Name:   Dawn Batterbee Miller:  Deep Woods Mama

Age   81

Where are you from:   Originally from Northern Michigan,  Lower Peninsula.  Logging Territory

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.

Lived in upwards of 9 different families before I was 9 years old.  All were God loving people who were good to me and taught me about Christ. Quit school at 9th grade and married a loving husband.  After birthing 3 girls and 2 boys, I took GED, went to college and became a teacher. I taught school for 24 years.  After retirement I took courses at Appalachian School for Writers. I now have written many magazine articles and 5 books in both traditional and self-publishing venues.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

First self-published book, Footprints Under the Pines,  became an Amazon best seller about a year ago.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Always had a flair for writing. In college, I loved it when the professor said to write an essay because I knew I could ace it. I wrote Footprints Under the Pines, a novel, because I wanted to carry the reader into the lumber camps so he/she could experience the life of those hardy men. (and a few women) Apparently I achieved my goal because people usually say, “I couldn’t put it down.”

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Oh my, it happened gradually. Sort of like growing into it.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

First book, God’s Family Tree traditionally published. Participated in planning a Church Growth program. Church leadership liked it so much they suggested I publish it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

The books sort of write themselves. I know where they’re going and where they’ll end and the characters behave as anyone would in the situation.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Not sure, struggled with it for a long time and then it just popped into my head.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Our forebears were strong people who met difficulties head on and overcame.  If we do the same we can also overcome.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

One book, Pioneer Potpourri, is a collection of columns written by my Aunt Rosalind Batterbee Bundy Westcott about early settlers in the territory. Add to that the fact that my Grandpa Batterbee and one of my mentors, Grandpa Donaldson, were loggers and I gleaned stories from them.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Hmmm, Agent, Les Stobbe, gave me opening line to sell my first article.  Editor and conference leader, Marilyn Bagnull, guided me through the first 3 chapters of Footprints Under the Pines.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career? 

No, I see it as a means to express the inner reachings of my being.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

Yes, of course, always, I’d ask certain people to share their thoughts.  But this is an entirely different genre and written for a small and specific audience.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I learned I could ace a college essay.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Book 3 of the Deep Woods Series.  A little girl grows up in Deep Woods territory and responds to a calling deep in her past.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Ginger Marks, Daughter and Prize Winning Publisher,  DocUmeant Publishing and DocUmeant  Design.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Learning to write books after publishing many articles. It’s an entirely different venture.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

Goodness, I don’t know.  Though many people have said Footprints should be made into a movie.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Little Women

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I think it was Dick and Jane. LOL

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The idea that God loves me and would listen to my prayers.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? 

Already written, Loving Wife and Mother

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Just love to be with my 5 kids, 8 grandkids and 11 great-grandkids.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Country’s Family Reunion and Larry’s Country Diner,

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Gospel Music

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Teaching elementary school.  I chose Grade 6 because it’s a time in children’s lives when they need a mature and Godly influence.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

http://dawncreations.net/   is one Facebook Deep Woods Lifeline is more up to date. Learning to do Pintrest; Deep Woods Mama

https://www.amazon.com/Lost-Deep-Woods-Batterbee-Miller/dp/193780142X/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1492266623&sr=1-4&keywords=Dawn+Batterbee+Miller

https://www.amazon.com/Footprints-Under-Pines-Batterbee-Miller/dp/1414109962/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1492266623&sr=1-5&keywords=Dawn+Batterbee+Miller

https://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-Potpourri-Rosalind-Batterbee/dp/0978883136/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1492266623&sr=1-3&keywords=Dawn+Batterbee+Miller

 

