Name: Jas T. Ward

Age: Less than 100 years old. J

Where are you from: Galveston, Texas. Lone Star born and raised.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I am a proud parent of three grown kids who now have children of their own. I live with my two dogs, one cranky old and one hyper young, I write Paranormal, Gothic and Contemporary romance. My readers love that my books contain all the elements –laughter, pain, anger, love, romance and plenty of WTF twists.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Gladly! I am finally publishing my long- awaited Soul Bound series. These are twisted, dark/gothic romances with strong horror elements. This series focus on grief, death and being left behind to pick up the pieces when someone we love dies in tragic circumstances. The first one allowed me to have some personal closure in my life, and there is just so much of me in the book.

Readers can check it out here:

http://bit.ly/SOULBOUNDBK1


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing stories as a child. I think I wrote and badly illustrated my first “fairy tale” when I was around 8-years old. It’s just something I’ve always done.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Decades ago. I just never thought anyone besides myself would want to read it.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have a fan-fic writing group on Facebook and the fans wanted to have the various stories and such bound together in book form. They got their wish in 2012 with my fan appreciation book – Bits & Pieces: Tales and Sonnets. It did remarkably well and the publishing bug bit me… hard.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

It’s more of a storytelling style. I love making emotions flow and swirl around the actions. Most people tell me when they read my books they see it as imagery in their heads like a movie. I like that, because that’s how I see it when I write it.  Specific style wise – I write in primary 3rd POV, but do have an upcoming contemporary romance in 1st person.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Soul Bound? It has to do marriage vows and how we should never take our commitment to love or death lightly.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes. That death is not simply something that ends. It can sometimes begin in an avalanche style so much trauma and heartache. How we come out after the fall-out is the challenge.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Actually, a LOT of Soul Bound is inspired by actual events in my life. So of the scenes in Soul Bound are word for word. I’ll leave it up to the reader to try to figure out which.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Amy Tan was my first book influence. Then Ken Follett. But I could never write as they do. And I like having my own unique style. But I definitely respect their incredible talent and work ethics.  As far as mentor? Not really. If anything, readers are my mentors. I listen, I want to know what they think, and their opinion is everything to me.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Colleen Hoover! She is amazing in both how she handles herself and how she writes. The characters are just so real and easily identified with.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

It would have to be the Crazy Ladies of my fan-fiction group – DHN & Keepers. After that, my Crazy Readers group. Without them, I think I would have given up writing years ago.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Already is. J


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not a damn thing. Many may not like this book. But it’s written as it should be. And the fans that are willing to give it a chance and see the power of emotions behind it, will hopefully agree.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Just finding the time to get it done. There doesn’t seem enough hours in the day to write, promote and engage with the readers. Sleep is a rare commodity. But worth it.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I try to keep it local, regionally. Signings and con’s are great. But I can invest that same money in the books themselves. Can’t say that won’t change in the future. But I’d love to tour with my book if I get to that point in my career.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The Shadow-Keeper books were designed by the amazing Amy Queau of Q-Design and Premades. Soul Bound was designed by Laura Hidalgo of Beyond Def.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Dealing with all the emotions it stirred up. Many which had been shut away for over a decade. But it was good. I think closure was long overdue.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That sometimes, we can use fiction to heal. Readers and ourselves.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?
Oh gosh, Reno Sundown would have to be Bradley Cooper. J


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write. Don’t worry about the rules. Don’t worry about the grammar or spelling. Just write and get it done. Then you can have pride in getting it done. Then worry about making it a work of literary art.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Thank so much for believing in me. Pressuring me to create completely different worlds and diverse books. I own you so much.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Xander by Anne Mercier.
And I just completed Finding Peace by Steffy Rogers.
Recommend both of them very strongly.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laughter? Pretty much anything funny. And at times, some things that are just totally inappropriate. Cry?  Not much. But finishing Soul Bound and finding that closure made me cry for hours. For the first time in years.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Albert Einstein. So smart yet so misunderstood.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Nothing. I’m getting cremated and want a huge New Orleans style party to celebrate my life.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

No time. But I wish.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Any big budget action movie. Not a TV watcher.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Sushi
Color: Dark Read

Music: Anything depending on my mood, except Bluegrass. Not a fan.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A doctor. Still wish I could have been.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Sure!
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorJasTWard

Website: https://www.authorjastward.com/

 

https://www.amazon.com/Jas-T.-Ward/e/B00CJO70A8/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

   

 

 

 

