Name Kathleen Kelly

Age Old enough to know better and young enough to try anyway

Where are you from I was born in Penrith NSW in the Nepean Hospital but it was never home. Queensland has always been home. Right now I live in Toowoomba, The Garden City. I love it here.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was born in Penrith, NSW, Australia. When I was four, my family moved to Brisbane, QLD, Australia. Although born in NSW I consider myself a QUEENSLANDER!!

I married my childhood sweetheart and we share our home with two furry kids. A British Short Hair called Grace (16) and a Burmese called Jack (14).

If you have any questions about my novels or would like to ask me a question I can be contacted via e-mail: kathleenkellyauthor@gmail.com

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just came back from a signing in Chester, the UK. Have any of you gone to a foreign city and felt like you’d come home? Well, that’s how I feel about London. I want to live there, even if it’s only for a short time. Thankfully my hubby feels the same. I am going to a signing in York next year and we are planning an extended visit.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have a horrible back. It’s been operated on but the surgery didn’t work the way it was supposed to. I was working in retail and for those of you that work in that industry you know it’s basically on your feet for eight hours a day. So, I would get home from work, cry from the pain, take painkillers, eat, shower and go to bed, only to do it all over again for the next day. Weekends were spent in bed off my feet so I would be fine to work the next week. I was existing, not living.

I helped another Author with her first couple of books and she told me I needed to let my creative juices flow and write my own stories. I started in July 2014. I quit my job and released my first book Savage Stalker in December of that same year.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

With the release of that first book. I felt I’d made a contribution to the world, corny I know, but lots of people purchased that first book, and they still do.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was the easiest story to write. It was all there waiting in my head and the words poured out.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Multiple Point of Views. Most people love it.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Author friend I was talking about, helped me come up with the MC name Savage Angels and she suggested my books all have Savage as the first name on them to brand them.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Don’t betray those you love. Love & Loyalty

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There’s little bits of the truth in all of them. Very small pieces. In Stalker I talk about my mother’s hands, well they are my Mum’s hands.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Some books stick with you and there are many fictional ones that spring to mind but the first one that struck me was a self help book called Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach, it’s written for women, it’s a book about appreciating the little things.

 

Mentors are many. I believe you have to grow with them and if you aren’t you need to find another. I have different ones for different things.
Lili Saint Germain is great for general knowledge.
Sassie Lewis if I need some help standing up for myself, that woman kicks arse.
And I have a group of Authors that I interact with in a daily basis, some are for sprinting, others are for helping me sort out problems. This Book Community is amazing. All you need to do is ask and someone, somewhere will help you.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I get sent ARC’s all the time. I don’t have time to read them all and I’m sorry. I do try to wade through them.
I recently got sent one from Harlow Brown, Charlie’s Whiskey. For a first time Author it was really good, she’s someone you need to keep an eye on.
C.G. Lee has a great style too she just released Tattoos and Scars. This woman has been a huge support to me and many others in this industry.

And another new Author, who hasn’t released yet, is Emma Swift. Her first draft that she sent me, was amazeballs but she’s still tweaking it. Great story.

One of my favourite Authors is J.R.Ward. I love paranormal and this woman can write it. FLOVED the Blackdagger Brotherhood. She writes about alpha males and the women they love. The way she draws you in, it captivates you.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a few. 🙂
Brandi Lanning, whom I talk to just about everyday. She lives in the US and I miss her.
Christina Cragg, honestly without her support Savage Stalker would never have gotten finished.

Darlene Tallman who has now started her own writing career and is the sweetest woman you’ll ever have the pleasure of meeting.

And last but never least is my PA Maci Dillon. She manages everything for me, even though she’s balancing her own writing career, motherhood and a plethora of things that I’m sure she doesn’t share with me. Without her, kicking my butt and encouraging me, I’m not sure I would have gotten past book 2, Savage Fire.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely, it’s my sole source of income.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My latest full length book, Savage Truth is getting a new cover and a new name. It will just be called Truth.
Too many people thought it was a follow on from the Savage Angels Series but it’s the first in The Grinders series. We all love Rockstars, right?

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

There was a friend who was doing it, and doing well, I was helping her and she said I needed to write my own stories. Up until then I was content in my own, very little world.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It’s a standalone. The Spark Ignites.
Today is Sunday, and the heat finally feels like it’s breaking, there’s a cool breeze, and I’m working in my overalls with a white t-shirt underneath. I have Metallica blaring on the portable stereo and am singing Enter Sandman at top note. The parts from the U.S. Marshalls turned up in the shape of a whole god-dammed car. It feels criminal to strip it, but I can’t give the old guy a mint Mustang, he’d know I was into something shady. So, I’ve been taking what I need and fitting it to his car.

I’m engrossed in my work, singing, when someone kicks my boot.

“Hello?” I yell out.

I look to my left, and I see tan boots with pink fancy-work on them, walking away then my music stops.

“Hello?” I repeat.

“Who the hell are you?”

Whoever she is, she’s pissed. She’s even tapping one foot. I roll out and look up at the cutest female I’ve seen in a while, and she’s all kinds of angry. That foot is still tapping, her hands are on her hips, and she’s looking down at me with a serious amount of attitude on her face. My eyes travel up her body from her boots to her short skirt, to the way too tight tank top, and finally, I lock eyes with her.

