Name    Angela Johnson but I write under AM Johnson      

Age   52 but let’s face it age is a mind game!

Where are you from    The most perfect spot on the face of the planet, I was born and still live in the glorious Derwent Valley, in Tasmania Australia. It is a stunning place to live

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Education wise, I finished high school but have done some vocational training over the years, I’ve studied, history and religion simply because they fascinate me. I am a trained Barista; I love making a great cup of coffee for my customers. I have been with my soul mate for 35 years, married for 21 years. We have no children but have a fur baby called Maxx who is a 6 yr old Jack Russell Terrier and a feather baby, Tooka a 59 yr old Sulphur Crested cockatoo.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news? 

MY latest news is so exciting for me!! I’m getting close to releasing my 3rd book, it is called Jiana’s Curse and is book 2 in the Azore’s Quest series (an erotic fantasy). I am excited about this one as it shattered me writing it. As well as that I am also starting a self-publishing course. I love learning new skill sets. Once I have completed it, I will be able to help myself and others more when it comes to formatting and publishing books.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I don’t think there has ever been a time when I haven’t written. I have always loved words and how they were used. English and composition were my favourite subjects in school. It’s just always been there.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

July 2017 when Azore’s Quest was first released and people started reading it and were loving it. THAT was my ‘Woah! I’m a writer!’ moment. I still get a thrill when one of my customers comes into get a coffee and asks “Are YOU an Author?” Yep I loving saying why YES I am!!


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 In all honesty it was a short story of mine that a friend read, she demanded that I make it longer as she wanted to see more of the characters. So I sat with my pen and notebook and made it longer, that resulted in Azore’s Quest being published


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I don’t know, I have been asked that before and I still have yet to work out what ‘style’ I write in. I will admit that I plan nothing. I start with a fresh notebook and fill my fountain pen and I write, I start with the first word and just put words on paper. I just write, I don’t think about it, I just let the words flow. If anyone who reads my books comes up with a style for me, PLEASE let me know.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I have fun coming up with titles, Azore’s Quest was easy as Azore (Main character) was going on a quest. Witches the Chronicles of # 10, is about a witch who runs a café named # 10. By the way the café is real and the characters in that book are based on the owner and some of the customers, who are all my friends. My latest Jiana’s Curse, is about Jiana who is cursed. I like my titles to tell you something about the story before you even open the cover.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

You have to fight for what you want in life. It won’t just fall into your lap! You have to fight for the ones that you love to keep them in your life. Never take things for granted!


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 None of it, all the experiences are created from my imagination. Some of the characters are loosely based on friends and people that I see. But it is pure fantasy.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

Oh gawd. So many books have influenced me. But it was Lady of Hay by Barbara Erskine that really made me want to write something that would shake me to my core just like it did.  a mentor?  Some amazing authors and friends have been helping me along the path…D.L. Colon, SE. Rise, Terra James. These 3 people are always very quick to advise me and they are totally honest with me. Because of them I am not afraid to take the next step..I love them dearly!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

A new author that I love is Michael Bray, he’s a wicked horror writer. Favourite authors… D.L. Colon, SE. Rise (Awesomely hot horror), Terra James, Lisa Kessler (writes the best werewolves), S. Nelson, Yolanda Olson


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Number 10 Café and its owner Wendy Graham. Number 10 is about a 10-minute walk from my home, it’s where I have breakfast before I go to my place of work and is where 90% of my writing is actually done. This gorgeous young woman allows me to take up space for HOURS. She supports me 200% and I love her dearly for it!


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Totally! I love writing so much the dream was always to publish my words, as I am now doing that the dream is to be able to make a living from it. To be a Full time writer would be amazing!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No nothing. I am so happy with it and so excited to get it out to the readers. I wouldn’t change a thing!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 Enid Blyton’s The Magic Far-away Tree. As a child reading this I so wanted to write a character like Moonface who I loved. That’s the earliest memory of actually thinking about writing.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure…This is from my current work in progress, Jiana’s Curse. Which will be released very soon.

 

“Da…Da…” Tears ran down my face as I looked around me, Jake, Josiah, Da all crumpled and lifeless on the floor. All because of me. Tad had reached Da and was shaking him.

“Da…Wake up Da…Please Da…Don’t….” Suddenly the creature shot out a hand and grabbed Tad. I took a step forward, with my hands raised.

“No…Please…not Tad…Please…I’ll come with you but please, don’t hurt him…He’s only a baby…”

He looked at me, a sneer curled his lips.

“Why would I care if you are willing or not…”

He shook Tad like a rag doll.

“Please…” He looked around him, the sneer turned into a grin, as he surveyed the scene around him.

“What can you offer me? What do you have, that you can possibly think I would be interested in?”

He walked around the room, carrying Tad, like a piece of paper.

“Me…all I have to offer you is me…”

He laughed, an evil cackling sound.

