Name Abbey MacMunn

Age 47

Where are you from

I live in Hampshire, UK, with my husband and our four kids. I trained as a hairdresser before going freelance and I also ran a girls’ pamper party business. I started writing seriously a few years ago and I’m a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association. I write paranormal/fantasy romance.

My debut fantasy romance, TOUCHED, is available in all ebook formats and published by Tirgearr Publishing: Click this link to read a snippet and see reviews: http://bit.ly/1W26opd

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 I have just signed a second contract with Tirgearr Publishing for an erotic romance novella for their City Nights series – a sideline from my usual paranormal romance genre.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Five years ago, I started writing because I wanted to challenge myself.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Four years ago, when I came runner up in a science fiction short story competition.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I write what I like to read – lighthearted and fun reads, and romance from sweet to steamy. I mainly enjoy chick lit and paranormal romance and my style is a combination of the two.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

‘Touched’ went through several titles including ‘Her Hybrid Curse’ until I finally settled on the title.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 The setting, south east Devon, is realistic as it’s somewhere I have been on holiday, and I usually pop in few quirky things that have happened to me to make my characters more real, but the rest is pure imagination.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 Rae Rivers ‘The Keepers’ series influenced me the most. As soon as I started reading them, I knew I wanted to write like that.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 I joined the wonderful Romantic Novelists’ Association. The support and encouragement has been amazing, and I’ve made some good friends too.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’d love writing to be my career, but it doesn’t pay the bills yet.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I wouldn’t change a thing.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’d always been an avid reader, and even tried to write a book in my early twenties. I gave up shortly after, thinking this writing lark was far too difficult! I put it to one side, travelled the world then raised my family, but when I found myself with some spare time with the kids all at school, I took up writing again.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 I’m working on the sequel to Touched, and finishing the edits on a sci-fi romance I hope to start submitting soon.

Here’s the prologue to the sequel to Touched – I haven’t decided on a title yet.

 

She wanted to run.

Or fly, crawl or even slither—Kira Angelis didn’t care what animal she morphed into; anything to get the hell out of there. So why was her backside fused to the car seat like superglue?

“What’s up, babe?”

She tugged her jumper over her head. What’s up? The nerve of the guy. She’d just had the best sex in her entire life, that’s what was up. She glared at Daniel sitting naked beside her—insanely good-looking, a body chiselled to perfection and an easy-going smile that was not helping the situation one iota. And she was not his ‘babe’.

She fixed her attention outside the Range Rover, on the country road layby where they’d pulled over, unable to contain their lust a moment longer. “Nothing. We have to get back to Joseph and Cami.” She freed her long hair from her jumper and combed her fingers through the waves.

“Judging by how loved-up they were when we left, I doubt very much if my brother and my ward will notice if we’re there or not.” Daniel raised his hand, took a strand of her hair and twisted a curl around his finger. “Did you have to put the jumper back on so soon? Surely you can’t be shy after what we did?”

Kira flinched at his touch—a touch that ignited her desire for him as vehemently as it had the first time, but also left her with a terrifying, unfamiliar longing she was not willing to confront. Ignoring his question, she reached for the door handle. “Put your clothes on, Daniel.”

Shy was one word she would never use to describe herself. Shape-shifting into any animal whenever she chose had long since annulled any self-confidence issues with her body. She’d lost count of the number of times she’d had to walk around butt naked after morphing, in search of a washing line full of clothes or some other place where she could steal a few clothes.

Daniel grabbed her wrist, forced her to look at him. “Not until you tell me what’s wrong.”

Cornflower-blue eyes stared back at her, intense, confused… and hurt. Oh crap, not hurt. She couldn’t handle hurt. Better stop this—whatever this is—before it starts.

“Look, we had sex, no big deal. It was good. The end.”

“Good? Is that all? You could give a guy a complex with a remark like that.” Daniel flashed a drop-dead gorgeous smile that made her tummy flip.

“Okay, it was great. Best sex I’ve had in almost three years.”

“Ouch. Now you’re really giving me confidence issues.”

“Can I help it if that bastard Aric Thorne hexed my shifter abilities? It’s not like I asked to be stuck as a mangy-looking cat for all that time.” She smoothed her hands over her body. “It’s just great to be human again, that’s all. And I have needs.”

Daniel offered a lopsided grin as he waggled an eyebrow. “Happy to oblige, babe, any time you’d like.”

She glared. “Let’s get one thing straight. I’m not your babe, never will be. We agreed no strings, remember?”

***


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The editing.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 No, I base a lot of my stories on places I’ve travelled to in the past.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?
The amazingly talented Cora Graphics.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 The hardest part of writing this book was the fight scene. I used Rayne Hall’s ‘Writing Fight Scenes’ which helped me a lot.


Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

 I’d choose either Reece Witherspoon or Cameron Dias to play Cami Wilson.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t ever give up on your dream, but get as many critiques as you can, and I don’t mean your mum’s or your best friend’s because they might not be entirely honest with you. Get professional critiques if you can afford it, or join writers’ critique groups, then take on board their advice and learn from it.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

  I’d like to thank everyone for reading Touched and I’m hoping to get the next in the series out as soon as I can.

Fiona: What book are you reading now? I’m reading ‘A Vampire’s Tale’ by Maya Tyler, one of my fellow paranormal romance writers from Tirgearr Publishing. I’m hooked!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 I was addicted to Enid Blyton’s Famous Five series when I was a kid.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at weird things, so my family tell me! I cried when my eldest daughter decided she didn’t want to go to prom – I was so looking forward to seeing her in a beautiful gown.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

 I have no idea, I’ve never thought about it.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I used to paint and sew but don’t have the time these days, but I love watching movies and TV shows.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favourites are Game of Thrones, Vampire Diaries, (sadly ended) The Originals, Supernatural, Stranger Things, and all the Marvel superhero movies.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

Chocolate, purple, and The Weekend.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 My day job is a hairdresser but I would have liked to get into special effects make-up.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, I do. I run an Author Interview/ New Release/ Book Spotlight feature every Saturday, as well as random posts about my writing, cooking disasters, aliens, immortals or whatever else pops into my weird imagination! Check it out here: http://www.abbeymacmunn.com

 

And here’s my contact links:

Tirgearr Publishing

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

Goodreads

And my Amazon US page:

http://www.amazon.com/author/abbeymacmunn

 

Buy links are as follows:

Amazon.com

Amazon UK

Smashwords

Apple

Kobo

Nook

