Name  Sherell Cummings

Age 26

Where are you from

I was born and raised on the beautiful twin island of Trinidad and Tobago. Sad to say I’ve only been to Tobago five times, I still have goals to live there at some point in my life.

I started off a business major and realized early on that I found it very boring and not at all me, so obviously for my first job I went into IT. Not going to say that’s where I’ve been till now, no. Eight years later I’m in administration.

My life is pretty basic. I wake up every day and try to make each one different or better than the last one in some way. My daughter and most of the people with whom I interact is the reason for that. I work at an interiors company as their Technical Coordinator for the copiers they also sell. And most of my days are spent with fictional characters who I’d love nothing more than to have all in one book that I didn’t have to write myself.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I wish I could say, but I don’t want to jinx it.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing a few years ago; I think I was twenty three at the time when I started my crazy reading obsession. I used to write in school, mostly three page stories that never actually made much sense if I think about it now, but I still made the grade. Its only when I started reading three and four books in a week did I start thinking about putting my own words down on paper again. One day I started a simple story and it blossomed into the book I have today and that’s when I knew.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Two months ago when my first book was published.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

That story came about after I read an article about the disorder featured in the book. I thought about it for a few days, wanting to know how people would treat a person in their life who suffered from it. Somehow a high school story started up in my head and continued until it was a full blown book.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not per say, I started with romance and I’ll see how it goes in the future.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title actually came from a poem I was reading the day I was contemplating the name I had before. The poem was about this deep love and one of the lines said something about a smile in the sky. It just so happen my main character’s name was Skyler, so I reworked it and A Smile in a Beautiful Sky it became.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not particularly. Everyone is going to grasp something different. May they reflect on how they treat another or see love through a new set of eyes, it’s all how they view it and how its translated to them.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The book is pure fiction, but what I can say is realistic are the personalities of each character. They are all people I know and the main character is me.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The most influential books in my library runs from 53 Letters For my lover by Leylah Atter, Marrow and The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher and all of Colleen Hoover’s books. They each carried a different message with not just the content, but the way they were written leaving me wanting more. I long to do that in my books and maybe I will someday and I know I’d have these writers to thank.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, only time will tell.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No I won’t. Except maybe make it longer, I hate when a story has to end.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Butterflies in the Sand is my next release. It’s this sweet story shared between two friends who had to face just about every obstacle before getting there happily ever after.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I tend to procrastinate a lot and not for any particular reason I just sometimes find myself with a book idea and instead of getting it out of my head; I watch TV or start reading a new book. Then I get pissed at myself for wanting to write when I don’t have time.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not so far, wish I did though. I long to know what it feels like, since I’ve never been anywhere.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Chris Keesler, he’s this amazing editor- and-chief at Boroughs that took my ideas and transformed them into more than I ever thought it would be.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Starting it. Beginnings are head for me because I like to jump into the action and hate the process of the slow buildup. Then there’s the editing which is a story in and of itself when you’re doing it yourself. My first book I had to read it twenty times to make sure I got all the mistakes. Which I didn’t and still had to re-read it a twenty first time.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I don’t give up very easily on something I really want. Most things I’ve done in the past, I gave up on because I didn’t want it or want to become it. I went through the ringer writing and getting my book out to the world because it’s what I saw myself doing. I found a career path I didn’t even know I wanted, until I typed the words ‘THE END’ at the end of my first manuscript.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

For the male I’d choose Munro Chambers and for the female I’d go with Daisy Ridley. I choose those two because they fit the image of the characters in my head.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just to keep working at it and never take no for an answer. I got so many rejection letters it would have been easier for me to throw in the towel than to write another cover letter. I even though about submitting a new story thinking that maybe my story was the problem, but I loved what I wrote and I wanted to see it in print. My book may not be a hit just yet and who knows it may never be, but that’s not going to stop me from trying to get there and wanting to be greater.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

To my readers, I want you to know that a lot of time and effort went into what you see today. Thank you for reading it and I hope I didn’t disappoint and if I did I promise the next one will be better.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently I’m on Easy Virtue by Mia Asher. Sorry to say I haven’t gotten that far in to give any details, but so far so good.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read was actually Fifty Shades of Gray. Heard the buzz about it, a friend called and asked if I had read it yet, so of course I bought it and I guess you can say my love of reading grew from there.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Funny memes on Instagram

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

The people I’d like to see from the past are relatives. They are the only people I know for a fact that gave some of the best advice and would never stair me in the wrong direction.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I don’t want a head stone because I don’t want to be buried. I don’t want the word to remember me by a stone surrounded by other stones. I want to be remembered by how I lived and not that I’m dead.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Not really. I’ve wanted to pick up hiking but no one wants to do it with me.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

These days I’m trying to catch up on Jane the Virgin, but besides that I’m a huge Supernatural and Walking Dead fan.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite foods pasta and Ice-cream, Color Purple and music is anything with a great rhythm that sets the mood I’m in.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 Learn how to bake cakes and open a fancy little bakery sometime in the distant future.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No blogs or websites just yet. But you can check out my author’s page on Amazon also my Twitter and Instagram pages as well.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MSDXWQ2

https://www.facebook.com/Sherellcummings

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/700855

https://www.createspace.com/6905819

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/a-smile-in-a-beautiful-sky

https://twitter.com/arabellaj19

https://www.instagram.com/arabellaj19/

 

 

