Name Paige Addams – nice to meet you! 😃

Age I’m 32.

Where are you from?

I’m from Ohio, and live with my awesome and extremely patient husband and ridiculously adorable dog. ❤My husband has been amazing, cheering me on, and my dog usually curls up over my hip when I’m writing on the couch, dangerously close to my laptop. Lol, he’s not a lap dog at all – he’s a 70lb baby that needs constant snuggles. 😊

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest news is that I’ve finally self-published my first book – Tales of Ejoma! 😃 I’m super excited, but there’s also a part of me that’s a little scared.

I think any time you put yourself out there, it’s kind of scary – but totally worth it! Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? It feels wonderful to finally be doing something with one of my stories. Lol, I’ve got many more planned after this too.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

A family member actually inspired me to write. I started when I was a kid – maybe around 10-ish – just taking sheets of white paper, folding them in half, and stapling them along the folded edge. I’d doodle pictures on all the pages to go along with what I was writing. Lol, I think the first “book” I made was inspired by Buffy the Vampire Slayer (the 1992 movie), and I made several books about this vampire hunting couple who wore blue jumpsuits for some reason and staked vampires all over the place. 😃 I also wrote some stories about witches and other supernatural things too I think. They were always romances though – people always got married in my books. Man, I kinda wish I had kept those just to look back at all these years later!           

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Lol, I probably didn’t feel like I could call myself a writer until the past couple years. I think before I thought I had to be picked up by a publisher before I could really describe myself that way – lol, I’ve struggled with confidence. I’m a lot more comfortable in my skin now, so to speak, and it feels more natural to say. 😊

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I absolutely loved the idea of creating my own world. No matter what I was writing, I always tended to write about the supernatural, magic, and romance. In reality, nothing is perfect, and life is not easy, but when I write it can be. I can make whatever I want out of it – that’s all part of the fun!

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Lol, chaos. I’m constantly flying by the seat of my pants – writing bits of the middle, or sections of the end, or getting distracted by sentences I realize would fit a different story better. So then I open that document, you know – just to put that one sentence in there for later – and get sucked into the abyss of randomly sifting through all my stories and putting in little sentences here and there.

I do make notes – I have like 20 notebooks piled around my writing space – but how closely I stick to those notes, and whether they end up in the originally intended story or not, is another question entirely. I also put together soundtracks for my stories to keep me motivated.

One thing I do with every story though is choose specific secondary characters to build up for later. If you notice any of my secondaries popping up in multiple stories, they may just end up with a novel of their own at some point. 😊 If you also happen to notice that those same characters get standalone chapters at the end of Tales of Ejoma… 😉

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Lol, hours of staring at random words I typed up. I make lists of words I think relate to the stories to inspire myself. The two most painful parts of writing for me are the title and the synopsis. I am terrible at writing both, and both take almost as long as the entire novel just to get it decided.

For this book I wanted to think up something that would relate to the stories inside it. Tales of Ejoma is a collection of 3 short stories and several standalone chapters from the same story world – Ejoma.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I wasn’t aiming to put in any kind of message, but I do hope to entertain. Like I said before, life is not always sunshine and rainbows, but I hope I can provide some entertainment and escape. I hope people enjoy reading about Ejoma as much as I did writing about it. 😊

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Hardly any of it is realistic, which is part of the chaos and fun, lol. There are some character traits that I’ve based on people I know or have met, but for the most part I love making things up. That’s part of the reason I write paranormal romance – I feel like I can go any direction I want with it. 😊

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The books that have influenced me the most are probably Sabriel by Garth Nix (first young adult fantasy novel I read), The Chalice and the Blade by Glenna McReynolds (first romance novel I read), and the books by that family member I mentioned before. I guess you could say that family member was a mentor in a way too – she originally got me interested in books and writing.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Oooo – this is tough! There are so many good ones!

A new (to me at least) author I’ve been reading is John Eldredge (Christian non-fiction). I love the way he approaches the subject of faith, and getting closer to Jesus. My favorite books by him are Wild at Heart, Captivating, and Beautiful Outlaw.

John Eldredge is a new favorite, but some of my long time favorites are Garth Nix, Christine Feehan, JK Rowling, Jayne Ann Krentz/Jayne Castle, EoinColfer, and Sherrilyn Kenyon. What really strikes me about their work is the worlds they create – the magic, adventure, and romance. Everything is so detailed! Lol, it’s easy to get lost for a few hours just reading their stories. 😊

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My amazing friends and blog readers! 😃 Everyone has been really supportive, and my fellow bloggers and blog readers have given me so much advice and support too – I feel really blessed!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely! It’s my dream to be a writer, and to be able to build on my fantasy world and create new stories.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Hmm, another tough one, lol.

