Name: Suzanna Lynn

Age: 35

Where are you from: Southwest Missouri in the United States

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc:  

I’ve spent most of my life in Missouri. After high school I did a little traveling out west. Lived in California, Texas and Colorado for a time, but Missouri kept pulling me to come home. I’m a happily married mother of three. Before taking on the role of mother, I actually went to college and got my legal degree. I worked in law firms for years before deciding to dedicate myself to my children and writing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My cup runnith over! 2017 feels like the prepping stage for what 2018 will bring. Currently, I’m working on three different novels, while also creating a coloring book for my first series. Additionally, I’m planning two author workbooks that will help both new and established authors. One is on the plotting process, while the other deals with tax deductions and keeping your records in order.

Then, when 2018 hits, I’m scheduled to attend four different book conferences. And I may be adding a few more to that list!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I actually began writing at a young age. When I was only thirteen I had two poems published! Then, when I was fifteen, I started a fan fiction about the Backstreet Boys. Oh yea, I was obsessed. One hundred and eleven chapters obsessed!

Over the years, I wrote short stories and had incomplete works. But I had never dreamed that self-publishing was a thing. It wasn’t until 2013 that I even knew the indie author scene existed (I was even more surprised to find that some books I loved were self-published).

It was that bit of knowledge that set the spark aflame. When I realized the dream was attainable (with hard work of course), I knew I wouldn’t let anything stop me.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It’s funny, because a lot of people will ask this question, but I’m never really sure how to answer it. To me, there were two stages.

I felt I was a writer the moment I decided to complete my first book. I didn’t consider myself an author until I hit ‘publish’ and even then, it took me feeling the paperback copy of the book in my hands to really sink in.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My answer to this question always makes me feel a bit silly. I actually had a dream!  Chapter four of my first book “The Bed Wife” to be exact (it’s super sexy, you should totally read it).

Anyway, when I woke up the following morning, I actually said out loud “That would make a great book!” I sat down and started writing. Three days later, the book was nearly complete!


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

With my books, I do a bit of plotting in the beginning, and then add a lot of stuff later that I didn’t think of. I have a general idea for the book, but then go through and write what I want to happen in each chapter so I can get an idea of how it will flow.

I also make a detailed list of each character’s traits, so I don’t have to go back through and remember what I put.

It’s actually this system that I’m making into an author workbook that will be out soon.


Fiona: How do you come up with the title?

All my books’ titles reflect the story in some way. The Bed Wife Chronicles has “The Bed Wife” “The Heir” and “The Queen.” It’s the direction the story is going, but not necessarily how the reader thinks.

For The Untold Stories, which is a fairytale retelling series, each title gives readers a hint as to who is in the story. “Hook’s Little Mermaid” is pretty self-explanatory. However, “Red’s Tangled Tale” hints at a character that actually comes quite later in the story.

Usually a title will come to me early on in the process.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novels that you want readers to grasp?

I try to make my female leads tougher than your average girl. Additionally, I allow the men to have sensitivity. I really like to write fantasy, so there is always a conflict between good and evil.

They all have a ‘moral compass’ type situation that makes the characters choose between what is easy, and what is right.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Honestly, I write to escape reality, so usually most of it is just based on what my brain makes up. Additionally, with fantasy, I can make anything come true, because there are far less rules on what is believable.

I suppose is someone made me mad, I might write them into a monster or villain though.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

It’s funny, when I was young I liked to read stories about horses. I loved Misty and Sea Star and all those beloved books.

As a teen, I didn’t read. I wrote poetry and songs, and my fan fiction, but I didn’t read.

Believe it or not, it was actually Harry Potter that got me reading again! And now I love reading. I read every night before bed.

I wouldn’t say there is one that influenced my life. But I think falling back in love with reading definitely changed my life.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Oh my gosh, this is so hard. After entering the self-publishing world, I had to opportunity to meet so many amazing authors and learn about their books. Hollie Westring, Casey L Bond, Chanda Hahn, Brenda Pandos… that’s just a few. Really, the list is endless.

I will say that the more magic and fantasy a book has, the more it gets my interest.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Oh my gosh, this is hard, because family were the first, you know? I have the best family in the world.

Well, if I were to say one person, it would be my friend Nancy. She was my very first reader outside of family.

We actually met through the writing community, and our friendship grew quickly. Now we attend book conferences together and she even comes and stays for Christmas each year!


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. When something takes up this much brain space, you have to see it as your career. Now, if you’re asking if it’s a great paying career… that differs month to month!

