Name  Cris Pasqueralle

Age 50

Where are you from  Long Island NY

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am a retired NYC Police Officer and I live on Long Island with my wife and two daughters. I attended SUNY Old Westbury College and Hicksville High School, which also produced Lorraine Bracco and Billy Joel.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Currently I have a fantasy trilogy out titled The Destiny Trilogy and I have a standalone coming of age, Christian story coming in June, cover reveal coming soon.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing my whole life, but became serious about it after I retired from the Police Department.  My daughters are both big Harry Potter fans and they encouraged me to write a story about wizards that grew into The Destiny Trilogy.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

From the second I put pen to paper as a teen.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I mentioned above, my daughter’s are fans of Harry Potter and when that series concluded they never really found the next thing to capture their imaginations and my oldest and I came up with the odea for The Destiny Trilogy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I wouldn’t say I have a specific style or do I stick to a specific genre. I just write the way I want to hear a story and the story I want to tell.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Destiny trilogy centers around twins discovering who they are, or finding their destiny, so the first was Destiny Revealed, and then Paths of Destiny, and Quest for Destiny just followed naturally.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The importance of family. In my story the family is in tact, Mom and Dad are a part of their children’s lives because I think too many middle grade and YA stories tend to ignore the influence a parents has on their children by killing them off. To me, it’s very important for kids to understand that it is possible to grow and become your own person with the guiding hand of your parents.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well, it is a fantasy novel so not much realism in casting spells, but there is some very real brother and sister interaction that I experienced growing up with my own siblings and raising two girls.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I wouldn’t say I have a mentor, because I don’t consciously try to write like anyone but myself, but books I love are The Godfather, Harry Potter, anything by Nelson Demille, and, more recently, The Game of Thrones books.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I really enjoy classic literature but I do like George RR Martin, Nelson Demille, and the mysteries written by Donna L. Walo-Clancy

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My publisher Cosby Media Productions. They pretty much let me choose the direction of my work and allow me to write what I want.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I hope it becomes one, but, currently, I do have to supplement my income.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I really enjoy the direction it took and the story the characters allowed me to tell.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was 12 I read Salem’s Lot by Stephen King and I thought, I’d like to write a book.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Currently I am working on a paranormal detective story that has a 12 year old psychic as its main character. A girl in his school goes missing and he helps his Uncle, a police detective, to find her.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time to do it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not as of yet, but I am not opposed to an international book tour.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher took care of all of that.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Again, finding the time, and also keeping track of the characters through three stories.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

When writing for a younger audience its important to not talk down to them, not preach to them.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead  

My leads are teens so I think I would like to see an unknown get a shot, but there is a part that I think Danny DeVito would be great for.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write, read, and, repeat.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Tell everyone about my books, and, most importantly, thank you for your support.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Book four of A Song of Ice and Fire; A Feast for Crows.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first adult novel was Salem’s Lot

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children, they are simply amazing.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Jesus Christ, just to hear His words, first hand.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

In God’s Care.  Because that’s where I’ve spent my life and I want those who visit to be reminded of that.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like movies, and spending time with my family.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything history related. My current favorite is Vikings

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Any kind of chicken, favorite color is blue, and I like classic rock, and the oldies.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A little bit of everything.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Not currently, but I can be found on facebook at www.facebook.com/authorcrispasqueralle

Amazon Authors pages https://www.amazon.com/Cris-Pasqueralle/e/B00I51C0IQ/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1491745253&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Cris-Pasqueralle/e/B00I51C0IQ/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1491745335&sr=1-2-ent

