Name Angelica Kate (pen name)

Age 43

Where are you from:

I grew up in Marinette, Wisconsin and have moved around a bit for family and job obligations.  I currently reside in Sarasota, Florida.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

  I am the oldest of six kids and grew up in a small Midwest town. I attended college at Dallas Baptist University attaining a Bachelor’s Degree in Sociology. I am married and have two fabulous girls – ages 22 and 17 who are polar opposites as one is a graphic design student having graduated last year and my youngest is currently in College pursuing a Marine Biology degree in research. We have a large and very involved family on both sides and have for years been a foster family for children also – so our house is normally a loud crazy mess and that is how we love it.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have several small romance novellas in the works which is my first and favorite genre, but I am writing a huge multi-book science fiction series that is always ongoing and I hope to bring the first book to market in early 2018 Spring. That project is a huge bucket list series I have been dreaming about but is a ton of work to bring something that large and expansive to fruition.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always written for as long as I can recall I was doodling in journals and that progressed to manuscripts. I had a rough childhood as my father was mentally ill and journaling was a way to document what was going on around me without confrontation.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 Wow – I still say I’m an aspiring writer when people ask. I always thing writer as someone accomplished in this work, and I’m definitely still a work in progress.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 My own childhood and overcoming it was my inspiration for Loving Abby.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I write what I feel at the moment, no outlining or hard structure. Sometimes I have multiple doodling projects going, and then scrub and fine tune after I feel I have the entire story on paper.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I found that children from hard situations are in disbelief of one thing, that someone could love them despite everything. From this place of fear and the characters overcoming so much heartache and scars I chose the title.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Never see someone for the scars they carry or project to the world, always try to see the true nature below the surface. You could be missing a true gem by not looking past the surface of a person.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life
?

It was based on some experiences I personally had, but also from news and foster children stories and pasted together to create this story.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 Wow – that list is expansive. I love finding a book that speaks to me regardless of genre, message or the like. Sometimes the books I enjoy the most are ones that I completely disagree with the message but it caused a visceral reaction in reading. I love to read books to learn new writing styles, methodologies and the like to keep growing in my own writing.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My church family was wonderful when my first book came out everyone from my Priest to reading groups read and provided me valuable feedback.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I always struggle with this one when asked because I don’t think I will ever completely quit “working” outside of writing to support myself. Writing though defines who I am that my career to date never can. I write on vacation, in the car, at lunch and a million other times and places it is almost like breathing for me. A career is something I feel people do for money – writing for me is something different.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.. I always like to tell the story and when I feel it is out of my system and done organically I feel it is concluded. Some have ended or had aspects I didn’t think were as good as others, but that is life and every book deserves it’s place good, bad or ugly.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 As an escape from my childhood. A school counselor recommended it when I was maybe in first or second grade and it stuck with me.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My latest project is huge and expected to cover 7 books in total by the end. It is a science fiction epic story that I had to outline and put more planning time into that anything I have done to date. I had lots of feedback from a writing group, family, friends and the like on this project. I expect it to weave in and out of other writing ventures and be released over the course of 2 years. I am excited and so nervous about that one I cannot describe it fully.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 

Fresh material and trying to give each character a unique voice. Recently I have had to switch up Beta Readers and writing groups to ensure that as my group of projects grows that each has a unique flavor. Feedback from a single source I find tends to flow toward one genre and vantage point. For me mixing up my vehicles for getting feedback has been one way to keep things fresh.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My daughter Liz who is a graphic designer by trade does all my covers. This is another area I try to stay away from mainstream cover styles, and go with more artsy story telling covers. Many of them she has hand drawn and I love adding that personal touch also to my offerings.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Deciding to share it through publishing to the masses. Much of my writing I loved for years just for the release and storytelling it allowed me. Making the plunge a few years ago to start sharing these stories with the world was the hardest most frightening thing I believe I ever did. These are personal heart filled projects for me and when that first bad feedback came it was rough.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Even bad feedback allows you a learning moment. I think I have probably improved more in my writing in response to negative posts, and today I’m grateful when someone takes the time to provide me substantive feedback so that my next project can benefit for that knowledge they shared.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Absolutely not! I am a writer and prefer to stay behind the scenes penning the story never acting it out – I would be a horrid actor.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t let anyone limit your dreams, and stick with them. If you want to write the next big screenplay, figure out that roadmap through research and networking and stick with it. Absolutely nothing worth doing in this life will be easy, if you are up for the bumps and the smooth sailing alike you can make anything happen.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Everyone who reads one of my books is appreciated. Being able to tell stories that others want to read is the joy of my life. I try to keep my books all priced so they can be enjoyed by everyone, and I love hearing from anyone who has read one of my books – good or bad feedback always appreciated!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just counted 11 books I have been gifted for reviews ( I always try to read everything people send – sometimes it just takes longer when I am writing).  And I have 43 in my kindle – currently reading Mail Order Groom and Second Chance Ranch but I have a vampire romance up next.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Children. They are the most honest, trying and funny things on earth.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Sandra Day O’Connor – love her tenacity, passion for her beliefs and never giving up on her vision.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

No headstone – I want to be cremated and spread out on the ocean to continue my travels. I hope that I live in the memories of at least one life I touched on this crazy trip called life.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Anything outdoors – rock climbing, kayaking, hiking, swimming etc.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Bones (I cried at the last episode)

Blindspot

Prison Break

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love chocolate – Green – Contemporay Country

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Missionary – helping set up educational centers in the far flung countries of the world.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://angelicakate.com/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Angelica-Kate/e/B00JTL5MLI/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1493340055&sr=8-1

