Name C. D. Samuda

Age: 45

Where are you from: Jamaica

First, I want to thank you for having me. I am happy to be able to answer your questions.

I live in the countryside, the eastern end of the island. My goats, cat and dogs are my children. My immediate family is close knit. I live with my mother, partially live with my husband and my brother lives next door.

I received the Paul Bogle scholarship when I was 10 years old to attend the premium high school in my parish. At the time, high school education was not free and only a few student s were offered this scholarship. After leaving high school I completed a few certificate courses while I did various odd jobs.

I would later goon to complete courses in computer technology, Business Administration, Gym Management, Weights training, Nutrition Consultation and Martial Arts instruction.

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began making up stories since I could read. My first memory of thinking that this is what I want to be was when I was 8 years old. I was scribbling stories on paper by then.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have always considered myself a writer first, regardless of the job position I held.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My inspiration came from the need to get the story out of my head.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I consider my writing style easy to follow and descriptive. I think I am character focused.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title of a book usually comes to me before I write the story, just when I get the idea. It usually just pops into my head and then the story follows. In the rare case where the story comes first, the title usually appears to me while writing. When I was a ghostwriter, when the client gives me their idea for the story by the time I’m done working on the plot, the title would come to me.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

With the series I just completed, yes. The Love’s Abandon series is about love that goes beyond feeling. It’s about trusting your partner, sacrificing yourself for the one you love and creating an unbreakable bond. It’s love unbound.

Haha, I felt like I was writing my blurb.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The stories I create are not based on my experience. On the contrary, I would say they are based on the experiences I would have loved to have. There might be minute elements in the story I draw from real life, but the plots aren’t.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I think all books that I have read have influenced me in some way. Novels gave me the love I have for writing fiction. My high school librarian gifted me a book on writing when I was 14. That book influenced my writing style to some extent.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I was thinking about this just last night. There is a caliber of writers we all know, such as the Stephen King, James Paterson and so forth, but there is a new generation of authors that people don’t know yet and they are asking waves.

Put aside the authors I grew up with, I have a few favorites from the current wave. Matthew Mather is a science fiction author who I admire very much and my favorite in the genre. My favorite romance author is a male, JD Hawkins.  Both these authors inspire me. I also love Melissa Foster, not only because she writes well but she has a great personality.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I will name a few people who have been with me through some of my darkest moments. When I would have given up, they were there. I went through something painful in 2016 and these people were my support system.

Marlene Spector (Editor), Cindy Murdoch, Jennifer Essary, Angela Haworth, JT Walters. I have never met any of these people in person, but they held me up and supported me through a rough patch. I give thanks to all other Facebook friends who have been there for me as well. I want to give special thanks to Maita Kimble who buys every book I publish, even though she has not time to read them. She busy them just to support me.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No. I see writing as my life. Without it I can’t breathe. You know some people swear they can’t live without another person? That’s how I feel about writing.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, not the latest book, which was a stand-alone romance. I would have changed the series before that and made it one book instead.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Good question Fiona. I suppose it was from reading all those stories as a child and making up my own.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Oh yes. I’m currently writing an alternative fairy tale.  The work is a collaboration where 17 writers are coming together, each with one fairytale they have re-written.

I am rewriting the Cinderella story. This version will have a twist or two. What I can tell you is that it’s for 18 plus audiences and will have a little magic, some humor, some paranormal and a lot of romance.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Thanks for that question Fiona. The most challenging thing is the editing. Writers tend to miss the minute details and sometimes we don’t have the funds to hire and editor.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Another great question. No, I have not reached that level yet, but I hope to get there soon. Which author doesn’t want to do book tours? LOL


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design all my covers and I have gotten complements on them. I must admit some are harder to design, depending on the concept, but I am also getting better at it.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing the series was keeping it within the genre. The series was supposed to be romance, but it veered into suspense and edged the thriller genre, My imagination tend to do that. I felt bored writing straight romance so I supposed that’s  my main challenge.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Well, I learned a few things after the book was published. Mainly that you will never please every reader. I learned that I should write to please my character and not necessarily the reader. If I write from my heart then the right readers will find me.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Haha, not really. I would like to choose the main characters, but not really star the movie.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Thanks for that questions Fiona. Yes, writers should write from their heart, what they feel and not what others want then to write. Stop listening to every advice out there or else you will get confused. Just write your story and then you can rewrite it if needed.

Another thing. A few words a day will have your story completed in no time. So keep writing. Set a goal you can manage, even 500 words per day.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want to thank my readers for believing in me and taking the time to read. I really appreciate all the reviews left on my books and there are some fans who have read everything I publish. I thank you.

Please continue to support me as I work on writing better stories in the future, the more we write the better we become at our raft and you haven’t seen my masterpiece yet. That masterpiece will be coming your way soon.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading a short fictional piece by Nell Rose, it’s a ghost story. I am also reading a Utopia by Mathew Mather, a science fiction novel – part of a series.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I’m trying really hard to remember but no. That piece of memory has failed me.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Seeing other people’s pain make me cry. I hardly watch the news because I am always a blubbery mess. I cry when watching dramas as well as when I read an emotional scene. I cried a few times when writing. Good stories of kindness also make my eyes water.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

That’s something I haven’t thought about. I suppose I would have loved to meet Mother Theresa. She was a humanitarian and she inspires goodwill.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“No regrets”

I spent the last two plus decades only dreaming of becoming an author. I listened to people around me and allowed life to hinder me. No more. I may not be exactly where I want to be but I am a published author and if I should die tomorrow, I know I have no regrets in making the decision to do this full time.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Another great question! I love to cook and sing. I love martial arts as well. I read a lot as well. One of my favorite things to do between writing is making book covers. It relaxes me.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love watching Korean and Indian dramas. When it comes to movies and am a sucker for martial arts movies.  I also love a good romance.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I have been dying for you to ask me about food. Give me cheesecake and I will so almost anything for you. My comfort foods are cheesecake, chocolate, Hagen Daz ice-cream (pistachio), fried chicken and cheesecake… oh I said cheese cake already.

Seriously, when it comes to really enjoying food, I love Asian cuisine, specifically Korean, Japanese and Indian.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

What? I can’t imagine it. When I was not a full time writer, I kept thinking about it. I wrote stories and hid them away. This isn’t a choice, it’s a calling and I answered the call. I honestly would still be depressed without it, seeing that I tried many other things and still ended up here.

Thank you for a wonderful interview and for having me.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

  1. D. Samuda website – http://caroleesamuda.com/

Diana Flame Website – http://www.dianaflame.com/

Author promotions – http://thinkwritetalk.com/

 

 

 

Websites:

Carolee’s Voice

The Princes of Uvieroein Series

The Love’s Abandon Series

Emerald Magazine

Think Write Talk

 

Social:

C.D.Samuda Author Page

Diana Flame Author Page

Twitter

Instagram

LinkedIn

GooglePlus

YouTube

 

 

My Books:

CheckMate (Devour Me Series Book 1)

His Sacrifice for Love

Breath of Fire

Awakening: The Prince of Nabalar

Angel Wishes Christmas Romance

Amazon Author Page

 

