Name: Lily G Blunt

Age: 54

Where are you from?  Northampton, UK

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’ve been working on a paranormal story since last August. I have about four chapters to go before the first draft will be finished. It’s currently called Love Times Five because it’s a polyamorous story involving five guys.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing Twilight fanfiction just under seven years ago. I had a sudden inspiration for a story one night and decided to write it down.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I suppose when my first story was accepted by a publisher, although I still think I’m learning all the time.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I can’t remember where my inspiration came from for my first self-published book. (Happy Anniversary, Jasper) The main idea just suddenly came to me one day and I worked out an outline of the short story from there.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It’s a line out of the story. (Happy Anniversary, Jasper)

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In Let Your Heart Decide my main message is that love is love.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

I’ve read many m/m stories over the past six years or so and I’m sure each of them has contributed in some way to my own writing style. I notice aspects I like and don’t like about plot, characters, writing techniques etc.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have many favourite authors: Kim Fielding, Josh Lanyon, Eli Easton, Jay Northcote, Jamie Fessenden, Lane Hayes, Mary Calmes, Cardeno C to name but a few. I like their writing styles, the romance portrayed, and the way they pull me into their stories.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I was a teacher for twenty-five years. I don’t see writing as a way of making money. I do it because I enjoy it.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would write in third person rather than first person as that is my preferred reading style now.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I taught English to nine to ten year olds and would often write a few pieces as examples for my pupils.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m currently working on a paranormal story involving a vampire and a shifter. It’s about five guys finding each other and falling in love.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My main issue is with my concentration. I can only write for short periods at a time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. If I need to research I do it online or use my previous knowledge of a place.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve used three different cover designers. Kellie Dennis for Paint the Sky, Jay Aheer for Finding Love, and Garret Leigh for Let Your Heart Decide. I designed my early covers and my publishers designed the others.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The time and dedication it takes to plan and write any novel over a sustained period of about a year. You just have to persevere, adding a few paragraphs or pages each day until it’s done. Even then, the editing and polishing are hard work.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you like and not what you expect other people to like.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Imagines by N.R. Walker

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No. The Secret Room by Enid Blyton was one of my early favourites.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a dry and also a childish sense of humour. Silly and unusual things make me laugh.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’ve always wanted to meet Jesus and know if he really existed as he is portrayed in the New Testament.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I told you I was ill. (See my sense of humour is weird!)

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Hiking, swimming, gardening, visiting places of historic interest.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I watch series on Netflix (mostly murder/mystery or historical) e.g. Spartacus, Line of Duty, Dexter, The Crown, Prison Break. I also enjoy watching gay-themed movies. Shelter, Big Eden, Boy Culture, Lazy Eye to name but a few.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Roast chicken dinner, Blue, Easy-listening popular ballads

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I wish I’d started writing earlier instead of being a teacher.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://lilygblunt.wordpress.com/

Amazon | Amazon UK Blog | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

Here’s my Amazon page link  https://www.amazon.com/Lily-G.-Blunt/e/B009UPLVHC

