Name:  Anne McBride Eveland

 

Age:  37 but people believe that I look like I’m in my twenties

 

Where are you from?  Colville, WA USA.  I lived twelve miles or so out of town.  Living in the countryside, in the middle of a hay field.  To me, it was a wonderland of adventures for a little girl.

 

A little about yourself?

  I live in Liberty Lake, WA USA with my husband, step-daughter, and my service dog.  Spent most of my life in college learning things but didn’t know what I wanted to be, other than a writer.  So I took general studies and letter some technical studies.

 

Tell us your latest news?

I just published my fifth book; Warning Women Have PTSD.  I wrote it because; I myself, have PTSD and wanted to share my story on how I had used my logic to overcome everyday stressors.  I still have PTSD but I’m not allowing it to overrule my life like I had allowed it.

 

When and why did you begin writing?

I wanted to be a writer since I was 12.  I don’t know what caused that drive but it would not leave me.  Even though I didn’t know how to read or write until I was in high school.  But nothing was going to stop me from wanting that dream to come true.

 

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It was while I took a creative writing class in college that reawoken the drive of wanting to write.  It took a teacher to challenge me that wanted to see that dream to come true.

 

What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book; Chosen Husband: On Highlander Time book 1, was not really inspired.  But I was facing a surgery and I heard many times that I may not live from.  Even though it was very low chances of that happening.  I looked at it as it being the only chance to see my dreams come true.  I had finished my book just a month before my surgery.

 

Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t know if I do.  I just know from experience from reading other people’s works that they seem predictable.  I try not to write that way.

 

How did you come up with the title?

I like to play around with words and see if it would be something that would catch my attention, even if someone had written it.

 

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In Warning Women Have PTSD, I wanted to tell everyone that it isn’t just military personnel that can get PTSD.  But also normal everyday women, who work or live everyday lives.  Plus don’t allow doctors to tell you that pills are the only way to have a normal life.

 

How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Since it is a nonfiction book, the whole book is based on real life events.  I may have written vague about my past and it’s mainly because anyone who has PTSD may suffer more trauma from my own experiences without learning that something could help them.

 

What books have most influenced your life most?  A mentor?

The Bible.  Great Expectations: Charles Dickens.  Robert Frost.  My teachers; Mrs. Dona Skoog and Mr. Tom Gribble, each one of them hadn’t given up on me about my dreams of becoming an author.

 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I haven’t really found any new authors since I have been focusing on my daughter’s reading that I read children’s books before she gets to read them.  Because of that, I have found Rick Riordan being a good writer to read, especially his Kane series.

 

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My church has been very supportive about my writing.  The few people that bought my book was some of it’s members.

 

Do you see writing as a career?

Writing is my only job.  Even though I’m not making any money, at least I’m doing what I enjoy and love.

 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Instead of self-publish, I could have waiting and go to a publisher.  I wanted PTSD to be in all the hands that could have helped, instead of collecting cyberdust.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My mom reading Robert Frost’s, Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.  I believe it was his way with words that wanted to be something like that.

 

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Wow that is a question, to be honest I’m working about seven different ones at the same time.  It really depends on the day of what I want to work on.  1.  A time travel to the Civil War times, 2.  Archaeologist solving a clue at the Sphinx, 3.  Part 2 to On Highlander Time, 4.  A mystery dealing with art, 5.  Time travel to the future and living on a different planet, 6.  Time travel to the time of Fort Colville was up and running, and 7.  A heart warm story about a girl coming back to a small town to see how life was moving without her being there.

 

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

To be honest, grammar.  When I was a little girl, I lost my hearing for a while.  It was enough to cause enough issues in my hearing after I regained it to where some words are harder to understand than others.

 

Do you have to travel much concerning your books?

No, but I would love to.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to travel to talk about their books.  Plus I would like to bring my family with me to travel the country, something that we have always dreamed of doing.

 

Who designed the covers?

For the moment I do, at least until I bring enough revenue to pay for someone to make a better one.

 

What was the hardest part of writing your book?  Trying to make my characters real enough for the readers to enjoy or keeping track on w

hat I’ve already written.

 

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Marketing is a nightmare, especially when you don’t know how to play the game and get people to notice your work.

 

If any of your books was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Wow that is a question.  Emma Watson for the female role and Orlando Bloom for the male.  At least those are the ones that I would like to see.

 

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Dreams can be delayed but never lost.  Don’t allow your dreams to be slipped away because others don’t agree with your dreams.

 

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Give reviews, let us writers know that we are doing something good or you liked one of characters because of . . .   We would like to know.

 

What book are you reading now?

  The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan.  Like I had said before, I like to know what my little girl may be reading.

 

Do you remember the first book you read?

Great Expectations, Charles Dickens.

 

What makes you laugh/cry?

Movies, at least the good ones and same with some music.  Everyday life, seeing nature working all around me.  Just like the other day, saw a herd of elk running by and seeing my eight year old girl smile and eyes open wide.

 

Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

J.K. Rowling, I would like to sit down with her and see if I can get inspiration from her.  She is the one female author that came from no one to someone, nearly overnight.  At least in our eyes she did but I know that it had taken her years to get Harry Potter into bookstores.

 

What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Anne McBride Eveland the Author of . . .  Whatever book that had gotten me on the map for readers to find.  I want to be remembered for something.

 

Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Fishing, walking, reading, learning new things, and crochet.

 

What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Star Wars, Princess Bride, Beauty and the Beast (cartoon and new), Harry Potter, Marvel movies and shows, Jurassic Park, Back to the Future, Phantom of the Opera, etc.  Just to name a few.

 

Favorite foods/colors/music.

Pizza, BBQ chicken, chinese food.  Blue, purple, and green.  Bryan Adams, Tim McGraw, and Nickleback.

 

If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I have gone to college to learn other things but I didn’t find anything else than what I wanted to be.

 

Do you have a blog/website?  If so what is it?

 

https://annemcbrideeveland.wordpress.com/

 

www.facebook.com/author.AnneEveland01

 

Amazon Author Page?

 

https://www.amazon.com/Anne-Eveland/e/B0113NYDCI/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1491332119&sr=8-1

Chosen Husband: On Highlander Time Book 1   https://www.amazon.com/Chosen-Husband-Highlander-Time-Book-ebook/dp/B01ENPSRE8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1491332256&sr=8-1&keywords=anne+eveland

Warning Women Have PTSD

https://www.amazon.com/Warning-Women-Have-PTSD-Eveland-ebook/dp/B01N9QUDNF/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1491332256&sr=8-2&keywords=anne+eveland

Collection of Poems

https://www.amazon.com/Collection-Poems-Anne-Eveland-ebook/dp/B00WGTRMKO/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1491332256&sr=8-3&keywords=anne+eveland

My Opera Ghost: Short Story

https://www.amazon.com/My-Opera-Ghost-Short-Story-ebook/dp/B01GXMESCE/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1491332256&sr=8-4&keywords=anne+eveland

Childless By Not Hopeless

https://www.amazon.com/Childless-But-Helpless-Anne-Eveland-ebook/dp/B01711TVD2/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1491332256&sr=8-5&keywords=anne+eveland

 

