Name Roxanne Barbour

Age 67

Where are you from
Vancouver, Canada

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc
I have a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science.
My (first and only) husband and I have been married for 44 years.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
I self-published “Kaiku” in February 2017, and “An Alien Perspective” in March 2017.
“Alien Innkeeper” will be published by The Wild Rose Press May 17, 2017.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
After a varied working career, I took early retirement and started writing in 2011.
(I procrastinated for many years but, at least, bought books on writing during that time. And read, read, read.)


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I was first offered a contract by a small publisher.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had always wanted to write science fiction novels so after I took early retirement it was time to get busy and start. I knew there would be a stiff learning curve, as I’d never written anything fiction (only manuals and such for business). I also knew I wanted to keep my mind engaged for another 60 years or so, and writing seemed the perfect project.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

So far, all my novels have been written in the first person—I’m writing the novels I want to read.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For “Kaiku”, the protagonist named the haiku that came out of the mouths of the alien Keeki, kaiku.

For “An Alien Perspective”, teenagers from four alien species were put together in an experiment, and they had to understand the new world from each other’s perspective.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Have an adventure!


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Very little, as I write mostly science fiction.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

I have read widely, and been influenced, in small ways, by many writers.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I don’t really have a favorite author, as I read widely.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Local writing groups in Vancouver are very supportive.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
My retirement career.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
No.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
When I was around eleven, I read the book “Miss Pickerel goes to Mars”, and that started my life-long love of science fiction.
Through many years, I bought books on writing, but never actually got around to starting until I retired.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
I am currently writing the sequel to “An Alien Perspective” called “An Alien Confluence”.
I am also plotting the first novel in a police procedural series.
And, of course, since “Kaiku” is the first of a trilogy, my mind is working on the details of the second novel.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Description.
I find it difficult to get the visions of the people and locations down on paper.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
No.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?
Both “Kaiku” and “An Alien Perspective” covers were designed by Steven Novak.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Limiting the number of characters I introduce, so I can focus on bringing the main characters to life.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I need to figure out how to write faster.
Too many ideas pop into my mind when I’m writing and I want to put them into words sooner.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead
??


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Write for yourself. Write what you want to read.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Enjoy my adventures, and let me know what you think at hyperlight@hyperwarp.com

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?
I’m re-reading J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
“Fun with Dick and Jane”

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?
Carl Sagan – for his “sense of wonder”

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
Gardening, reading, and watching dvds.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
All science fiction; mysteries; epics.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
vegetables / blue / classical

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
I’ve done many things in the past: programming computers; teaching piano; studying mathematics; logistics coordinator, etc.
As for now: I think mastering writing and getting all the ideas out of my head, will take another 60 years.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
https://roxannebarbour.wordpress.com/

Kaiku:  www.amazon.com/dp/B01MUY1JWI/

An Alien Perspective:  www.amazon.com/dp/B06XSG62GD/

Alien Innkeeper:  www.amazon.com/dp/B06XXN51B4/

 