I don’t think I would. I fear going down that path would only lead me into a downward spiral of self-editing until I’ve cut the soul out of the stories. I have a bad habit of that. There’s always something I want to change because I still struggle with confidence sometimes. This is my first book, and I know I’ve got a lot to learn, but I’m proud of what I’m putting out there. 😊

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Seeing my family member’s books originally got me interested. That’s about when I started stapling folded paper together to make homemade books, lol. I didn’t officially start reading her books until I got a little older. I think Sabriel came first, then her books, then The Chalice and the Blade.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure thing! 😃 Here’s an excerpt from Beyond the Gate, the first story in Tales of Ejoma:

Apocalypse averted for another day, according to the numbers at least.

Energy field normal.

Flow and transfer of power balanced.

Realm splice at zero.

Arute shift at zero.

Leakage of void energy on either side at zero.

Incidence of accidental arute jumps in the last day, zero. And in the last week. In the last month. The last year.

Ori Vikan stared at the pages spread out on the table in front of him and sighed. The faint ticking of the clock on the far wall was the only sound in the brightly lit study, and reminded him just how many hours he’d been pouring over the numbers and measurements. It was all starting to blur together. Slouching back in his chair, he scrubbed his hands over his face and rubbed at weary eyes.

By the Light, what a surprise that the barrier separating the shima and human realms was stable. The arute had always been stable aside from tiny fluctuations of less than a percent either way. It would always be stable.

Dropping his hands, he let his head rest back against the chair and closed his eyes. If it weren’t for the whole possible exploding world scenario, he would wonder why they bothered training bidkoilna anymore. He had spent most of his life analyzing it every day, though it had been thousands of years since the damn arute shifted by so much as a flicker.

Well, when I’m no longer needed as a bidkoil, at least it’s never too late to take up the family business. Selling dreams isn’t so bad.

So why, when all evidence pointed to the usual perfect balance of energy, did he feel so uneasy? And what exactly was he supposed to tell Daura when she arrived? He had called a meeting with her for what? Because the arute was too stable? It sounded crazy even to him. In his mind, he could already see the look she would give him.

He stood up slowly, a little stiff from sitting so long, and stretched. Maybe they could discuss it over a meal and catch up on old times. At least then it wouldn’t be a complete waste of time. Glancing at the reports one last time, he left the study, moving through the living room as he headed for the front door. Grabbing his cloak from a hook by the door, he hoped some air would help him clear his head while he waited.

The early evening was cooler than he expected as he stepped outside. He locked the door before turning to walk towards the arag hidden by a circle of small trees in the very back of his garden. His biggest responsibility, it was one of the weak points in the arute where accidental jumps could happen.

And yet I haven’t had to re-balance it even once in the past hundred years. He sighed again, pulling his cloak around his shoulders. Why couldn’t he just accept it as a blessing? Re-balancing was time-consuming, intricate work that could take weeks to complete at just one arag site. He knew he should be relieved. He looked at the small, seemingly innocent empty space between the trees and shook his head. As he did every day, he raised a palm towards the arag, letting his energy flare out to scan.

Daura was going to think he’d lost his mind.

Not a flicker of instability. No hint of void energy. Nothing. At one of the supposedly most unstable points.

Fantastic. He was seeing shadows where there were none.

He dropped his hand and turned away as something caught his attention just out of the corner of his eye. He froze, scowling at that space again.

No. This is lack of sleep. I did not just see that.

He waited just in case he wasn’t suffering a mental break brought on by exhaustion and paranoia. One never knew.

A lone, black speck floated between the trees. Then another a few seconds later.

It could be a bug, if living creatures didn’t naturally avoid aragna. It could be a hallucination. Or it could be an exploding vortex of death.

He extended his palm and closed his eyes to concentrate fully, scanning again. Again he was met with absolutely nothing out of the ordinary. He frowned and pushed harder, sensing the edges of the arute at that weakened point frayed like soft cloth, fluttering as if moved by the wind. If the arute itself had a relatively flat feel, the arag was like a rounded indentation that could deepen into a hole along its surface. There was a very subtle pull as energy passed between the realms, but nothing outside of the normal safe range.

He moved closer to the border of the trees and let his palm rest directly against the arag. It was a foolish, dangerous thing to do with no other bidkoilna there to assist him, but he really didn’t care. Observing from a safe distance had given him nothing, and if he wasn’t imagining the bits of void energy…

He examined the fragile threads making up the perimeter of the arag. They shifted, flowing along his energy like water against his skin. There, hidden amongst the natural strands, were very faint lines of some foreign energy he had never felt before. He wrapped his energy around one of the strange threads and tried to inspect it, amazed that it blended in so well.

Without warning, the edges of the arag tightened, drawing in on itself.

He carefully tried to withdraw his energy, but the arag wouldn’t release him. His skin tingled, his breath caught, and the tiny hairs on the back of his neck stood up.

The arag shifted, sinking beneath his hand and spiraling out across the void between the realms.

Afraid he would be dragged across the arute, he wrenched his energy away from the grasping strands pulling at him and immediately regretted it. He had used more force than he’d meant to. His eyes shot open and he tried to hurl himself away, but it was too late.

The empty space between the trees exploded right in his face.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Lol, mainly my bad habit of procrastinating and my penchant for chaos. 😊

I’m way too easily distracted by YouTube and video games, lol. I will end up surfing the web for hours when I’m supposed to be writing.

