authors.  Most of us have never met in person but could publish a project that still stands the test of time, still receiving high Amazon ratings.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

The public-school system was my refuge.  As a young child, it allowed me to learn about a world beyond my circumstances.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I sure hope so!  I put my heart into every book that I write.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

No, I don’t think so.  I love the story and feel blessed to be able to share it with readers.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? 

I read a lot as a child.  I was a shy child and found it difficult to share my thought openly.  Writing allowed me to let people into my world.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

This is currently entitled, Another Bump in the Road:

SUE

It was a day just like any other day when Pamela’s mother – Sue dropped her off at the daycare and caught the short train ride to work, never to be seen again.  Pamela’s mom worked for one of the largest pharmaceutical companies in Maryland.  She was so proud to be working on a new drug that would change the world.  And it did, but not in the way anyone expected it to.

“No longer will our young people fall prey to the addictions of the past”, Sue’s boss Albert said.

“Just a few more months of testing and this will be approved for human trials”. Albert said as he held a vile with yellow liquid up to the florescent ceiling lights that lined the dingy basement laboratory.

“This will change the world”, Sue proudly said.  She and Albert had been working in the underground lab for more than 3 years now.  They were working on a drug that would cleanse the body of addictive substances while blocking its altering affects in the brain.

Cities throughout the US were falling apart.  Crime was out of control and there weren’t enough law enforcement personnel to keep the peace.  This top-secret lab was one of the last efforts to regain control over what was becoming a pandemic.  Those who were not directly affected by the drugs were victimized by those who were.

“You look like you got money”, the man said to Sue as she stepped off the train to walk to the lab that was only a block away.

Sue quickly picked up her pace and didn’t answer him.

“Hey bitch!  I know you hear me! he yelled as he tried to catch up with her.

“What do you want? Sue asked, although she already knew the answer.

“What the hell you think? he answered as he snatched her purse with so much force that it knocked her to her knees.

“Just take it and leave me alone!”, Sue shouted through the pain of her knees colliding with the cement pavement as passerbys quickly moved around her, never acknowledging her need for help.

“You bitch!”, the man yelled as he quickly jabbed his knife into Sue multiple times until she stopped screaming and laid still.  He frantically sifted through her purse for the $20 which was all she had and then ran into the crowd, as she lay bleeding out there on the side walk.

Sue thought of her precious baby girl, Pammie and her no count husband Edward and prayed that this was not the end.

But it was….

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My goal is to make each book a little better that the one before it.  That’s challenging and maybe somewhat unrealistic.  But, there you have it  😀

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes, I often travel to book signing events.  I’d like to expand my work to have it showcased at the high school and universities.  Still a work in progress!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

All my book covers are designed by Cecelia Morgan.  She is amazing!

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

For me, it takes patience to wait on the story to unfold in my mind’s eye.  I set deadlines for myself with respect to when the next book with be published, but it truly is outside of my control.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Marketing is THE most difficult part of the journey.  Networking is key.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead. 

If Struggles of the Women Folk was made into a film, I’d like to see

Camille Winbush play Georgie.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep working at your craft.  Listen and accept the criticism.  Develop a thick skin, because some reader just will not like your work and that’s okay.  There’s enough books out there for everyone.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I appreciate all the love and support that you’ve shown me over the years.  It means the world to me!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Fire in the Water by Janice Ross.  https://www.amazon.com/Fire-Water-Janice-Ross-ebook/dp/B06XBX337X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1493666722&sr=8-1&keywords=janice+ross+fire+in+the+water  This book is beautifully written.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t, probably Cat in the Hat or Green Eggs and Ham.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children and my children 😉

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d like to meet myself at a much younger age.  I’d say, it’s gonna be okay.  Don’t worry so much.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? 

She lived.  She loved.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ? 

Too many to mention.  Here’s a few, dancing, gardening, interior decorating, people watching, etc.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

My favorite movie of all time is Out of Africa with Meryl Streep and Robert Redford (hot, hot, hot!).  Followed by The Painted Veil with Edward Norton and Naomi Watts

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music.

I love hip hop! My favorite color is red.  My preference depends on my mood.  (Chinese, Italian, soul food, etc.)

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve had so many careers.  Writing is just one of them.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

My website is www.authortmbrown.com

My Amazon author page:  https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00BTFCLAW

 

 

 

