Name:  B.W. Evans

Age 65

Where are you from:  Jackson, Mississippi

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc : 

I do not talk much of my family because I like to keep that part of my life private.  I am an avid writer.  Educated at University of Alabama.  Been interested in poetry since I was a young child.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Just had published my newest book- BLACK ROSES UNDER A HARVEST MOON.  A very good book of free verse on many varied topics.  A collection of poems over a year’s time.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

At a very young age. Why- it just came, to put down my thoughts, ideas, emotions.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When Eudora Welty read and reviewed some of my works when I was 18/19 years old.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Going to lunch with a friend talking of things we like to eat and we both said french toast.  I stopped my car immediately.  The phrase french toast conjured up thoughts going in all directions at once.  Then in there I thought of a book using FRENCH TOAST  as the title and main theme of the book in a metaphorical sense.  A book that developed into 4 separate books in the FRENCH TOAST series with the same stream of consciousness going through them. Individual poems bearing their own identity yet connected by a universal them.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Constructionist free verse writer- each word stands not only on its on but is extremely important not just to itself but where it is located in the sentence, how it is connected in and to the sentence and by what punctuation (if any) to strengthen its claim to itself, the words before and after it and the meaning it delivers per itself to its sentence the next and the whole being of the stanza and work itself.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

It come s to me and then I build from there.  Newest ones are JERUSALEM’S CHILDREN that is 98% done,and WILD GEESE FLYING just started in the last month.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In my poetry books there are many themes- the independent collections stand with a major them and the individual works suggest the major but has their own at first view.  FRENCH TOAST has a universal theme in its individual works that that transcends the work itself a novel in verse of individual works of a true universal theme.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All and none.  All writing is partially if not fully of the writer.  All my books bear a theme that we all go through- in thought and emotion.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Be honest- none really.  My words come to me from a feeling at anytime, or a thought that wakes me, hearing a phrase or word or a song  or a smell that kindles a feeling or re-introduces me to a past thought or feeling.  Mentor- never really had one.  Ms. Welty was not a mentor but someone who saw in me a possibility that may come with hard endeavor and work…I am still trying.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Lately I have kept myself from influences of others for many reasons, but mostly to developed my own and experiment with my style(s) to see where it may lead.  I do like reading many people but do not dwell heavily on it for the obvious.  Their success is theirs as their style is.  I want to be my own then a mirror or a borrower.  Yes reading others now and then may lead to ideas, but now I got so many poems still in me and children books that are coming soon.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Being honest I rely on myself only.  I have to- it is me.  I have to do this on my own and Hawthorne it out till I am ready to give.  Yes, it would be fantastic and I do hope I will get reviews to carry my words and works forward.  I have to learn how to do this and have gone to friends as Deborah for advice and yes help.  But ultimately it is on me, and yes it can be overbearing.  Signing up in writing clubs and corners really do not helpo- we are all competing and that is sad, because I do not compete with anyone but myself.  If I or someone excels over another does not belittle either one of us or our own work, but from a sociological module we are not taught this.  Competition can be good as a learning tool only.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

That is my dream.  I need people to purchase, read, and review my words and put  the demand out there for them.  My works are good and each day I see growth- not just for me but I write for you and all, this is my pleasure.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

When it is over it has to be over.  Every time you go back you are not you who wrote it you have evolved and grown in many ways positive and at times negative.  Time is the ultimate treasure and we will not in our lifetime control it.  To keep going back to review and possibly change what you wrote “then” diminishes you who wrote it in a time that belong to that book of that time not of tomorrows.  Yes you can edit it to a point to enhance but to keep going back takes away for the you of then and the work.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It just began and I have always let mey hands do want they needed to.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

My now work I am finishing is a collection of works like my newest release BLACK ROSES UNDER A HARVEST MOON.  But the newest venture- JERUSALEM’S CHILDREN is a semi religious theme- not swearing loyalty to any, but bearing witness to the children there that Jerusalem has birthed.  Jerusalem is a metaphor as the mother and the name for the western world with the 3 main beliefs it carries and their relationship to the world and each other.  I give no claim to either, just what I see and the pain and richness of belief- not man’s interpretation to use it and bare themselves for it or even bear witness to an invention of man to justify their “God’, their beliefs, and themselves and their doings.  Cain and Abel still live…now on a global scale…

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I will go where I can to celebrate them and tell of them

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

On many myself on the last- BLACK ROSES, my idea with graphic artist Susan Joyner taking my idea and vision and putting it to as close to my thoughts as it could be without it being a photograph (which I did not want).  I wanted a graphic construct that captured the ideas in a more experimental creative approach then a camera’s eye.  She did it justice and beautifully.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Letting go

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? 

This is where I need to be, and should be

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

I really cannot say established actors may not be the answer where new blood or not as well known may do more justice.  Be great to have that burden on me…  Ha ha.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you know about.  Practice, Practice, Practice.  Experiment, Experiment, Experiment.  Look for advice and take it and work with it, read others but develop yourself beyond your limits, don’t write in the obvious of your genre and style- develop and grow with your endeavor and let it happen if it is to happen,  and most important- trust in yourself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

You will enjoy my words, give them a chance and as your read them let yourself go to thought and fantasy- think and feel the words and works.  Let them carry you to your times that may have been similar in life or though or feeling or all the above and re-experience.  My words will carry you, this I assure you.  You will remember your times, be carried away in thought and memories, feelings of glee, hope, laughter and smiles, and yes also if tears.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Different young children’s illustrated books for construction.  I have my books ready to put down, now I am looking mainly to the art work because I believe for the genre I am doing the illustrations have to be precise and just important and possibly at times more so to convey what the words want to give

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

no

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A thought a memory of dearing emotion, so much and at time so little

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

A truly simple and honest person that believes in him/herself’s strengths and knows their own fruits and will not cow down or make excuses for them

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? 

I am a good man that wanted to give and only has his name to prove who and what he was

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

working with others exercising as much as I can, remaining healthy in mind and heart

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Non-reality shows (crap), well written comedy, and mysteries and science fiction

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods- fish, chicken meat.  Assorted fruits and vegtables to much to go into.  Colors- yellow, black, orange, grays, tans, green, red, bright white.  Music- ah, truly to be able to give that way in voice and through instrument.  All kinds that honestly projects truth in beauty and experimentation and adventure to explore- esp of the thrites, forties, fifties, sixties, and some fo the later years of the seventies and eighties.  Music developed as technology grew and loss much of its tone, cohesiveness, its soul

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Very hard question- so much maybe stay in the sciences to learn all I could of what may be important, yet I found that also in the humanities where I looked at man’s arts to see the true and inner person.  Time traveller- so I could have all the time to learn and learn and digest

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Re-doing my my website,  Relying on my author’s page where you can many of my works for your pleasure- www.facebook.com/bwevanswriterpoet

https://www.amazon.com/B.W.-Evans/e/B01BIARSMS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1492068835&sr=1-2-ent