“But I already have you!” I looked at Tad, the fear in his eyes, when he looked at the thing holding him, broke my heart.

“Please…he is so innocent….”
“Mmmm…I know I can smell it on him.” Tad started struggling.

“Keep still boy!” He shook him so hard I heard his teeth rattle.

“What you have failed to grasp Jia, is the fact that you are mine, whether you offer yourself to me or not. Either way when I walk out that door, you will be with me.”
With that said, he looked at Tad and squeezed, before he dropped him at his feet and stalked over to me.

I couldn’t help but look around me. In a matter of moments everyone I had ever loved had been taken away from me. I looked at Tad as tears rolled down my face. I stood tall, as it stood in front of me.

“Why would you do this?”
He seemed perplexed by my question.

“Well, I spose because I could. I mean why pay for something when you can just fucking take it,” he shrugged his shoulders, “Simple really.” I shook my head.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 No not in the actual writing side of things, more on the publishing side, formatting etc. As it is so very new to me, I am still learning how to do many things.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, not if you don’t count the time it takes me to walk to the café to write. So far all book signings have been done in my home town, so no travelling what so ever.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Azore’s Quest was a collaboration between myself and my PA Terra James. Witches was hand drawn by the amazing Amber Naralim, it was then added to by myself and again my Pa Terra James. The cover for Jiana’s Curse was myself and again Terra James


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Letting it go. It was so hard to let it go to strangers to read. It was like saying goodbye to a part of me. But then those strangers became friends. But I still find that is the hardest part.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Mmmm…I learnt that it is best to let the words flow and not try to force it into a certain direction. Just because I think or want it to go one way does not mean that it should.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

Azore’s Quest…Jason Momoa as Azore, Gerard Butler as Jobe, Kevin Nash as Taten. Goddess have mercy!


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Now is the perfect time! If you think you want to write, then DO IT! Don’t wait for down the track, do it now! My only regret is that Amazon where not around years ago!!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU!! I LOVE YOU!! I am always blown away when a reader tells me how much they loved my book. It is still astounding that people meet my characters actually fall in love with them. I find it very humbling. So Thank You and I love you is all I have!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

That is the only downfall to my writing, when I am writing I don’t read. I don’t want to get any crossovers from someone else. But I do have a couple of new horror ones waiting for when my WIP is finished then I will read one book before writing my next.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 See Spot Run, probably. But the first one would have been a little golden book, Toot the little engine that could or Are you mummy?

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Life! My little dog Maxx, makes me laugh at any given time, he is such a character. My husband’s corny jokes make me giggle. The cruelty of man makes me cry, whether it is to animals or humans, we are a cruel species. I try really hard to not watch the news as it is always so sad. BUT my life is good, so it is easy to smile.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 I would love to meet the creator of the Sphinx; I would love to know who made her.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

  Mmmmm… Annoyingly happy! She taught the world how to smile!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love Kokedama, the art of making plant balls. So much fun, I have them hanging everywhere. I also love to make my own cheese and preserves. I collect miniature glass figures and books.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Love the crime channel, so anything to do with true life crime. LOVE Stargate and Stargate Atlantis. Movies I love anything that was a comic, Marvel movies are magic, Underworld, Pitch Black and Rocky Horror Picture show are two of my all-time fave movies

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 Any meat that my man cooks on his spit is a fave. I love food in general. Colours- Purple and black all the way. Music- The Beatles, Neil Diamond, Nickelback, Bon Jovi, Icehouse, Vivaldi, The Sign

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?  A Blacksmith or a Butcher.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?  http://amj.allauthor.com/

 

 

Sale Links for both books

Azore’s Quest

https://www.createspace.com/6435679

https://www.amazon.com/Azores-Quest-Book-AM-Johnson-ebook/dp/B01IRU6SWI

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/azores-quest-a-m-johnson/1124213378?ean=9781535387880

https://www.kobo.com/au/en/ebook/azore-s-quest

https://www.bookdepository.com/Azores-Quest-M-Johnson/9781535387880

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/azores-quest/id1148201465?mt=11

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/656736

 

Witches The Chronicles of #10

https://www.amazon.com/Witches-Chronicles-10-book-Johnson/dp/1539578135/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1485900439&sr=8-1&keywords=witches+the+chronicles+of+10

https://www.createspace.com/6651321

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/witches-chronicles-10-book/id1171646350?mt=11

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/675362

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/witches-the-chronicles-of-10-book-one-am-johnson/1125059845?ean=2940153812496

https://www.kobo.com/au/en/ebook/witches-the-chronicles-of-10-book-one

http://allauthor.com/book/5284/witches-chronicles-of-10/

 

Author pages

http://allauthor.com/profile/amj/

http://amj.allauthor.com/

https://www.facebook.com/AzoresQuest/

https://www.amazon.com/A-M-Johnson/e/B01HJHSKFS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1484537418&sr=8-1

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/Jitz

 

 

 

 

