Name T. M. Slay

Age   37

Where are you from  Louisiana

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

Thyroid Cancer Survivor! New Life Date July 4, 2015. I went to college for criminal justice expecting to go into law enforcement. However, life had a different plan for me. As a result of some extreme medical issues (none contagious) I have the opportunity to write full-time when I’m able. I have a life filled with family and friends, horses and chickens, and the chaos which ensues as a result of it all. Life is so very important––my words of wisdom…don’t waste it. Enjoy and savor every moment; and in the hard moments pray. After that, read one of my books and step into fantasy…and leave ordinary behind…

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Treading Water, Book 1 of The Atlantean Series, is going to be released one chapter at a time, with the first chapter being read by me on my website via VLOG on May 31st. Until then, each week on Wednesdays, I’ll be doing a go live on FB to introduce everyone to the world, back story, and characters in The Atlantean Series, to get them ready for Treading Water.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written most of my life in one form or another. Yet, my true writing  which led to publishing began a little over 10 years ago, when I was challenged by someone who didn’t believe I could do it. So, I did it in secret. I had about three books written before I was published, and only one of them made the cut. It was Guardian Mine, the first book in The Kataran Series.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I finished my first manuscript and sent if off to a publishing house for the first time.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A nightmare actually inspired The Kataran Series. I took some things out, put some things in, shook it around a little bit, and there you have it! A Sci Fi/ Urban Fantasy Romance.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I tell people that these characters you meet in my books; they’re real to me and they simply tell me their story. It’s like having a bunch of friends sit down in my living room and tell me about a portion of their lives, and I simply write it down. You’ll feel like you’re right beside them, their lives come to life for you, you’ll be waiting for lightning to strike, and looking for one of the Guardians.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles to each of my books come from the characters themselves. The thread which ties the names together is the “Mine” part. You see the Katara are very serious when it comes to the commitments they make. Any promise, any mission, and any bonds…especially when to their BondMates.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are several, some of them are very deeply woven in and some very carefully, however the most obvious one, is that we are all much more alike than we are different.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The fight scenes are very realistic, and the experiences I would say are dramatized versions of mine, and anyone’s life. I want my books to be relatable to anyone and everyone, even though they’re SciFi / Urban Fantasy…

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life? A mentor?

I have a library of over 5,000 books, so picking a few to give you now would be near impossible. I suppose my mentor in all of this would be my mentor in life…my mother. She was born legally blind in one eye and severely dyslexic before they knew what dyslexia even was. Everyone thought she was “slow” and they were happy that she was pretty, so she would marry well. She wasn’t satisfied with that, and struggled and fought until she taught herself how to read and comprehend. She went to college even and got her degree in Business Management, and then started off as a janitor in a hospital. She retired fifteen years ago as a Hospital Administrator well respected in her field. Life is hard, writing professionally is hard, running your own business is hard, but if you love it, if you want it, if you fight for it…you’ll find success.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t had time to read in the last year or so; therefore, I don’t know the work of any new authors. However, Dean Koontz and Christine Feehan are two of my favorites and the reason is their distinct abilities to be so very vivid in their character’s points of view. As a reader, you can understand the story in ways so much more intimately than in most other author’s books.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I know without a doubt I wouldn’t be where I am now without the hand of God.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Of course, regardless of money, this is my heart, my passion, and my career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Maybe go back for one more line edit? Lol. Other than that, no. Legend Mine turned out to be the book it was meant to be, and I’m very happy with it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

With my love of reading. My mother would sit down every day, and we would all have an hour of reading whatever we wanted to. In that hour a day I went places and saw things no child could ever do on their own, except inside of a book. I wanted to take people places and show them tings they would never see otherwise.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

There are many legends about the Ancient City of Atlantis, but only one is true…this is the beginning of Treading Water, Book 1 of The Atlantean Series. It’s not what you think, not your typical “mermaid” idea structure. You’ll get to hear me read the first chapter on May 31st at http://www.tmslay.com . My other current work is Isaac’s story, Book 4 of The Kataran Series, releasing this Fall.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing from the male’s perspective is sometimes challenging, until I get to know him very well, then it gets a little easier.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes, for signings, clinics, workshops. Whatever your craft or trade or occupation, never stop learning.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Clarissa Yeo designed the covers for The Kataran Series. Leandro Warchild designed the cover for Escaping Relativity.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Waiting to start the next one.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’ve learned that writing isn’t as easy as you think it is. Putting words on paper, that’s easy. However, the real writing is in the way those words fit together, bringing your story to life, and then doing it all in correct grammar with proper sentence structure and pronouns and punctuation. The smallest thing, like a comma in the wrong place, can change the entire meaning of a sentence which could destroy a paragraph and so on and so on.  Once again, never stop learning.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Legend Mine is on my mind for this questions… For Jacob, I see Joe Manganiello, and for Terrah, I see Liv Tyler.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Learn your craft and never stop learning.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Two things actually. 1. Please Write Reviews for Amazon and Goodreads. 2. Talk to me. You can send me emails through my webpage, or comment on Facebook or Twitter. There’s no better teacher than the feedback of my readers.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I wish I was reading…

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Helen Keller

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

No, if a person has come into my life or my path, then it’s been for a reason. If I were to go back in time, I could inadvertently alter the course of history as we know it, and if I meet someone today who is not destined to be in my life, then I may inadvertently alter the future as we are supposed to know it.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I don’t plan on dying.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Training & Riding Horses, shooting & weaponry

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Old Westerns & Bad Kung Fu Movies, Forged in Fire, John Carter

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza or Chicken & Dumplin’s, Red & Purple, If you can dance to it or if it’s pretty, I love it.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A travelling journalist.

 

 

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.tmslay.com

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

 

Guardian Mine

Amazon

KoBo

iTunes

B&N

 

Avenger Mine

Amazon
Kobo
iTunes

B&N
Legend Mine

Amazon

Kobo

iTunes

B&N

 

