Name Steffy Rogers

Age 28

Where are you from I currently live in Athens, GA but spent most of my life growing up in a small town in Germany.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released a new book which is the conclusion to my Military Love Series.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I spent most of my teenage years writing poems, but I didn’t really pursue novel writing until 2014/2015. I sat down one day with a story idea in my head and started writing. I didn’t stop until I was about 10K words in and that’s how Rediscovering Peace was born. Reading has always been a big passion of mine and according to my family it was no surprise when I put pen to paper, or in my case fingers to keyboard.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 I started considering myself a writer when I first published on May 29th, 2015.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 A lot of things of my personal life and other authors. I always read a lot, so I took inspiration from authors and decided to finally follow my dream.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I really don’t. I just write. Other people outline, but I can’t do that. Either my characters talk and tell me where the story is going or there isn’t a story.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 Originally the name of Rediscovering Peace was A Military Love, but when I realized it was going to be series, I wanted to re-title it. My friend Suzanne and I brainstormed and she actually came up with the title.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The entire Military Love Series touches on subjects society doesn’t want to talk about. From PTSD to cutting to suicide. I want my readers to grasp that mental illness is real or – if they suffer – to know they’re not alone.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

In each of my books there’s always a little piece of me. Uncovering Peace has the most of my story and Finding Peace also has bits and pieces of things I’ve experiences or people close to me have lived through.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The books that started my reading journey were the Harry Potter books. Later on, Cecelia Ahern (author of P.S. I love you) triggered my love for romance novels. When I decided to finally sit down and write, I had several people who answered my questions from Kelly Elliott to Kristin Mayer to Shelly Jones.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 Sam Destiny was a new to me author and I just recently fell in love with her words. I have yet to read a book of hers I didn’t like. My all-time favorite author will always be JK Rowling followed closely by Cecelia Ahern.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 A lot of my friends have supported me from the get go. Like I said earlier, it didn’t come as a surprise to anyone when I decided to write a book.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do hope to make writing my career. I’m not greedy either. I’d like to make enough from my writing to stay at home and be able to live in Germany for six months and six months in the US. That way I don’t have to decide between my families.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 No. As hard as it was to write, I’d do it all over again. It’s my favorite book in the series and while it took me on an emotional roller coaster, it is my best work to date.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was a teenager, I had a lot of problems with depression. Writing was my outlet back then and it still is.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

“You just don’t understand, Caige. You’re not in my head every day.” She’s screaming through the tears. I hate seeing her like this but I’ve had it. I need her to talk to me and not shut me out.

“What do you mean I don’t understand? I was right fucking there, Ciara. I saw the same shit if not more. I was the one who went out on missions all the time, not you. You were cozied up on the FOB while I was out there seeing shit that doesn’t compare to the things you’ve seen, Ciara.”

“Oh, is that what you think? That you are more entitled to feel like shit just because you went out on missions and I didn’t? I didn’t choose to be born a woman and you know damn well I wanted to go out on those missions. None of that changes the fact I’ve seen things that haunt me every fucking day, Caige. Or do I really have to remind you of the time I watched a little boy blow himself up? That image is still ingrained in my fucking brain. He was barely five, you know that. He had his whole life ahead of him but no… his family turned him into a little terrorist.”

“There… you said it… he was growing up to be a terrorist. So excuse me that I don’t feel sorry that his life was lost that day. Yes, it’s sad to see a child die, but if he hadn’t died that day who knows how many more he would’ve killed throughout his life. We lost two men because of him. I just can’t feel bad for him or his family. Meanwhile, I watched Sanchez die while we were out on mission. Where were you? In your tent without a care in the world.”

“How can you be so fucking heartless, Caige? He didn’t choose to be born in a war zone. Fuck. Why am I even arguing with you? You’ll never understand.”

“Then help me understand – I want to understand. I’m at my wit’s end. I don’t know how to help you anymore, Ciara. I tried everything, but you won’t even talk to me about this stuff. I’m there when you wake up screaming at night but yet you still shut me out. I want to help but you have to let me. Your shit is getting ridiculous really. Are you sure it’s the PTSD speaking or is it just a cry for attention? I’m really starting to think you’re making all this up.”

“Are you fucking kidding me right now? Do you really believe I’m that good of an actor to be making all this up? Do you think I have fun making you suffer with me? You’re a fucking asshole, Caige. If I’m that much of a burden to you, maybe it’s best if I leave,” Ciara says as she walks into our bedroom and locks the door.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 Keeping up with character appearances. It has happened quite often that my characters change hair colors or eye colors. Luckily, I have a great beta team that points my inconsistencies out.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I travelled a lot last year to signings, but I’m taking it a little easier this year.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The Military Love Series was designed by Double J Graphics.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part was getting into the mindset of someone who is mentally ill. Having problems with depression myself, those chapters took a lot out of me and I had to step away often.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I’ve learned that being an author isn’t just putting the words on paper. There is so much more that goes on behind the scenes – cover design, marketing, formatting, it’s all part of the end product. It isn’t always easy, but most things worth having don’t, right?

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

 I’ve never put much thought into that, but I’d say Dwayne Johnson or Ryan Reynolds would have to be in there somewhere.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t ever give up. It’s not going to be easy, but if this is really your dream you’ll have to work for it. Keep writing the words and keep living the dream.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 Thank you for being patient with me. Due to a lot of things out of my control, I wasn’t able to publish in over a year. But my readers stuck by side and never gave up on me. For that I’m grateful.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 I’m reading an ARC of Soulbound by Jas T. Ward.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 I have no clue. Something school made me read probably.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Sarcastic people make me laugh and family members not feeling well make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

 Luke Bryan. Because I’m slightly obsessed with him and his music.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Never put much thought into it, but most likely something along the lines of having lived a happy life.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

 Reading. I know I’m lame. I also enjoy going to amusement parks or meeting my friends for a drink or ten. 😉

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love Sons of Anarchy, Pretty Little Liars, and the Lion King. Any Disney movie really. Oh, and Harry Potter of course.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 Steak, German Food, teal, Luke Bryan, Country Music, German Rock.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Be an event planner. I love planning events, which is why I am planning an event (Dirty’N’Sexy Books Author Event) in Atlanta this and next year.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13792861.Steffy_Rogers

Facebook: www.facebook.com/steffyrogers432

Twitter: www.twitter.com/steffyrogers

Instagram: www.instagram.com/steffyrogersauthor

Facebook Group: https://m.facebook.com/groups/707682042673915

Newsletter:  http://eepurl.com/brOkdP

 

 

Amazon: http://a.co/2xHXS9N

B&N:  http://bit.ly/2pS8bka

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2oxZfzo

iBooks: https://itun.es/us/KFRrjb.l

#MilitaryLoveSeries

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2oykMrN

B&N: http://bit.ly/2oy9nIr

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2oyfWdO

iBooks: http://apple.co/2oye7he

 

 

