Name Dustin LaValley

Age 32

Where are you from

Albany, NY

 

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

A Shihan-Dai of Okinawan jujutsu and Seito Ryu karate, colon cancer survivor, author, screenwriter.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My hardcover sci-fi/horror comic book, BEETLES!, is available for preorder via the publisher, SST Publications. Two screenplays of mine are in production in the Dallas, TX area. A Soundless Dawn, a short story collection from Sinister Grin Press was recently released.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Boredom while in the hospital during my first college years.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I was able to pay my bills with my writing.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Learning of a local serial killer who did time in the prison where my father was an officer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Just myself.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For, A Soundless Dawn, the title came from a song by a band I enjoy listening to while writing, Red Sparowes.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Probably not all, but some stories might have a message, maybe for the readers, maybe for me, but I’m not always sure which.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Almost all the stories in A Soundless Dawn are based off my own experiences, to a degree. Plenty are from relationships.

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Snuff by Palahniuk, Permanent Midnight by Stahl, Red by Ketchum, Slam by Shiner, East Bay Grease by Williamson, Savages by Winslow… those would be the essentials.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Gabino Iglesias wrote an amazing barrio-noir novel titled Zero Saints. I believe it’s one of the best novels of the last few years. Favorite author, not sure. There are a few that switch about: Jerry Stahl, Lewis Shiner, Don Winslow.

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Sex.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s currently how I make my living.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Boredom from the books I was reading, the inspiration from the books and professors of mine in American Lit. and Social Psychology, and lots of free time in the hospital before and after surgery.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure. 

This city bleeds through the streetlights… golden memories fade and drip to the worn and weathered concrete. Florescent fluid left bubbling in the summer heat, sticking to the souls of corner-girls and John Does. –“The City that Bleeds” from A Soundless Dawn

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The writing in itself.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not at all.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publishers have brought in freelance artists, such as Daniele Serra (who also illustrated my comic BEETLES!). Matt Davis did the cover for A Soundless Dawn, I love… I’m a big fan of minimalism in art.

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Rotation of time between a forthcoming novel, the stories in A Soundless Dawn, and my work at Crixeo.com.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Nothing new, just that feeling of being complete during the writing.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Sam Rockwell.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Forget any advice you’ve been given and do your thing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

Thank you for reading.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Generation X by Douglas Coupland and A Decent Ride by Irvine Welsh.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t, no.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Mel Brooks makes me laugh, lust makes me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

My grandfathers. Never met them.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

My name would be enough for me.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I teach and train in Seito Shito Ryu and Okinawan jujutsu, other than fighting and writing I don’t do much else.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Shameless and Ray Donovan.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

White rice and bananas. Bands: sludge/groove/doom metal and hardcore such as Electric Wizard, Nothing, Drug Church, Sleep, Clutch, Pantera, Snapcase, Unsane, and ’90s hip-hop like The Pharcyde, Jurassic 5, De La Soul, and Digable Planets.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Military. But I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease at 17, and had my colon removed so I wasn’t and never will be allowed.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Only Twitter and Facebook.

@dustinlavalley

Facebook.com/dustinlavalleyauthor

Cover to BEETLES!

Link to BEETLES! preorder:

https://www.sstpublications.co.uk/Beetles.php

A Soundless Dawn on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1944044396/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=&sr=

 

