Name  Zak Hardacre

Age  Old enough to know better

Where are you from

I am from the northeast of England, I’m married and have two children. I left school and joined the army and served for 22 years, serving in various parts of the world.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I recently released my first full length novel in erotica. It is a dark psychological tale with a twist. The Premise is below:

Oliver Tobias is a young man with a troubled past. An under achieving Public Relations executive, all he wants to do is succeed and to fit in. Living his life by obsessions and compulsions the only way to deal with the world today.

Brianna Smart is his Personal Assistant and rock, guiding him through his day to day life. Possessing that empathetic and maternal instinct most women exude. Yet there is something else that she longs for. Finding a man with the strength to make her feel safe, secure and even loved. It may seem like an impossible dream and has almost given up on the idea.

Enter the charismatic, handsome and successful Ashton Granger. A powerful character with a hint of danger about him. The fact that he is one of the country’s top businessmen an added bonus.  A chance meeting with a friend in a night club, ignites a passion and lust in her never before felt.

Three lives entwine, as each of them strive to reach their individual goals. Can Oliver turn things around, becoming accepted and successful in equal measure? Has Brianna found what she is looking for in Ashton, is he the one she has been searching for?

The story will take you through a psychological, dark journey exploring those facets in life we at times wish were kept hidden. Once you open Pandora’s Box is it possible to contain all the evils of the world. As in this ancient artefact only ‘Hope’ will remain.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in 2015, it was a semi biographical trilogy based on the life on a British solider.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer after my first book, but I have come to find that you never stop learning and are always trying to hone your craft.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The death of my father, and the way he used to tell me stories when I was young. I felt that the true story of what goes on in the British military needed to be told. There is a cost involved for some of those who take the Queens shilling.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t believe I have a particular writing style, but I do like writing in first person present tense. This enables you to describe the emotions of the characters better.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the title after researching, and found that the word described the story without giving too much away.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

“All secrets are deep. All secrets become dark. That’s in the nature of secrets.”


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I actually came up with the idea from comments my friends make about me. The book is not based on me or anyone I know, but there are people like the characters out there. I’m sorry I’m being a bit vague, but I don’t want to give too much away. You will have to read it to find out lol!!


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

When I was young I enjoyed reading Shakespeare, and the English language became a passion. I also loved Stephen King, and James Herbert. I guess my father was my mentor, as he gave me the passion for storytelling.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I will not use the word favourite as there are so many good authors out there. I have enjoyed reading the first book in the “White” Trilogy by Charlotte E Hart. I will be meeting Charlotte at a book signing in York on the 13th of May. I have ordered all three of the trilogy so that I can continue the story that got me hooked on that style of writing. She has the ability to develop characters and makes you invest in them.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

When I first changed genres to erotica, I became involved in a group called the Wicked Pen Writers. Although I am no longer a member of the group, I still have close ties to some of them. They are a great bunch of people, and helped me tremendously during my transition.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to write as a career, but as you probably know, it is difficult as an Indie author. I work full time at the moment, and I don’t see that changing any time soon.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think I would change anything, I’m the sort of person that once I set out to do something, I tend not to deviate too much from the original idea or premise.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As I stated above my father, and after his death in 2010 I made a promise to myself that I would publish a book.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

When you have insomnia, you’re never really asleep and you’re never really awake. I want to sleep, but my brain won’t stop talking to itself. Nothing’s real, everything’s far away. All just a copy of a copy, of a copy. The darkness is the hardest time to be alive, that ticking clock knows all my dirty secrets. Someone once said nothing solves insomnia like a nice warm glass of regret, depression and self-loathing. I have drunk enough of that, yet, still have room for more.

Watching the second hand of the clock as it ticks away, one second at a time of my miserable existence. Mouth is dry, and I reach out for the glass of water, sitting as it always did next to the alarm clock. The gold-plated Rolex watch, its silent partner, placed there before climbing into bed. Ritual, a big part of my daily routine an irrational sense of panic sets in. Did I wash my hands before retiring? Had I locked the door and unplugged all the appliances?

Trying to banish the compulsion to check if everything is in order, I turn over. Forcing my mind to recount the day’s events in an attempt to distract me. It is like King Canute, holding back the tide, like a wave the thoughts returning, crashing into the shores of my subconscious. The idea that thinking about my work might help was ludicrous. The compulsions are like a needle on a broken record, sending my brain into a loop.

As always, the need to satisfy the compulsion wins. Rolling back onto the opposite side of the bed, I check the time, 04:25 am. Swinging my legs over the side of the bed, my feet make contact with the cold wooden floor. The choice of flooring swayed by my obsession to keep things clean. How many microscopic germs and creatures live in carpets and rugs? I’ll tell you how many, too fucking many!”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I find it difficult to write unless it is early in the morning. After a full day’s work I am generally too tired to sit down and bash away on a keyboard. Also I find grammar and punctuation at time quite challenging.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, not at all, my first three books in erotica were based on myself and experiences. Since then the others just record just quite a bit of research, especially my latest one.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A friend of mine called Linzi Basset who is also an author of erotica and poetry.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Putting myself in the characters mind and shoes, not an easy thing to do when you write both male and female POV in the first person.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, I learned a lot about how we perceive people on the outside and never see the real person. We all wear masks of one kind or another.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

In my latest book I would like Keanu Reeeves to play the part of Ashton, a sadistic yet charismatic character.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes, read a lot. Research well, and ask for advice from people who you admire.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

All I would like to say is I hope if you have or ever read any of my work, I hope it gives you as much pleasure reading it as it did me writing them. At the end of the day that is what authors set out to do. To immerse a reader in a world they would not normally inhabit.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Wizard’s First Rule (Sword of Truth) by Terry Goodkind

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, it was “The Hobbit” by J.R. Tolkein

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The company of good friends makes me laugh, the suffering of young children in certain parts of the world makes me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to meet King Leonidas of Sparta, just to speak about the Battle of Thermopylae

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

To live in the hearts of those we love is not to die. – To show that hopefully I have done something good in my life that would make me remembered.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to cycle and the great outdoors. I used to compete in Triathlons, but have stepped back a bit recently. I am a big adrenalin junky and love a challenge.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love watching historical films or ones based on true events. I also like suspense and horror.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chinese, and Indian. Favourite colour is black or blue. Favourite music is anything with a good dance beat, but I do enjoy acoustic.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have liked to travel around the globe, and maybe write about different cultures and my experiences.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://zakhardacre.wixsite.com/author

 Amazon Authors Page  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Zak-Hardacre/e/B01GA8SNRM/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

