Name:  M. M. Koenig

Age:  35

Where are you from:  Minnesota

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc 

M.M. Koenig enjoys being active and has a variety of interests that coincide with her passion for life. Always one to try new things, she has acquired a variety of skills. Her sarcastic nature and multitude of experiences tend to find their way into her novels.

When she has free time and isn’t writing, she spends as much time as she can with friends and family. To fuel her soul, she is constantly looking for new music, movies, and books to keep the writer’s block at bay.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Currently, I am working on a prequel series to the Secrets and Lies Series.  It’s the Someday Series (Fighting for Someday and Waiting for Someday) and follows Bri and Trey, who you meet in the Secrets and Lies Series.  I’m also working on a the High Society Series, which takes place after the Secrets and Lies Series and follows Jackson Reid.  Fighting for Someday and Waiting for Someday will be released later this year.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

I’ve been writing throughout my entire life.  In the beginning of 2013, with a good push from my best friend, I started writing the Secrets and Lies series and have been writing nonstop since then.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It was probably after I hit publish on Conflicted.  After releasing that book, things definitely shifted for me and I’ve learned so much in the past four years through self-publishing and the indie and blogging community.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

Mia’s story had been with me in some form for nearly ten years.  My best friend really gave me the push to follow the dream and finish her story.  It was the best advice I’ve ever gotten and I’m so grateful for her and her continued faith in me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I generally outline the story, but I’m also a fly by the seat of my pants kind of writer.  I go where the characters take me at times and that sometimes differs than what I might have originally thought out.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

I’m terrible at coming up with titles.  In the Secrets and Lies series, I only picked out the title for Complicated.  With each book I write, it’s getting easier to think of titles, but I do rely a lot on my beta readers and critique partner for their thoughts.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

I’m sure there is in the long run, but mostly I shoot for telling a good story that entertains readers.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

In the Secrets and Lies series, there are a lot of people and experiences that are in the story.  I enjoy putting a little bit of myself, not only into the characters, but into some of the situations as well.  It’s always fun when someone I know catches those parts and has a good laugh at seeing it.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’m a huge fan of Colleen Hoover and Rebecca Donovan.  I love stories that really make me feel and pretty much everything those two women have written always bring out the rainbow of emotions in me while I read and I love that in a book.  The Slammed Series, Hopeless Series, and the Breathing Series are some of my all-time favorites.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are so many new authors out there and I’ve really enjoyed meeting them at events along with the bloggers and readers.  If I had to pick a favorite author, I’d say Colleen Hoover.  She’s very real and relatable in the stories she tells while entertaining all the same.  The way she weaves in a lot of dry humor within in it all is just amazing.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

I’ve gotten a lot of amazing support from the blogging community, especially Read, Review, and Repeat and Books and Boys Book Blog.  I’ve also been very lucky to find some amazing beta readers out there that have been so amazing and patient with me while I write and edit.  And I’d be nothing without my critique partner.  She’s absolutely amazing and her insight has brought so much more to my writing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career? 

I would love for it to turn into a career, but try to keep my goals realistic.  It would be a dream come true if it did turn into a career though.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would’ve created less characters in the Secrets and Lies series.  It got to be a lot when wrapping up the series and making sure all of the character’s story lines were wrapped up.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My grandmother always encouraged me to be creative and tell stories as a child.  We’d sit at her kitchen table and tell stories all the time and up until her death she always insisted I never stop using my imagination.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

Here is a little peek at Fighting for Someday.  Please keep in mind it is unedited at this time.

 

FIGHTING FOR SOMEDAY
THE SOMEDAY SERIES #1
By M. M. Koenig
PUBLISHED BY M. M. KOENIG PUBLISHING LLC
COPYRIGHT © 2017 M. M. Koenig

