Name Didi Oviatt

https://www.amazon.com/Didi-Oviatt/e/B00HVJJTLE

 

Age 31 years young

 

Where are you from?

I’m a small town little country cutie… Haha, JK… Kind of 😉

I’m actually very blessed to have been raised in the area I was, and I’m now bringing up my own children in the same environment.  I grew up in a fairly small town in Utah (U.S.A.). I spent the majority of my time enjoying the open freedom of dirt roads, fresh air, stunning night skies for stargazing, and I’m proud to say I can light my own campfire, my favorite drink is beer, and I can even bait my own fishing pole.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Writing wise: I’m working on something EPIC. I honestly think I’m more excited about my WIP than I have been any of my previous stories. It’s a mystery novel titled Search For Maylee, and I can’t stinking wait!!

My latest personal news: I recently signed my son up for his first year of T-ball, and a music class!  It’s also very exciting. As you can imagine, my little household has been very full of sing-songy baseball joy!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My story isn’t your typical ‘I always knew I’d be a writer because I love so badly to read’ tale.  It’s actually quite the opposite. My husband and I went through a difficult patch in life while we were trying to have children. Writing became my process, my way to escape reality in a sense. It helped me to clear my head and focus on something other than medical issues. I wrote a blog post about it a while back, here is a link:

https://didioviatt.wordpress.com/2017/01/17/transformingpersonaltraumaanddevastationintodriveandasheerwilltosucceed/

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It wasn’t until after I had published my third novel that I really considered myself a writer. Yes, I had been writing for years before that, but I wasn’t as confident in myself and in my work until after Aggravated Momentum was released.  I think that’s when I really FELT like a writer. With every part of me, I knew through and through that I was in the right place, doing exactly what I was meant to be doing. I love to write. So much so that I even dream about it… Literally!


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’d always toyed with the idea of writing a book, but it wasn’t until a close friend of mine encouraged me as she was writing one of her own.  I went into the whole writing adventure with the attitude of, “If she can do it I can.”  But then, soon enough, curiosity turned to habit, and habit turned to obsession…  Now, here we are 🙂


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Suspense. It’s kind of funny because I actually prefer to read romance, but when it comes to writing I crave suspenseful plot points and quick paced scenes. It helps me to stay excited and keep my head in the game.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

To be completely honest, titles and character names are two of my least favorite factors in writing. With my latest novel Aggravated Momentum, I must have changed my mind on the name more than a dozen times. It wasn’t until I conducted a pole between some friends, family, and a couple beta readers that I finally settled.   


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Even those closest to you are not always what they seem. When it comes to a sociopath, nothing is sacred and no one is safe.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All of Aggravated Momentum is eerily realistic. Quite a few of reviews have reflected on the realistic aspect, and the feel of relatability to the characters. As far as based on actual people or events, I’m happy to say there isn’t even a pinch of real life reflection on it… Thank the Lord too, because wow that would be hard to live through, literally.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I love self help books.  I’m well rounded and like to read a variety. Seems there’s always a hidden gem, even in subjects that are usually avoided.  When it comes to influential reads, I would have to say The Secret is at the tippy top of my list!  It’s a great book, a great movie, and the way the law of attraction is explained is, in my opinion, perfect!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest, and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are several new authors that I’ve been reading their work. I try and support Indi’s constantly by reading at least a couple novels a month that was written by an independent author. There have been several lately that I’ve absolutely loved. I’ve  been completely blown away that some of the Authors I’ve followed are in fact Indi. Here are just a couple, along with links to their Amazon Pages:

Felicia Denise https://www.amazon.com/FeliciaDenise/e/B01M03R54B/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Lorraine McLeod

https://www.amazon.com/LorraineMcLeod/e/B007FGIJMI/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Ashleigh Reynolds

https://www.amazon.com/AshleighReynolds/e/B01BJMC88O/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

My favorite Author overall is hands down, bar none Colleen Hoover!!! She is a POWERHOUSE writer!  I absolutely love her work. She’s also a pillar of the community, a giver!  I’m proud to be a Cohort (for those fellow Cohort-ers like myself who are actually reading this, you are f**king awesome!) If you are not familiar with Colleen’s work then check out her amazing website, and don’t skip out on the information about The Bookworm Box!!  This woman truly is phenomenal! http://www.colleenhoover.com/

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Oh man, this is a tough one! Way to go with the goocher questions, Fiona 😉 .. I have an outstanding circle of friends. They’ve encouraged, done beta reads, and helped me to advertise. If I have to pin down one in particular, then I’ll give it to a circumstance rather than a single person. The very first order I placed of business style cards, as book advertisements, I asked casually on FaceBook if any of my friends who lived out of my own area would be willing to help me spread them around in different states… Within one month I had over twenty friends volunteer to help, and my cards were distributed in over thirty states! I’ve even had them spread out in several airplanes and a couple vacation resorts in Mexico too.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

YES! absolutely, it’s my dream, and I work to get to that point every single day!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would possibly add an epilogue to Aggravated Momentum. I’ve actually had a few requests, and am still considering it.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was in fifth grade I won an essay competition and had to read my paper to the entire elementary at an assembly!! Turns out I was completely terrified, and ended up with a very serious case of stage fright.  SO, my teacher read my paper in my place. I was very young, but I remember it perfectly. Hearing my own work read aloud was amazing. It was almost surreal, and seemed to belong to someone else entirely.  I was mesmerized… By sixth grade, my young mind moved on to other things, and I didn’t pick it back up until my mid-twenties…. Looking back now though, I’m positive that’s when and how the interest began.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The title is Search For Maylee, and here is the short description:

Since Maylee was abducted from her high school the very month of graduation, her Aunt Autumn has never lost hope in finding her.  It’s been three years. Autumn has finally reached inside herself and found the courage to track down an old lead. She moves across the country to find him. Will Autumn be able to pry Maylee’s case back open? More importantly, what will Autumn uncover in the process of searching for Maylee?  It’s a cold dark world we live in, and she is about to find out just how cruel it can be. Strength and determination are on Autumn’s side and she will do whatever it takes to either bring Maylee home, or to deliver the justice she deserves. 

 

 Also, here are a couple of links to teasers that I’ve shared in my blog:

https://didioviatt.wordpress.com/2017/03/27/sneakpeaksearchformayleecomingsoonfall-2017/

 

https://didioviatt.wordpress.com/2016/11/27/upcomingmysterysneakpeaksearchformayleecominginthespringof-2017/

 

https://didioviatt.wordpress.com/2017/03/22/2017swritingprogress/

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Absolutely!  Never stop and never give up.  Make sure to read during and between projects, and take your constructive criticism with a grain of salt. Also, learn from your mistakes rather than dwelling on them.

Here are a couple of links that might help:

https://didioviatt.wordpress.com/2017/03/15/top-5-waystobuildyourwritingstamina/

https://didioviatt.wordpress.com/2017/01/30/alteredperception/

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://didioviatt.wordpress.com/

amazon.com/author/didioviatt

 

You can also follow me on social media:

https://www.instagram.com/didioviatt/

https://www.facebook.com/didioviatt

https://twitter.com/Didi_Oviatt

 

Thanks for taking this time with me Fiona!!!

