Name   Charlotte J. Rains   My author name is: C.J. Rains

Age I will be 64 in August of this year

Where are you from 

I was born in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, but now live in Arizona, USA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc: 

I have no formal education to speak of. I am married, have 3 children, 5 grandchildren, and 1 great-grandchild.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?  

I just recently published my fourth poetry book “Reflections” and my very first poetry book for children, “Ladybug! Ladybug!” recently won a Silver Medal “Feathered Quill” book award for best illustrated children’s poetry book for 2016. It is the first book of my “Flitter, Flutter, Crawly” series. The second book of this series, “Bluebird! Bluebird” is scheduled to be released in this Fall.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?  

I began writing at an early age, in elementary school. My class was given an assignment to write a cowboy poem, and my poem was published in our school paper. That was when I fell in love with writing. I was so proud!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I finally considered myself a writer when my first book of poetry, “Hills and Valleys” was published in 2011.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I joined several writing groups, and when I began getting positive feedback from fellow writers who had been published, I was inspired move forward.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, not really. My style is whatever mood I might be in when I sit down to write.

It may even come from something I read that day.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I absolutely love the Bronte sisters. I own several copies of Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre. I guess they influenced me the most. Then there is John Grisham who is a genius in my opinion. I have really not been what you would call, mentored by anyone, although I have a few fellow writer friends I adore and have encouraged me along. I will be forever grateful to them.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Linda Huber is a fairly new author I was fortunate to discover. She is from Scotland, but now lives in Switzerland. I own and have enjoyed many of her books. I love how she so vividly describes scenes. It puts me right there, and that is a big plus for me in any book I’m reading.

I guess if I had to choose a favorite author, it would have to be John Grisham. I have read just about all of his books. I love his attention to detail.

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My writing groups have been my biggest supporters. Without them, I wouldn’t be where I am today.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I can only say that I will continue to write for pleasure, even if it does not become a

career.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Absolutely not.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always been a lover of words and how they sound when spoken. As I said earlier, my school poem being published was where my true interest originated.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

To date, I am working on a short story I began a couple of years ago, “The Disappearance of Tom Walters.” I’m hoping to turn it into a novel or a novella. I have also brought out and began working on a novel I started many years ago. The title is a toss up between, “Fly Away Anne” or “Inside Out.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes. Just finding the free and quiet time I need has made it very difficult to write. And like most writers, I hate editing with a passion!


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, thank goodness!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Susan Joyner-Stumpf of Wildfire Publications designed the cover of my latest book, “Reflections.” She did an amazing job! I love it and have received numerous compliments. And the cover for “Ladybug! Ladybug!” was designed by my illustrator/publisher, Alexandra MacVean. She is just amazing. I feel so fortunate to have her.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes. Never quit! If writing is your passion, don’t allow anything or anyone to hinder you or cause you to give up.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. Thank you for reading my work and please write a review once you’ve finished reading. A good review is so important and means a lot to a writer.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now I am reading, “Frozen in Time’ by a dear writer friend of mine, Sharon Ricklin Jones. I don’t think she really knows just how talented she truly is.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really, there were just too many books and too many years.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Funny situations make me laugh. And I am an animal lover, so add one to a book and I am sure to cry at some point.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Charlotte Bronte, because of her amazing writing, and Anthony Hopkins because of his brilliant acting.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Yes. I love to cook, and although I haven’t sketched or painted in many years, I enjoy it and would like to try again. I also love music, and have tried my hand at writing songs in the past.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I am hooked on Bates Motel! I will be very sad when it ends. I like a good movie drama and just recently enjoyed watching “The Light Between Oceans.” It was a wonderful book and the movie was definitely not a disappointment as some have been in the past.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love Mexican and Chinese foods, as well as southern dishes. I like blue and green. And I like a little of all music, except for heavy metal. I can’t tolerate it.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I have a nursing background, so it would be either that or teaching.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes.   http://cjrains.blogspot.com/

https://www.amazon.com/C.J.-Rains/e/B01M5C6CS2/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

 

