Name  S.T. Williams

Age 27

Where are you from

Northern Virginia

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I am a mom, I have one kid, a son who is 5 years old. I’m not married. I work full time as a bartender and as far as ways to pay the bills go I really do enjoy it but books will always be my passion. I have a blog which I neglect far too much. I like to use it to ramble about the books I read whenever I can.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My debut novel Aubrey’s Diary was recently released on paperback the e-book version will be available worldwide May 4th and I am very excited.

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I love writing and reading and I always have. I wrote my first short story when I was in the 5th grade and that same year I remember the school librarian telling me that she was pretty sure I had read every book in the building.

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The day that someone gave me a very simple but important piece of wisdom.

“Writers write.”

That’s it, so simple and to the point. If you love to write, if you do it without any provocation just because you are passionate about it, then you are a writer. So, go write.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Aubrey came to me as a character long before I figured out what her story was or how I wanted to tell it. She sort of just lived in my head for a long time until I decided I was ready.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My first book is written entirely in journal format which I love but I don’t think that will be the case of any other books going further. I am planning to write the next book in an alternating POV from both the male and female lead, with only the females parts in journal format.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My title is almost part of the blurb, it’s descriptive to what the book is. Aubrey’s Diary is the fictional diary of a character named Aubrey.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are a few of them but nothing too preachy mostly just that you are the creator of your own destiny.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some of the themes are based on real life experiences but it’s all 100% fiction.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

SO MANY BOOKS! I love reading I have been influenced by so many books in my life and I have been inspired by many amazing authors. One of the biggest names that sticks out in my head is T.M. Frazier. She is one of my favorite authors and the first author I loved that I ever got to meet. That simple meeting at a signing made me realize that those Rockstar book writers we all know and love are just normal people like everyone else. More than that it made me realize that if I were brave enough to follow my dream anything could be possible in the future.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love finding new and little known authors. There are so many amazing stories that have yet to be discovered. I’m an admitted romance junkie. Recently I read a debut novel by an author named Delilah Mohan that blew me away it was called Obscured Love. Sometimes people don’t grasp the subtle details that make a romantic story great but not Ms. Mohan. That was definitely my last 5 star read.

Favorite author is tough. I have lots of favorites it would be easier to specify them by genre. For example, dark romance it has to be T.M. Frazier I just love everything she does. But paranormal romance/urban fantasy I might say it was Rachel Vincent because the Shifters series and the Soul Screamers series are both extremely high on my list of all-time greatest. And then just mentioning Soul Screamers brings up the topic of YA romance both paranormal and non…there are just too many amazing books out there.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Facebook.

I know that sounds weird but I was really lucky to find a couple of amazing Facebook groups for writers and for readers and they have been sources of support throughout this process.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love for writing to be my career one day but at the moment I only see it as a passion. Something that I can not give up whether it pays the bills or not.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Maybe, maybe not. I think that there comes a point where we have to stop revisions and just let the work be what it is. If you try to get too picky you can end up ruining a good story.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Diaries. Journals and Diaries got my pen flowing at a young age the transition to fictional stories just seemed natural.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

How about the opening paragraphs?

September 10, 2014

 

Dear Diary,

I’ve never kept a diary before, but I happened to have this notebook with me and I thought today might be a good day to start.

You see today is a different day, a new day if you will, because I finally did it!

This morning when I woke up, Mama and Daddy were still asleep. Well, more technically, I guess they were passed out. Mama even still had a damn tube tied around her skinny ass arm. Daddy had left his wallet on the table next to his cigarettes, and I could see the wads of cash he had shoved in there after making all his dope drops last night.

So, I took it.

I threw all my school books out of my backpack and shoved in as many changes of clothes as I could. I took all the money I saved from babysitting last summer and from my waitressing job at Kirby’s, and then I left.

I just simply walked out and locked the door behind me, and no one even moved. I must admit it was kind of anticlimactic. I mean I always thought my grand escape would be…I don’t know, a little grander, I guess.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Challenging to write? Dialogue trying to script people talking kills me I have to convince myself that I know how normal people talk to each other every time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Nope not yet but hopefully one day people from other places will want me to come meet them.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My sister Brittany Williams actually designed the cover. She is a very talented photographer who took an amazing shot of a friend of mine that worked perfectly with my story so I asked her to try her hand at graphic design. I could not be happier with the final results.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Revisions. Second guessing myself a million times and combing through every word with a microscope.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned so much about the process of publishing a novel.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I admittedly have a dream cast that I used for inspiration to keep the characters’ physical features straight in my head. The lead female Aubrey’s features are based on a young redheaded Emma Stone.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

The best piece of advice ever given to me. Writers write. Do it because you love it the rest will come.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I really hope you enjoy Aubrey’s story.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Damnable Grace by Tillie Cole (I love all things by Tillie Cole she easily could have been mentioned amongst my favorite authors)

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I remember the first book that made me love to read and it was The Wizard of Oz. Those books are a huge piece of my childhood.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

EVERYTHING. I am an extremely emotional person I try to laugh as much as possible and embrace the tears when I need to.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Bob Marley. He was an amazing poet and human. I feel like I would get more lessons for a lifetime out of a conversation with him then I would from most other people to have ever lived.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Oh gosh this is an amazing question that I have never really thought about before. Off the top of my head I would have to say that it doesn’t matter so much what they write as long as it’s both hopeful and true.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Hello, my name is S.T. and I am a nail polish addict. HAHA but really I love painting my nails and I have a collection of colors that I pride myself on.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like a lot of shows and movies but I am biggest on the ones that are pure escapism. Like Game of Thrones or any of the superhero movies. Anything with fantastical out of this world elements is going to get my attention.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Peperoni pizza… I will fight you over the last slice

Colors: Purple

Music: I like good old fashioned pop music. I still listen to the radio and I like things that I can sing along to.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I don’t know. I never planned to be a bartender but it’s not something I resent I love it. I also never really had a dream job other than being an author or maybe some kind of journalist.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do not have a blog or website as an author. I have a book blog where I ramble about whatever book I just finished. The address for that is www.stonergirlbooks.blogspot.com and you can find me posting about my own books all over social media like on Facebook at www.facebook.com/s.t.williamsauthor or on Twitter at www.twitter.com/STWilliamsBooks and also on Instagram at www.intstagram.com/s.t.williams.author

https://www.amazon.com/Aubreys-Diary-Journals-S-T-Williams/dp/1521007810/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1492608852&sr=1-1&keywords=Aubrey%60s+diary

 

 

