Name Kay Thorn

Age46

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Iowa.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have 2 sisters. I’m married and have 3 daughters.  Both my parents came from large families. So I have a huge family with all the aunts and uncles, and an I have an obscene amount of cousins. I have an AS degree in Retail/Marketing. After staying home with my kids I have just started finding a job I enjoy.  I’m currently a substitute teachers aide.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently re-editing both Grains of Sand and True Bearing. They are my first books and the next series I’m writing is an MC. I fixed some timeline errors and expanded on a few things as it is a spin off of some of the characters .

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

In June of 2016, I was asked by another author to write something for an anthology. Took forever, it was two months before I started writing.

TheFiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The moment I hit 20,000 words.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I would read books and think about the what ifs. Wondered why the plot went a certain away.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

During the day, I ramble and have conversations in my head or out loud when I write it is mostly at night and I get more done, less interruptions and I don’t have to stop every time someone needs something.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Grains of Sand as I wrote it I kept thinking about the soap opera Days of our lives… like sands in an hour glass theses are the days of our lives.

True was almost done and the working title Weathered Sands, just sucked. In a part in the book, the male characters tell Tessa, that she is their true Bearing.It was when they were talking about their path and journey in life after the Army and the PTSD.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Life doesn’t have to be in the direction that it is now, one small thing can change everything. You can either sit back and let life continue or choose a path that could change anything and everything.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There is a lot of “In really life” in both books and there is also instances that it is real life the way it should of gone. I’ve taken real life moments and stories from friends to make it easier to say I know that feeling. It is easy to put yourself in the characters shoes. For instance, Tessa’s reaction to being accused of flirting with Shawn’s coworker. She did nothing wrong but automatically thought it was her fault, because of the trained response.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?a mentor?

50 Shades of Grey. It was the first book I read in a very long time and startedme on this ride.I went from reading nothing in books to upwards of 15 a week. My mom has always read “smut” books and she always had 3 or more being read at anytime.

The authors that have now become friends are the people who inspire me, the ones who I watch and learn. It is crazy of the amount of friends I have now just because of reading and in return writing.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interestand who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Being an indie writer there are so many people coming in that it is hard to keep track.  I have favorite authors that started before during and after me we help each other and support one another.KL Donn has been an influence as well as Liberty Parker, Kerri Ann, GM Scherbert, and Winter Travers. The list could go on.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My best friend Dee, we have been with each other for over 20 years.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It is so hard to tell. I would love to just write but knowing myself, I know that I need some type of social setting.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I love the way Grains and True came out, after my re-edit.   The spin off characters are dying to get out and play.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I hated writing in school. So I know I never had author as a career choice. But I think that it’s different now because I’m getting to write what I want. They can do and say what I want.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Book 3-“Dad, if she is working there who the fuck is with Drew? Why is she working in the first place, I pay child support and for her house to live in.” I hate her even more every day. I’m angry at her and myself, the fact I left my son with her when I left.

“Calm down, Bate, Drew is at home with Pipes old lady at night. And we just figured out who is watching him during the day.

“Just?  Found out? Dad that is bullshit. Drew is six, he should be in school all day. What the hell is she thinking?”

“Karen wasn’t paying her old babysitter so she found a new one. Evidently she has him in a half day program, he is dropped at the babysitters by 9:00, then the babysitter drops him off at school and picks him up. It varies when the witch picks him up.”

“Varies? Dad what the hell is she doing the whole time?”  I acknowledge he waitress as she sets my plate down. Dad continues, “Some days at four, others it is after seven.”

“Dad, that’s fucked up. Who is this babysitter?”

“Her name is Janelle Nelson. She is a divorced lady with two kids. She has had this in home daycare for seven years and has had no complaints. She lives in Hardin, half a block from the school. Drew’s fine and she is not bad to look at.”

“Dad what does that have to do with anything? I don’t care if she’s good looking, I care if she is good at looking after my son!”

 

Book 4- “Ames… what are you doing here? You are the stronger one, you can’t be here. I’m sorry I left you alone. I was so tired. Tired of the pain… tired of the chaos, they took away everything away. I’m sorry Ames, I left you.”

“Danny I’ve missed you. You left me! ALONE! I hate you!  I hate you for that! I hate you for not being with me. Those damn pills were your answer, an answer without me.” I want to hit him. Throw everything and anything at him. He left me alone.

I’m always alone. Ty and Scott have moved on, I’m still alone. They all had issues when they all came back, but they got things right. Tessa changed everything for them. I’ve only met her a few times but she had both the men seeing everything different. Even when she was in the hospital unconscious, they both looked at her like she was the air they breathe.

Craig has never looked at me like that. Not even when we started dating. I don’t think he even looks at me. He looks through me, toward me maybe, but not at me. After he shows me my errors, he doesn’t see anything at all. He hides me away until I can play the part, again. The part of the nice looking nurse, the one that all the partners in the law firm can look at.

“Amy Christine Evans, look at me.”

“What Daniel James, what the hell do you have to say? Say to me? Your sister! Your only living relative.”

“AMES! Please I don’t want you to be here with me. You were the stronger one, I forgot just how strong you were. I’m sorry I didn’t see it. Please go back and live the life you should have.”

“What life was that?” I keep going over in my head what my life has become. Losing Dad, then mom, Danny being away, then him getting hurt, Craig and his lessons, where was I? “I don’t have a life, Daniel!”

“You will Ames, I promise! Tessa will help you. You need to go back, go back. Live, live for me, please, Amy, I love you.”

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I don’t have a solid family support.  My daughters are way too young to know what I write. My husband has made it clear that he dislikes everything about my first books.  He is proud I “finished” something. He just can’t follow me into something he finds “wrong”.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I would love to go to more signing events and am hoping to go to Brew City in October.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Both covers were done by Tracie Douglas-Rabas at Dark Water Covers.
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Filling in the pieces.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I like it and made me see who really supports me.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

I really haven’t thought that far.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t read your reviews or read them until you are satisfied with the book.  Even after this big update, I still have doubts on it.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want to thank them for joining in on this ride.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Since I’m currently writing, I find it hard to read and write. So I try to keep up with the ARCs and beta reads and almost always read from the top lists. The books that you can read over and over.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

One that I chose to read? 50 Shades of Grey. Before that I know I read the Red badge of courage.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

In real life…the everyday nagging that this is not how my life was supposed to be. I like having chat dates with Dee, we both laugh at all the crappy things that just seem to bog us down.  Sometime life just seems so heavy and all you can do is cry or just laugh. I have also found Facebook group of women that support each other. We laugh at the odd things in life and lend support when everything seems too much.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I don’t know that there is an answer to this. I would love to spending more time with my dad. He died suddenly five years ago. I only saw my parents and sisters on holidays and I missed a lot living far away.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

That I was loved. Saying it and feeling it are two totally different things.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, Camping,

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I would rather read than watch tv.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Spaghetti and lasagna / any darker shade of blue / I like music form the 80s and the soft music from now, like Adele

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I have a AS Degree in Retail Marketing  but in the last few years I have found enjoyment working with special needkids in school.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I’m working on that I hope to have that up and running before summer.

Amazon Author pages

https://www.amazon.com/Kay-Thorn/e/B01N5HU1FT/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1493111888&sr=1-2-ent

 https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kay-Thorn/e/B01N5HU1FT/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1493112155&sr=1-2-ent

 

