Name Aaron L Speer

Age 31

Where are you from Sydney Australia

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Born and raised in Sydney. Family are all Australians, though when you get to the great grand parents I’m from all over the world. England, Ireland, Scotland etc. Though I do love travelling, (HELLO AMERICA) I still call Australia home.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Very proud to announce my third novel in the Undeadly Secrets series, Shadow Chaser has been released this April

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Because writing and acting were the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do. It is the best cure for boredom, and I don’t think of it as a job. Ever since I was 7 or 8 I’ve enjoyed composition and my imagination. I was a horrible student, and mainly because I was a dreamer. I didn’t want to be there, so I would imagine being places I would rather be. It all stemmed from there

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t really know if there is a sudden event that makes one a writer. I think I’ve always been one. Anyone that jots thoughts down is a writer, though they may never publish a book.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My love of vampires, and my desire to make them different to what had been done before. I would make them gritty, more grounded. Peel back the romance and focus on them as a race, a group or as individuals. Blood, violence and gore.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I would hope my style is unique. But in a word; fast. I write like I like to read. I like something to always be happening. When there is violence on the page, it’s presented graphic. Same as the sex scenes. I don’t dwell on these aspects, but the reader knows that when they pick up a book by me, there will be blood and steam.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the first three books titles in about thirty minutes. Night Walker, Day Dreamer and Shadow Chaser. It was just a matter of focusing on what the books were going to be about and they came really quick.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Forget what you know, trust what you discover

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Hmmmm….interesting question. Ok, the topic is vampires, but the events inside the novels are much more real than people would probably believe. And that’s not a marketing gimmick.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The Godfather, The Harry Potter series.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Valerie Roeseler has come on in the last few years with her Helio Trilogy. I’m in love with her work and her brain. The way she can build her world is astounding. Angels mixed with various mythologies. She writes passionate scenes in a way Ive never really seen before.

Whereas I write graphic scenes of that nature, she gives and overview that is in no way lacking of detail. You see everything in your mind without her having to compound you with “thrusting…heaving…hot wet pussy etc”. A true gift of a great writer is to be able to say everything while writing almost nothing.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My fans. It’s not fair to name one specific over another. But they know who they are. They support me and hold me up when I’m down or unsure. The make teasers for me, trailers, ask for reviews from blogs, pimp my stuff. Just because they care. I’m grateful to each and every one of them

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to. But at the moment it’s a side job

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I’m actually very pleased with how it come out.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As a kid, watching TV and writing my own version of what happened on the screen when I didn’t like it.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

A serial killer is stalking Sydney. One that leaves no traces. No evidence. The Police are stumped but are trying to keep the truth under wraps. One cop reaches out to Alex Hensley, hoping an outsider might help.

She thinks its clear the killer isn’t human. But she also discovers her vampire allies are searching for him as well. He isn’t a vampire either. So the question is, what is he, and how can he be stopped?

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Filling out pages between plot points

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, but I hope that will change soon

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Deranged Doctor Designs

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The final draft

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Trust myself, but seek advice for things that scared me

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Me J Just kidding. Nah not really. I would love Margot Robbie to play Alex.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep going. But please do not use social media to bemoan how awful your sales are, why aren’t people buying full priced books etc. I’ve seen that a lot and people msg ME saying how grateful they are I do not do that, and they would never touch these authors who appear to complain so much. Ask questions, get advice. No one way works for everybody.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for giving me a chance to entertain you. The Speerverse will always be there to welcome you back.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Vermillion Horizon by Valerie Roeseler

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Magic Faraway Tree

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Children and animals being hurt

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here lies Aaron L Speer. He did his best.

I think that’s the most true statement about me. Wasn’t always right, or wrong. But I tried

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Lol not really except spending time with my wife. Movies. Dinner etc. Enjoying what I can out of life.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones, Supergirl, Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, Marvel/DC nerd here

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chicken. Black. ANYTHING

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Act.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I’m in the process of updating and revamping it.

https://www.amazon.com/Night-Walker-Undeadly-Secrets-Book-ebook/dp/B00NB59QVA/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1493249582&sr=1-1&keywords=Aaron+L+Speer

https://www.amazon.com/Day-Dreamer-Undeadly-Secrets-2/dp/1508895813/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1493249582&sr=1-3&keywords=Aaron+L+Speer

https://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Chaser-Undeadly-Secrets-3/dp/1544844409/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1493249582&sr=1-2&keywords=Aaron+L+Speer

 

