Name –  Ann B Harrison

Age – Old enough to know better

Where are you from – Australia

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc –

I live with my family in the beautiful Hunter Valley wine district in Australia.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The 3rd book in my Watson Brothers series, The Doctors Husband is due out on April 20th.

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I woke up one morning with a small portion of a story going through my head and put it down to a dream that wouldn’t let go. That kept annoying me for weeks so I wrote it down. Witchling turned out to be the first book in a YA series.

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Once I got my first contract. Until then I called it my hobby.

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I never wanted to be a writer. I was more than happy reading, I devour books at a phenomenal rate. Once Witchling came into being though I decided I like being a writer and haven’t stopped.

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

A bit pantser, a lot more plotter (at least lately). I find I have to note down the story as I imagine it then fine tune and sort out the plot holes, because there are always things I don’t think of at the beginning.

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I don’t really know. They seem to come at me right at the beginning of the book.

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Life can throw you a surprise and sometimes you need to run with it.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All fiction, promise.

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

I think I take a little of most books I read, especially in my younger days. They let me dream and hide a little from everyday life.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favourite author is Kate Morton. I love how she weaves her stories over the two timelines.

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Friends.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Definitely,

I have for the last few years.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

English class at school.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Now all she needed was the proof she could be considered a local before she took over and things would be sweet. But being such a small hospital in a country town, they were bound to be easy to persuade to take on a single woman of her ability. Seriously, how many people with her qualifications would apply to go work and live in Marietta anyway? They’d be lucky to get her.

Evan dropped back into the chair and grinned. “Sorry about that. He called just as I was going into the meeting and I almost forgot. Looks like I’m going home for a wedding.”

“Congratulations.” Shame it’s not mine, but then I wouldn’t want to stoop to those depths for a job but it’s the only way this little black duck would tie herself to a man. “Your brother Chance is the rodeo rider you told us about a while ago, isn’t he?”

“You do have a great memory, don’t you? Yes. The wedding isn’t his though. It’s my other brother, Rory. He’s a town deputy and is finally getting hitched again. His first wife died in a terrible car accident. I’m very happy for him.” He gave her a wistful look triggering a warning signal in her brain.

“That’s wonderful. I hope you have a good time.” Denver grabbed her laptop and placed it under her arm, ready to stand up and go back to work.

“So what was the frown on your face when I came in?” He looked at her with such an earnest expression, Denver almost wanted to tell him. Dr. Evan Watson was one of the most empathetic doctors she’d ever met, and it would be too easy to open up and tell him all of her problems. Too bad she wasn’t that type of person.

“Oh, nothing worth worrying about.” She brushed the gloom aside and plastered a smile on her face, doing her best to be professional.

He looked disappointed and she regretted her answer for all of five seconds. He couldn’t help her, nobody could. This time she’d overstepped the confidence mark thinking her fantastic grades in med school and the research she’d done around premature birth and underweight babies as well as the hours she put in at the emergency department would be enough to tempt the board to give her the top job. She should’ve known better than to think she could avoid meeting all of the job requirements. Now to prove she was a “local” and Denver had no idea how she would make that work when she’d never stepped foot in the place before.

“Hey, how about a drink tonight? Dinner maybe? Looks like we could both do with cheering up even if you’re not ready to share.” Evan gave her his normal winning smile and Denver melted just a little. “You keep turning me down when I ask for a date and I don’t know why. How about you take pity on me just once and say yes.”

“Yes.”

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Getting myself on track. I tend to fluff around a bit but once I have the story in my head things seem to run smoothly.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I wish!

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The awesome art fairies at Tule.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Keeping my butt in the chair.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I don’t want to leave the Watson brothers yet. Look out for book 4, Her Favorite Cowboy coming in July.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

I have no idea but I’m sure if that happened, the producers would come up with a handsome hunk.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up unless this is just a hobby for you.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  

A massive thank you for buying my books. It wouldn’t be the same without you.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right Behind You – Lisa Gardner

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I always had a book in my hand even from a very young age.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Good book, good movie.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Not that I can think of.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She enjoyed life – because I do.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Gardening.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

Grand Designs. I don’t watch much TV

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food, anything fresh and easy.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Gardener

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? http://www.annbharrison.net

https://www.amazon.com/Ann-B-Harrison/e/B0098SWWYM/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1439928057&sr=8-1

https://www.amazon.com/Doctors-Husband-Watson-Brothers-Book-ebook/dp/B06XTWR8L2/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

 