“You first,” I say with a grin.

“I beg your pardon?” she asks shaking her head at me which causes her ponytail to move from side to side.

“Who are you?” I ask.

“No, no, and hell no! This is my granddaddy’s place! Who the hell are you?”

“Oh, so you’re Cherie.” I stand and extend my hand.

She looks me up and down, hands still on hips. “How do you know my name?”

I grin at her. “Your grandfather, Mr. Lake told me about you. Said you’d be here from time to time, feeding animals and stuff. I’ve been coming out every day and haven’t seen you once.”

“So you’re the one who’s been feeding the animals?”

“Yes, Ma’am. I’m not a country boy, so I hope I’ve been doing okay. So far, they haven’t complained,” I reply with a wolfish grin.

“You. Still. Haven’t. Told. Me. Your. Name.” Cherie pauses between each word, exasperation evident in her tone.

I extend my hand again. “Eric Hill, Mr. Lakes mechanic, and part-time ranch hand.”

She grasps my hand and tries to squeeze it tightly; it’s cute as hell. To let her know I’m more than capable of handling her, I squeeze back but not with my full strength. Cherie gasps and I release her. I like the sound, and I’m wondering how what noises she’d make, naked and underneath me.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

It gets better the more you do it. In the beginning I wrote like I talk, hell, I still do that sometimes.
Things like: He just started walking across the path.

Well, it should be: He walked across the path.

I always go back and search for “just”, “started”, and with every book there is a word I like to use that is really (“really” is another word – LOL) useless. My editor, God bless her soul, normally finds them. Her name is Susan Child.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really. I want to though. Meeting the fans is fantastic but you guys NEED to tell me who you are!! I don’t remember everyone. In fact I SUCK at it.
Signings are fun and I’m trying to go overseas at least once a year. The trip from Australia to the US or the UK is a killer for me. It sucks as it takes a couple of days for my back to settle. For the US you’re looking at least 14 hours and the UK is 7 to Dubai with a 2 hour stop over then another 14 hours home….HORRIBLE.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For my Savage Angels Series, Snake’s Revenge and The Spark Ignites, Letitia Hasser from Romantic Book Affairs.
For Savage Truth soon to become Truth, Jemina Venter from Book Nerd Fan Girl. Jem also designed my logo, Savage Angels tattoo and the tattoo for my next book The Spark Ignites.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I always know how they are going to start and end, it’s the middle that gets fuzzy and bogged down. I plot everything but still it can be hard. I find if I fast forward further into the book it helps. I need to write everyday and if I’m not enjoying it I can find a million things to do at home so, if I get like that, I jump ahead then go back and fix it or fill it in later.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I fell in love with my characters and I know the Savage Angels universe has to come to an end some day but it makes me sad. I wasn’t prepared for how attached I’d become to them and if I kill one, I cry like a baby.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I have no idea!
Different people are used for inspiration for all my books.
If I had to choose one it would be Truth’s book. For me, he’s always been a taller version of Dave Navarro and Rosie has always been Krysten Ritter from Breaking Bad.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write every day. Learn as much about this business as you can. Find other Authors to support you.
Look at what other successful Authors in your genre are doing and emulate them.
And the most important thing, Treat others the way YOU want to be treated, don’t be a twat.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for buying my books, thank you for reaching out to me and telling me what you love or even hate about my works.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Ok, I’ve just started Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris but I’ve just opened my Kindle and Colbie Kay and Chianti Summers have sent me “Sweet Southern Secrets” so I’ll be reading that on the way to a wedding today. It’s a road trip, 5 hours so I should get it done.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I think it was James and the Giant Peach…

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything! I cry at everything, commercials, sad movies, hell, I even cry in the happy ones.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I’m a huge Bon Jovi fan so Jon. He’s a survivor in the music industry not many artists can say they’ve been around for over 30 years. His business model is something I’d like to get my hands on – LOL.
In the Author world, J.K. Rowling. Her story is incredible, if you are a struggling Author I encourage you to google her and look at her troubles.

Yeah, I know you said one, but I’ve broken the rule 😉

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Love and Loyalty.
She valued this above all else.
Why? I’ve been betrayed by someone so close to me that I thought they were family. No one should ever feel the way I felt.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like to try new things. I’ve just enrolled in a makeup course and when that’s done, I’m going to look into using oil paints. I’ve never really used them before, so, it’ll be a new medium for me.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Supernatural, The Walking Dead, Riverdale, The Good Witch (don’t judge me), and many more.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Burnt Pumpkin, Roast Lamb, and most fruit. Oh and my hubby makes a fantastic Chicken Caesar Salad – it’s not healthy but I love it.
Colours: Yellow as it means friendship but not to wear, red to wear.
Music: Metallica, Bon Jovi, Nickleback, Brantley Gilbert, Luke Bryan, Lady Antebellum, and many more.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I think if I hadn’t taken the chance and took that leap of faith I’d still be in retail. I’d hate it but sometimes we can’t see the trees for the forest.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? www.kathleenkellyauthor.com

Please drop in to say hello or find me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100005859376891

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kathleen-Kelly/e/B00QWZ7Y1U/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1?tag=geolinker-21