A loud growl erupted from my stomach, interrupting my train of thought. Trey barked out a laugh and my cheeks turned bright red. He gestured toward my stomach and pointed out, “It sounds like you’re a tad on the hungry side. I don’t know about you, but I think you might want to eat something if we’re going to keep on playing this game.”
I gave him a sheepish smile before getting up and resting my hands on the back of my chair. “Yeah, you’re probably right. Drinking on an empty stomach has never ended well for me and I’d rather not go to school tomorrow feeling hungover. Are you sure you’re up for risking whatever we might walk into by going back downstairs?”
Trey tossed back his drink before putting the bottles and glasses on the tray and standing up. The last couple of shots seemed to calm him down and seeing his signature cocky smirk backed up that theory. “I think I’ll survive. And I wouldn’t mind eating something.”
I laughed while opening the patio doors. Before we headed for first floor, he set everything on the bar and stood in the center of the room and the longing look that had taken over his face brought a wide smile to mine. I linked my arm with his and teased, “We can come back and play later. I wouldn’t miss a chance to kick your ass at any of the games in here.”
His eyebrows furrowed cutely together and he was back to biting the insides of his cheeks to keep quiet. I jabbed my fingers in his side. The last thing I expected was for him to wince and my heart instantly dropped. He smoothed out his face to try and cover up his pain, but that didn’t do much for the iciness coasting through me. I opened my mouth to ask what happened, but he gave me a stern shake of the head, so I sealed my lips as we made our way downstairs.
My anxiousness got the best of me and I started twisting the long strand of hair covering my shoulder with my free hand. With each step we took, he ever so slightly brushed his fingers along the inside of my arm. The sparks he created with each stroke helped elevate the regret still sifting through me. Almost as though he was reading my mind, he stopped mid-step, took both my hands into his, and whispered, “You didn’t do it on purpose so stop beating yourself up. I would hate for you to have a meltdown.”
I released a soft laugh and mumbled, “No, we wouldn’t that now would we.”
The lopsided grin on his face sent a warmness through me that had nothing to do with my raging hormones and everything to do with the way he his grip tightened with his every word. My body tingled in ways I’d never felt before and it was a damn shame when we started moving again. He kept one hand interlocked with mine as made our way down the last few stairs.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have to see the scene in my head before I can write it so if there is something unclear whether it is dialogue or the setting, it gets difficult for me to write.  In those times, I rely a lot on music or just taking a break until it comes clear.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? 

I usually do three to four author events a year.  I love attending them and interacting with the readers.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I work with LJ over at Mayhem Cover Creations for all my covers.  She’s fabulous and always creates something that speaks to the characters in the story.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

My books have a lot of twists and turns to them.  Dropping the clues to those twists is sometimes the challenging part because you want to give the reader an idea, but you don’t want to give too much away.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’ve learned so much in writing all my books.  With each book, there are so many things I learn.  I think the biggest thing has been to show the reader what you’re saying and not tell them.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books were made into a film, who would you like to play the lead? 

I get this question a lot from readers and I honestly have no idea who’d I put into the lead roles.  I will say while writing I visualized Ethan as Dan Conn and Maggie Grace as Mia.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Be open to criticism.  It’s what makes your work better in the long run.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for being so patient in between books.  Your continued support is what drives me at the end of the day.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished reading Hopeless for probably the twentieth time.  I will forever love Sky and Holder’s story.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

I don’t remember the first book, but I do remember the first series I got into as a child and that was the Babysitters Club Series.  As an adult, I got back into reading with the Twilight Series.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a pretty dry sense of humor so any scene with a quick-witted zinger is sure to make me laugh.  I tend to cry at things I personally relate to whether it’s on a show, movie, or book.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

It would be really cool to meet Lauren Graham.  She’s such a phenomenal actress and author.  It would be a dream come true to meet her and pick her brain.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why? 

I’m not entirely sure on this one.  Probably something along the lines of she lived life to the fullest and cared unconditionally for her family and friends.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love playing sports, rollerblading, watching movies, following my favorite TV shows, and reading.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

I’m a big fan of comedies and dramas.  I have a hard time narrowing down my favorites.  For comedy TV shows, I’d say the Big Bang Theory.  For a good drama franchise, I’d go with the Fast and the Furious.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

I’m a big fan of different kind of salads when I’m trying to watch what I eat.  When I want to treat myself, I like a good deep dish pizza.  My favorite color is black.  My music taste is across the board.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

When I’m not writing, I work in the title insurance industry and have been a title examiner for over sixteen years.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

www.mmkoenig.com

Readers can follow me at these links

https://www.facebook.com/authormmkoenig/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1551613128496611/
https://www.instagram.com/mmkoenig/
https://twitter.com/M_M_Koenig
https://www.pinterest.com/koen0092/

https://www.amazon.com/M.-M.-Koenig/e/B00HBH4L7I/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1493252778&sr=8-1

 

 

Here are the S&L Series links

Conflicted (Secrets and Lies #1)
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1AoyD5K
B&N: http://bit.ly/1s5uPlC
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1a96gie
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/conflicted/id971511940
Google Play: http://bit.ly/1ug1SEe

Complicated (Secrets and Lies #2)
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ONftNh
B&N: http://bit.ly/1sVzMtJ
Kobo: http://bit.ly/10fzIi5
iBooks: http://apple.co/1ONfW26
Google Play: http://bit.ly/1FmhiKw

Concealed (Secrets and Lies #3)
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1VjttEa
B&N: http://bit.ly/1LffU3T
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1PHY5IJ
iTunes: http://apple.co/1QHrP8O
Google Play: http://bit.ly/1Vk2fIj

 

