Name: James Wallace

Age: 42

Where are you from: My mom’s… Oh you mean geographical. Central California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

Ok so I have an AA in Psychology but after working in all the fields (Project Manager, AT&T wire monkey, Shoe store manager & other fun ones) I have dabbled in. I should have a road scholar masters. I have two kids, love them to death.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Just had my Ulnar Nerve moved and .. for the 2nd time. I am working on a new book I guess could be classified as a Space Opera.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always wanted to be a writer. But never had the time nor oomph to do it till I was waiting for my first surgery. So I was late 40 when I finally got to write.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still don’t, to tell you the truth. Maybe when I start making Tufo money I will consider myself a real writer.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I always had an idea in my head for a story. But never had the balls to do it till my best friend roommate Tanay told me to get off my ass and do something. So I sat down and wrote the book that sat in my head.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I am a Pantser, I come up with an idea and an ending but I never know what is going to happen in the book till I write it. When I read back what I wrote I am always surprised.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

That was the hardest thing to do. I bounced like 40 titles back and forth. In the end I debated with my wife (of the time) and my three mentors Mike Evans, Will Allen and his brother M.C. Then I had a small mental breakdown (j/k) and finally chose Zombie Theorem The Culling.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

All my books circle around growth. Dan Welko my main character, grows into a leader from just a normal everyday guy. All my characters have personal growth.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well there are Zombies in the book, so not very realistic. But I try and put as much reality and emotion into my characters to make them believable.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are so many writers that I idolize. Before I found the Indie world I was a giant Clive Cussler, Stephen King, Larry Bond, Tom Clancy, and enter all other greats. Now that I am in the Indie community I have all new idols. First my mentor Mike Evans. My other faves are so many. Ricky Fleet, TJ Weeks, Stephen Knight, Tim Long, the Allen brothers, and so many many more!

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Mike Evans, the man is a machine with his writing. His Orphans series is the stuff of legends. I love how he makes you fall in love with his characters.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Well she is kind of family. In the fact that Leslie Bryant has unofficially adopted me. She is my first beta reader and since then has pushed me harder and harder to improve my writing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I really hope so! I am trying just as hard as the other thousands of Indie Authors. But I will continue doing this as long as my fans keep reading my stuff.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would get a content editor to clean up my writing a little more. But honestly, I love my books. My characters are my friends, and they kind of talk to me.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I would read others work, and found I was able to guess their twists and endings.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Uhm.. I can add an Excerpt sure.. Just remember that the excerpt is very raw, has not been edited.

Meredith slammed down on the table shaking everyone from their dark thoughts. “I refuse to just give up!” she turned her head to Richards. “General what teams will you be using to attack the Killore and Fillion?”

Richard let a little smile play on his lips as he spoke. “Aces, headed by Lieutenant Chun, and Zephyr, headed by the newly promoted Lieutenant Barth.”

Meredith smiled back, but in confusion. “How in the heck did you get Butch to take the promotion? He has threatened us both bodily if we forced his promotion from Master Chief of Aces.”

“He is still pissed at me, but he saw the writing on the wall after hearing what happened to Serenity. He handpicked his team the next day and has been whipping them into a formidable fighting force.”

“How long will it take to get Aces and Zephyr to Earth?”

Richards looked down to his tablet sheepishly. “I already cut the orders before coming in here. I figured it would be best to get them moving, and call them back, then to have to waste time getting things together.”

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The technical stuff, like grammar and sentence structure. The rest comes easy,

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Back and forth to my “Magical Coffee writing café!”

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My awesome great Tattoo artist! Chase P Weggeland.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

That is the hardest thing to answer. The physical action is the hardest part. My surgeries sometimes make it hard to type. I have to use one hand sometimes, and that slows things down.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

My research on Military equipment, including vehicles, weapon systems, and air craft.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I was talking about this very thing with my fans the other day in a post.

Dan Welko would be played by the great Joseph Gordon Levitt.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yeah, just write. That’s it just write. But I do want to warn you, if you are getting into writing to just make money, you might as well give up. Instead enjoy the ride, write to have fun.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Keep reading, cause I am not looking to stop!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I do not have much time to read lately, but I am big on Audible. I am listening to Larry Correia and John Ringo in the Monster Hunter series. Sinners is the one I just finished.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, probably some Dr. Seuss book.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Lots of things make me cry and laugh. I have written some scenes that made me cry.. and some that made me trip balls.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Hemmingway! Cause he is the outlaw author. Drinker, smoker, partier and he stole a mafia bosses’ girlfriend. The man was an inspiration!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

That is a strange question. “He was a good father, and tried his best to make people smile.”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love Movies. The cheesier the better. I collect movies.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I hate watching TV now days. But I love the old stuff like A-Team, Star Trek, Knight Rider, and Charlie’s Angels.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

TACOS!!! Blue I guess is my fave color. I adore almost anything 80s. Def Leppard is my fanboy music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would enjoy going back to being a Project Manager, but no matter what I would still keep writing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.malleuspublishing.com/

Amazon Authors Page https://www.amazon.com/James-Wallace/e/B01LJRJ1G6/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

And let me say! Thank you so much for this interview. I appreciate you giving me your time.

