Name – Carrie Hogle (also known as PinkParadox)

Age – 41

Where are you from –

Originally I’m from Indianapolis, Indiana. I currently live in Chattanooga, TN. I also lived in Florida for a while.  I studied Anthropology in school, but never pursued it as a career. I’m completely fascinated by the social sciences though. I also do graphic design &create digital scrap kits.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Latest news…hmmmm. I’m working on a new series. The first book “LuporumCubilia” is available for pre-order. The release date is May 12th. The series is the “Regina De Luporum” series and will have three books total. I have a creatively chaotic brain, so I have to keep writing or it gets cluttered.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote a lot of poetry when I was younger, so I guess I’ve always been a writer. I had stories in my head even then…but, they never seemed complete. More like a few scenes/chapters instead of an entire book. Something happened when I first started thinking about the “Willing Surrender” story…I could see the entire story, and it seemed the characters wouldn’t be quiet, so I started writing it down.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I finished the first book. It was a whim really. I thought, “It’s in my head…why not.” I surprised myself.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Wow. I don’t like to admit it really, but I think it was a mixture of a mid-life crisis and a celebrity crush. LOL. After the first book though, the story took on a life of it’s own.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure, which I’m sure sounds silly. I write emotionally. I try to connect with my characters and my readers emotionally. I put myself in the situation and ask: what do I see, what do I hear, and how do I feel. I will say that in my first book my skills were rusty. You can see a definite progression between books.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For the first series, it was a recurring theme…so I went with it.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I tied to keep the story realistic. I know it’s not what a lot of readers look for in romance, but I wanted the characters to be truly relatable. They’re flawed, they react in a realistic way…even if you wish they would just get it together already. I also tried to portray a strong female character. It’s subtle at first, and considering the theme perhaps not what readers expect, but I feel it’s important. She does have flaws, she does have vulnerabilities, but like most of us…she does what she needs to. She has to balance protecting herself with opening her heart. I think even when you’re in a relationship that it’s always a balance…to remember to take care of yourself.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The female characters are based on real people, their personalities, and their friendships. Most of the locations are real locations. Even the houses described are houses in those locations.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?a mentor?

I don’t think I can answer that question. There is such a vast array of talent out there, and I love them all. I’ve read everything…classics, horror, romance…you name it. They all have their strengths and stories to tell. After writing myself, I know thye all lay their heart and soul on the page.  I couldn’t choose one.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interestand who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m horrible because I don’t read or watch TV while I’m writing. I’ve been writing a solid six months non-stop (other than handling real life too) My all time favorite series is “Outlander” but my writing doesn’t compare to that.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friend Shannon Hilliard has been a huge support. But, I’m lucky enough to have an amazing set of Facebook friends that have really been supportive.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it as a passion. It’s something I have to do, but also enjoy immensely. I don’t think it will ever make me rich but I can’t imagine not doing it.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I’m actually the most proud of my newest book. It’s raw, gritty, highly emotional, and I think there are many elements that will touch a lot of people.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’m not the most emotionally expressive person. Writing gives me that emotional outlet, and helps me share it.

 

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My confidence? Hahahaha! I struggle the most with the first few sentences of the chapter. Once I get that down, the rest flows. I also struggle with transitions sometimes. The scenes/chapters play in my head like a movie. So, I can see them moving from point A to point B…but I’m not always good at writing it without it seeming boring.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

So far I haven’t at all.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design them.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

With everything I write, I discover a little more about myself. I’m opening up more to who I am, being good with it, and letting everyone see it.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Oh my goodness…blush. Ummm…I don’t know about a female lead, someone unknown I think. The male lead? Jay Ryan. I love him.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Follow your heart. Don’t try to be like anyone else. Don’t write what you think others want to read. Tell your story. If you write with your heart, you’ll touch other people.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for giving me a chance.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a sarcastic and quirky sense of humor, so you never know. The only thing I can think of, off the top of my head, that makes me cry is the movie “The Time Traveler’s Wife.” (can’t believe I’m admitting it.)

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Albert Einstein.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Creatively chaotic artist with the soul of a gypsy.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Coffee. Does that count? I’m a serious coffee addict.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love film. I’ll try almost anything. I am a sucker for a action movies with a decent plot, but any good story will get me. My current favorite shows are Game Of Thrones, Outlander & Mary Kills People.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love food. I don’t have a favorite. The same with music. There are so many styles, genres, eras…there is a music (and food) to suit every emotion…every mood. I don’t have favorites. Colors – I tend to like anything that’s earthy.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Travel the world and study different cultures.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do http://carrie-hogle.site123.me/

Carrie Hogle Book Links

Amazon Author Page – https://goo.gl/trOXbj

Willing Surrender – https://goo.gl/7R3ixp

Willing Sacrifice – https://goo.gl/8Abk3O

Willing Redemption – https://goo.gl/YZRxAJ

Luporum Cubilia – https://goo.gl/xQzr6I

 