And then the chaos factor also plays a part. Lol, I’m super disorganized! I do have those notes I mentioned, but the notes for the stories are all mixed together, and may or may not end up in the original story I intended them. It’s part of the fun though, because I normally do a lot of world-building that way – compiling all these notes into something cohesive.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t, but I would love to in the future! Do they do indie author conventions? If not, this should be a thing, and I want to go!😃

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

GlendonHaddix from Streetlight Graphics:

http://www.streetlightgraphics.com/

He really did an amazing job, and I’ll definitely be asking to work with him again for future books! 😃

I also had the world’s best editor! (lol, I am super biased)

Debra Hartmann from The Pro Book Editor:

https://theprobookeditor.com/

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Sticking to a schedule. Lol, part of my chaos is procrastination and getting sidetracked. Things did not always happen in a timely fashion. I think also not over-editing was difficult at certain points, especially if I got stuck somewhere. I do have a bad habit of going back over previous chapters and getting stuck in that self-editing loop of doom, lol.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I abuse commas unforgivably, lol. I either sprinkle them everywhere like confetti, or forget they exist entirely and skip them. I also learned some very important formatting and grammar tips from my amazing editor. 😊

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Ooo – I gotta think about that one! Going with the first short story in Tales of Ejoma again, to play Ori Vikan I would probably pick someone like Jamie Dornan or Christopher Pratt. For Shauna Pierson I would probably pick someone like Emma Stone or Karen Gillan.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up, never surrender! Whatever you do, no matter how many years it takes, keep pushing! Read books about writing, get in touch with other writers, trade beta reads, and save up for a really good editor. Even when it feels impossible, keep writing!

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you enjoy Tales of Ejoma! 😃If you decide to pick it up, please leave a review and let me know what you think! I’d love to hear from you!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now I’m reading Beautiful Outlaw by John Eldredge.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Absolutely! Sabriel by Garth Nix was the first book I ever read, and it’s still a favorite to this day.

Here’s the synopsis from Amazon:

“Since childhood, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who refuse to stay dead. But now her father, the Abhorson, is missing, and Sabriel must cross into that world to find him. With Mogget, whose feline form hides a powerful, perhaps malevolent spirit, and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage, Sabriel travels deep into the Old Kingdom. There she confronts an evil that threatens much more than her life and comes face-to-face with her own hidden destiny. . . .”

I heard somewhere they may make a movie out of it, and I’m dying to see it if they do! 😃

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Lol, IlizaShlesinger and Jim Carrey type humor cracks me up. My dog also makes me laugh. As far as crying though – man, I’m a total baby. If I find it touching, I cry during commercials, movies, books, video games. Lol, I feel like I get choked up pretty easy.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I would want to meet Jackie Chan or Jet Li so I could beg them to teach me martial arts! 😃

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Something along the lines of: “Lived every day to the fullest.” I know there is probably a more poetic way to put that, lol. I guess I would want it to say something like that because I hope that I never take my time for granted, and I don’t want to have any regrets in the end.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Yes! Lol, I love to try new things, and I have a list a mile long of things I want to learn throughout my lifetime. Towards the top of my list are getting my black belt in Tomiki style Aikido (a Japanese martial art), learning contact juggling (like that scene from Labyrinth), and learning Japanese and Polish.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I watch tons of TV and movies – lol, maybe more than I should when I’m supposed to be writing or sleeping. Some of my favorites are:

TV: Blindspot, The Blacklist, Lucifer, Sense 8, Forever, Castle, Stitchers, Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead

Movies: The Illusionist, Warm Bodies, Excess Baggage, Scrooged, Beastly, Beautiful Creatures, Alien (all of them), Divergent (all of them), Penelope, Pride and Prejudice (all the adaptations I’ve seen, even the one with zombies, lol), Blood & Chocolate

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite color is purple – more towards the blue end of the spectrum than the red. In general I tend to gravitate towards darker colors.

Lol, I love all kinds of foods and music though – it’s so hard to pick one!

For food I love dark chocolate, my mom’s spaghetti, and my husband’s lasagna.

I listen to a ton of music, and I tend to lean towards rock and alternative, although I listen to a wide range.

Some of my favorites are: Linkin Park, Pop Evil, Imagine Dragons, Twenty One Pilots, Elle King

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Actually, my day job is a massage therapist – working mainly on injuries, carpal tunnel, headaches/migraines, frozen shoulder, sciatica, TMJ, etc. I think if I couldn’t be a writer, I’d still focus on that. I love being a massage therapist – lol, I’m a little biased, but I think I have the best clients ever! 😃

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes – you can find me through my blog, Facebook, and Twitter!

Blog:https://paigeaddams.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PaigeAddamsAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PaigeAddams

Please drop by and say hi! 😃

https://www.amazon.com/Tales-Ejoma-Dual-Realms-Book-ebook/dp/B06ZZ66C1C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1492088591&sr=8-1&keywords=tales+of+ejoma

