Name Iris Sweetwater

Age 28

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have two degrees to speak of, but the one I am most proud of is my degree in Education. I love teaching children and adults alike. I make my own curriculum and just love to help people learn about life and leadership as well as the Arts, English, and History.

I am a mother and wife at this point. My husband works a lot of hours so I can do this crazy writing thing and take care of my child.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The first in my paranormal romance series called Brothers of Fang is available for pre-order right now. It will officially release at all major ebook retailers on May 2nd. I am very excited because I put everything I had into this and have already begun working on the other three books in the series.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wish I could go into my childhood psyche and pull out the whys because it would be interesting to find out. However, I was an early reader and writer. I wrote my first poems at age 4.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have always felt like a writer, and my classmates and teachers felt the same way. An author, though, that’s taken much longer. Doing ghostwriting, I didn’t even feel like one.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have literally hundreds of unfinished novels sitting in a huge chest in my closet. I was always meant to write them, but now I have finally been determined and confident enough to make it happen. I was sick of others getting credit for my talent.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

This is always hard to describe, but I use a basic outline, nothing too detailed, and I always aim to give as much imaginative detail to the reader as possible without overwhelming them. (Think JK Rowling vs. Stephanie Meyer)

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For this book, it was about my characters. The main subjects are three werewolf brothers. It just made sense.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think it’ll be pretty clear, but there are two main themes I think readers will see as they read. The first has to do with family and how fickle it can be. You trust them whether you like them or not, you feel obligated to love them, but sometimes that comes back to bite you. The other theme I would think would be obvious is how the heart is constantly at war with the mind.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of this book is purely fictional. It involves witches and werewolves. However, I think the struggles with family is something we can all relate to as well as liking someone you know you shouldn’t.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

JK Rowling has been huge for me, and not just because of Harry Potter. Her entire life and gumption inspires me. Other than that, I would say a lot of YA authors have been big for me such as Alyson Noel, Addison Moore, and Holly Black.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I keep singing her praises everywhere, she might just get creeped out, but I am a big fan of Something Blue by Kristy Nicolle.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The author community has been amazing in general. So many Indie authors have come to my aid in so many ways.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I hope it turns out that way.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nothing at all.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Like I said, it began with poetry. I liked to use metaphors for my feelings and others’ feelings. I often would turn anger and sadness into monsters or trees.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Word count and knowing what is too much or too little.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet, but I would love to start attending some author events.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My husband and myself do a lot of them, but I also have two other authors who are great at cover design. This one was done by C.L. Cannon.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Not overthinking the editing. I am my own worst critic.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

It was that I needed to be more confident in my writing as well as how to give myself enough time to write. It really got down to the wire on this one.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Oh my goodness, this is such a fun question. There are a lot of lead characters in my books, but I will stick to casting the three werewolf brothers. Two of them actually have celebrities as their inspiration, so those are easy; David Beckham and Jason Behr. The younger brother requires some thought, but I think Ian Somerholder or Joseph Gordon-Levitt would be a good fit.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t let anyone dictate what you should be writing unsolicited.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes, I would like them to know I appreciate each one of them. Never hesitate to send me a hello or a question about my work on social media. I would love to get to know them!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am desperately awaiting the next in the Celestra series by Addison Moore.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I think the first chapter book I sat down to read by choice had to be the second Harry Potter book.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Most things involving Russell Brand.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Again, this comes back to JK Rowling. I want to know when she was at her lowest if she ever thought she would be where she is today.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Ew, that’s kind of morbid lol. Well, something about being a mom. That’s the most important thing to me.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to dance and sing!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

PLL, Vampire Diaries, The Bachelor (sorry!)

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Crepes and Lemon Chicken/Pink and Black/Too much to mention but my latest obsession is Halsey

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have been an actress or singer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://irissweetrh.wixsite.com/irissweet-author

Iris Sweetwater | Paranormal, Fantasy & Romance Author

Where to find my books:
Amazon | Smashwords | Nook
Connect with Iris:
Website | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

