Name : Tina McKeon
Age: 42
Where are you from: Metuchen, New Jersey ( a small town no one has heard of lol)

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
I am currently working on my sixth e-book that has yet to be titled. It will be a compilation or short poems.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
Ah, that could be a book in itself. I physically happen upon writing during a fourth grade, English assignment. Write a four – line poem that describes you. Until that point, I was a victim of school bullying, suffering in silence. When I read the words that poured out of me, I realized I found my voice to combat my external troubles and inner turmoil. Writing became my healing mechanism.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
Probably not until high school when I realized all the poems I had written since 4th grade.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
Many people told me I could never succeed as a writer. While it was all I wanted to do- and talked about doing- fear and self- doubt held me back. I finally decided I wanted to silence all those negative, non- supportive people, while proving to myself my writing was worth publishing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
I have a passion for the writing style of the Romantic Era, of Emily Dickinson. Modern poetry doesn’t elicit the same yen for me. I try to emulate the old style, while putting my own soulful spin into my poetry. Rhyming poetry tends to work nicely for me. I also like writing haiku poems.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
For my latest book, To Love, Circumstances & Consequences, I wanted to keep it simple and direct. There are many underlying directions and topics that are explored through the journey of one woman.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
To appreciate the relationship that you are in. To realize that every action has a reaction. That when you choose to engage in improper behavior, the loss outweighs the gain.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
While the book is about a woman’s adulterous journey, it doesn’t reflect my personal life. In my mind, I played a role and put myself in that person’s shoes. How would I act? What would I feel?

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?
Anything Emily Dickinson, for sure. The book Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer is my all-time favorite book for its visual expression, soulful journey, and just beautiful storytelling.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I try to read a lot from various indie authors being that I can relate. There isn’t any one author that currently stands out in my eyes.

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Online writing/reading groups helped spread the word about me and my books. They also gave me suggestions on ways to better my works.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
While I’m currently doing so on a freelance basis, I hope to make it a career.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
No

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
As I previously stated, the spark was ignited during my school days. I realized it was the only tool I possessed to express myself, while coming to terms with the unjust in my life. When I was having a bad time and had no one who listened, I vented on paper.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
For my latest book, my goal is to relay how we, as people, resemble and relate to tangible objects or natural occurrences in our society.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Using proper grammar, punctuation and sentence structure. While I can create imagery, enact dialogue, and have an expansed vocabulary, the basic mechanics are my downfall.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
Not presently, but I’mnot against doing so in the future.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
Due to financial constraints, I design them using various computer program.

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
For any of my books, it’s creating longevity. My books are less than 100 pages.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I’d say each was a life stepping stone. With each book, I became more open and stepped out of my comfort zone. I didn’t allow myself to not write a piece, for fear of how certain readers would interpret it.

 

 
Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?
Well, my books are primarily poetry, not fiction or non-fiction. If somehow it could happen I’d like Ryan Gosling, Rachel McAdams, John Travolta, Emma Stone.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Never allow anyone, especially yourself, to doubt your writing ability or goals. Write from your head, but also pay close attention to your heart, your soul. Be authentic! Stay true to yourself and your words. Don’t break under others criticism. Always believe!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
While I know poetry is not a readers first choice, it’s a genre worth exploring. It is such a beautiful, soulful, honest expressive literature. It possesses the ability to inspire, heal, and comfort those willing to give it a chance. To open your mind and heart and read poetry is a life journey worth traveling.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?
While I have always been a romance or poetry book junkie, I’ve gotten into biographies. I am currently reading The Real James Dean by Peter L. Winkler

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
I wish I did, but no.

 

 
Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
Being a sarcastic person, I’d say someone that can dish it right back at me. As for crying, I’d have to say losing a loved one ( which I’ve lost many), death or funeral scenes on television or in movies. The funeral scene in Steel Magnolias still gets me everytime.

 

 
Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?
Without a second’s hesitation, I’d say Emily Dickinson. She has always been my poetic inspiration and obsession. I personally identify with her through her writing. While it may sound crazy, I sometimes believe I am Emily reincarnated. There is a soulful connection I can’t explain.

 

 
Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?
Hmm…I’ve never thought about that. Maybe something to the effect of, “She was blunt and honest. Creative and soulful. Reveled in simplicity.”

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
I love to do anything where I am creating. I enjoy baking and arts & crafts. To relax, I like to indulge in a good book.

 

 
Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
I have eclectic taste. I’m not ashamed to admit I still watch re-runs of The Golden Girls everyday. I love The Big Bang Theory, Dateline, food and home makeover shows. As for movies, Grease is my all-time favorite. The Breakfast Club and  The Notebook are also part of my DVD collection. I’m a sap for movies on The Hallmark Channel.

 

 
Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?
I’m a junk food/ sweet kind of gal. Anything chocolate and Doritos are my best friend. I do love chicken, Italian, and Chinese food. I’m not much into listening to music these days. But when I do, it’s 80’s or Soft Rock.

 

 
Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
While I have many interests, I always come back to writing. Teaching would be a possibility.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? My author page can be found at www.facebook.com/twriter4.  My books are available on Amazon at https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=tina+mckeon.  I also have a small online store at www.zazzle.com/topebbles