But, I love it. I love creating new worlds, new ideas and characters. It is definitely what I plan to do with my life.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would have written it sooner.

My mother-in-law was my biggest fan and The Untold Stories was a series she was looking forward to the most. However, she passed away a few months before I was able to get the first book in the series finished.

It tears me up inside. Many of the ideas for the series came from her and I sitting together and talking. Most people assumed I was her daughter, not daughter-in-law, because we were so close.  Working on the series is bittersweet because it reminds me of her.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It started with poetry and song writing. I loved singing, still do, and I would try to write love songs as a kid.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I have three currently in the works! I guess I can tell you a little about the one that is nearly done. It is going to be called “Queen of His Heart” and no, it is not a wonderland tale.

It is actually the first non-fantasy book I have written.

It’s about a very screwed up criminal romance. Think Natural Born Killers… Bonnie and Clyde… Harley Quinn and the Joker!

It is about a police officer named Samantha who goes undercover to try to get intel on a gang. However, during the process she gets more than what she bargained for and ends up falling for the bad guy. The problem is, the more she struggles with the two sides of her (the cop and the bad girl) the more insane she becomes.

It’s super sexy, definitely the sexiest thing I’ve ever written. It has violence like gang shootings, and cursing. It’s definitely outside of my usual writing box, but that’s why I’m loving it.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I write slow. Not that I type slow, but I just write slow. I read slow too, so they go hand in hand I guess.

Also, as a mother of three kids, two dogs, four cats and four ducks (yes, ducks), my time is stretched thin. And I can’t just sit down and write. I have to have creative juices and caffeine flowing.

I wish I could rent a hotel room for a week and lock myself inside to write. But that probably would get a bit costly.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

For the development of my books, I don’t have to travel. However, I do go to book conferences when I get the chance. I’m planning the most I’ve ever attended in 2018. You can see a full schedule on my website: www.suzannalynn.com


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did! Besides writing, I also work in graphic design creating book covers for authors. My husband and I founded it. It’s called Funky Book Designs. I really love bringing author’s stories to life.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Details! I know how I want the story to go, and I know how I want it to end, but it’s those little details, the stops along the way that make it a true story. I’m constantly having to remind myself to make little conflicts along the way that lend to the story but also lengthen it.

It’s like in Lord of the Rings. I’m always making fun saying “Why couldn’t Gandalf just call the Eagles and have them deliver Frodo to the mountain so he could toss the ring in? Would it be easier?” Of course, my husband has to remind me, “Yes, but it would be a far shorter and boring story.”


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned how to be better at outlining and plotting. My first book came from a dream and was kind of written by the seat of my pants. However, after that, I realized I needed to decide where the rest of the story was going to go.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I think Emilia Clark would definitely make a great Luana for “The Bed Wife Chronicles.” And maybe Travis Fimmel for Baylin, though he’d need to be able to have dark hair and be six feet tall!


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write. Do it. Everyday. Even if it’s a sentence. Even if it’s an idea. Write it. You can always edit, add or erase later. But you can’t do it if you don’t write it.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I am just so thankful for them. There is seriously nothing greater than when a fan tags me in a post on social media about how they enjoyed my book. Or when they run up to me at a book signing just to say hi. It seriously is the most amazing feeling. I never want it to go away.

Thank you to all of you who love what I write. It means everything to me.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Honestly, I don’t.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything and everything. I’m an emotional rollercoaster.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet Jared Leto. He’s very creative in so many venues. Plus, let’s face it, he’s hot.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“She flies without wings” It actually has to do with riding horses. Horses give us the ability to fly without wings. It’s just something kind of personal to me.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I am an artist too, so I love to draw and paint. I scrapbook – have to have a way to save all those photos of the kids. I like to go horseback riding when I can.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I was actually a bit sheltered as a kid. So I didn’t get to watch what other kids my age watched. I’m currently binge watching ‘Charmed’ and I love it! I’m just searching for 90’s shows that I didn’t get to enjoy.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love love LOVE sushi. Anything paste and also, anything chocolate. Just not all together… ew!

My favorite color is purple. Though I like teal too.

Music, I’m eclectic. I can listen to Bach, Marilyn Manson, Kenny Chesney and Katy Perry all in the same day!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Before I was an author, I actually ran an online bridal business. I handmade bridal jewelry, veils, etc. I guess I would still be doing that.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Author Suzanna Lynn

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorSuzannaLynn

 

http://www.suzannalynn.com

  My book links are my website here:

http://www.suzannalynn.com/books.html

 https://www.amazon.com/Suzanna-Lynn/e/B00KHRW98M/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

 

 

