Name Margaret Millmore

 Margaret Millmore is a native Californian and currently resides in San Francisco with her husband and two cats. She’s the author of seven books (two novels, one three book series, and books one and two of her new Ghost Killer series): Doppelganger Experiment (World Castle Publishing, September 2011; republished via Amazon Digital Services, January 2014), The Four Series – Book I, II and III (World Castle Publishing 2012/13, republished via Amazon Digital Services,  October 2015), The Dragonfly Door (Amazon Digital Services, October 2013), What Haunts Me (Ghost Killer – Book 1) (Amazon Digital Services, November  2014 and republished via Creativia Publishing, December 2015), The Edge of the Cemetery (Ghost Killer – Book 2)  (via Creativia Publishing, June 2016). My books are set in San Francisco (with the exception of The Four Series).

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently working on book 3 in my Ghost Killer series.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 As a child, I loved writing stories, and as I grew up I continued to jot down story ideas. When the opportunity arose for me to write full time, I jumped on it.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think it was after my fourth book was published – now that I’ve published seven books, I definitely consider myself a writer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 I don’t recall the plot inspiration for my first book (although it was the first book I wrote, it was the second-fourth book(s) I published – the original publisher divided it into a three books series) however I was inspired to write by my husband, and my initial foray was The Four Series.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My style seems to evolve with each book, initially I was a “pantser”, meaning I just sat down and wrote. However, as I’ve progressed, I find myself using an outline format to jot out my ideas.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 Focusing on my current ghost killer series: What Haunts Me came to me about half-way through the book, it just hit and I ran with it.  With book 2, The Edge of the Cemetery, that just hit as well, but very early on, I hadn’t even ironed out the plot yet, so to a great extent, the title for book 2 sort of created the plot on its own.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 No particular message, I just want to entertain my readers and take them away from reality for a while.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 The ghost killer series is set in San Francisco, I did my best to depict the city as it is in real life – everything and everyone else is pure fiction.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 As a child I was very inspired by the Chronicles of Narnia and Ray Bradbury, as I got older and became a more voracious reader, just about every book I read inspires me in one way or another.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 

I’ve discovered some amazing authors, all Indies (these authors have been around for a while, but they’re more-or-less new to me). I would have to say it’s a tie between Jen Blood and Wayne Zurl as far as favorites – I love their writing styles, creativity and stories. But there’s also Wendy Cartmell, Bruce Borders, Nick Russell, A. E. Howe, M.K. Coker, and so many other.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

Aside from some author groups and my editor, I really didn’t tap anything outside of family or friends for support.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I do now, it is my full-time job, and although it’s doubtful I’ll ever hit the “big time”, I make enough to take my husband to a nice dinner once in a while.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

There’s always room for improvement and when I read critiques of my work, I take everything the reviewer says into consideration so that I can improve my writing with each book, but I don’t think I’d go back and change anything now.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My childhood friend and I used to make up stories all the time, but I honestly think it’s my love of reading that started it all.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

What Haunts Me (Ghost Killer – Book 1) is the introduction to George Sinclair, a seemingly ordinary man in his mid-thirties who suddenly begins to see ghosts and demons. However, the ghosts and demons that wander among the living do not haunt in the traditional sense; instead, they plague the innocent with disease, deformity and addiction. And once a ghost finds its victim, it will haunt them for a lifetime… or kill them quickly. George soon realizes that he can kill these ghouls, relieving their victims of a life of suffering…or imminent death. Unfortunately, this newfound ability is also destroying the life George has carefully built for himself and he must find what and why this is happening to him.

 

The Edge of the Cemetery (Ghost Killer – Book 2) is the continuing saga of George’s new life as a ghost killer. George now works alongside his new friends and assists the Watchers: an international group of ghost killers and supernatural experts who monitor the world for ghostly sightings and demon infestations to maintain the balance between the living and the dead.  When San Francisco and the surrounding area are suddenly plagued by rogue groups of ghosts and demons, the Watchers know it isn’t a random occurrence. The monsters are possessing their victims and once the ghost killers arrive, the demons direct their attention towards them.  As George and the Watchers investigate, they discover that a demonic presence is behind the attacks. With the clock ticking against them, they must find the source of the evil and destroy it, before it destroys San Francisco.

I’m currently working on book 3 in my Ghost Killer series.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I’m a horrible editor, it’s frustrating, but fortunately I’ve found a great professional editor and a few great beta-readers to help me through it.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Since my latest series is, for the most part, based in San Francisco where I live, so I don’t do any travelling for the books.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The covers for my latest books were done via The Cover Collection and my publisher, Creativia Publishing.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 I think the hardest part is getting that first draft down.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 In my last book, The Edge of the Cemetery, I learned a lot about San Francisco’s past in regards to its cemetery locations (and relocations), it was fun and fascinating research.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

I’m not very up on the Hollywood crowd, but I’ve always thought that Silas Weir Mitchell (Monroe on Grimm) would make a great Phil James – other than that, I haven’t given it much thought.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

It’s so easy to get frustrated and give up, but don’t. There are so many advantages out there now for Indie writers and even though we may never make the “big time” it’s incredibly satisfying to get that first book published and well worth the work.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 I only hope they enjoy my books and are entertained by them.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading a book by Ronald Paxton, called Deep Water.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I honestly don’t…

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

 Not a thing, no headstone please.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy painting and drawing and travelling.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Haven, Being Human, Sleepy Hollow, Grimm, Man in the High Castle, both the Marvel and DC Comics series.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

Pizza, blues and greens, Motown

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I had a long career in the real estate field, I’d probably still being doing that if I hadn’t decided to switch gears.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 Here are all my links, including links for my most current books (which are available in several languages):

http://mybook.to/whathauntsme
http://mybook.to/Cemetery

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MMillmore

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Margaret-A-Millmore/228435017205214

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5157106.Margaret_A_Millmore

Blog / website: http://www.margaretmillmore.com/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Margaret-Millmore/e/B005ME8QTQ

 

