Name:  Rob Osborne

Age: 47 in June, 2017

Where are you from?

I live in Walderslade, a village outside Chatham in Kent.  I have been married for 23 years and have two sons of 18 and 15. I was born in Chelmsford, Essex and at the age of 6 months the family moved to Loose in Kent.  I attended the local schools and attained 5 O’levels and many CSE’s. From school I went into Further Education and studied Business and Finance and attained the BTEC Diploma. Whilst studying I had a Saturday job in Woolworths which is where I met my wife.  My first full time job was at Nationwide Building Society as a cashier and I worked my way up to Mortgage Advisor but couldn’t seem to advance any further (I found out later that the manager didn’t want to lose me although he encouraged me to apply for other jobs within the company. He actually quashed a promotion by telling a fellow manager I wasn’t ready.  When I told him I was leaving he offered me a £1000 pay rise) so after 6 years I moved on to the Alliance & Leicester.  My career progressed rapidly during my time there and I became a Financial Advisor before getting the chance to manage a couple of branches. I found the Branch Management fairly stressful and asked to return to Financial Advising 18 months later.  I was starting to become disillusioned with the whole industry and target based income but didn’t know anything else so I decided to try moving to another bank to see if it would reignite my enthusiasm, and after 6 years I moved to Lloyds TSB.  Unfortunately, this destroyed my love for the Financial Sector, the people were lovely but I was working between 11-13 hours a day, making very little money and not seeing my children so I realised that I needed a change.  Thankfully my brother-in-law was able to get me a job maintaining escalators on the London Underground and I have been there ever since working permanent nights.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My first novel, Anything is Possible, comes out on 28th June, 2017.  It is a contemporary romantic drama with a smidgen of comedy. I am ¾ of the way through a second book and am completing another outline for a 4th book (I already have a 3rd book outline). None of these are sequels so I have a fair body of work to be getting on with.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in 2001 as a result of a dream.  I woke up before a satisfactory conclusion and couldn’t get back into it.  I spent the following days wondering what would have been the outcome and how the situation came about.  I thought that I would try and write about it and the rest is history!

 

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

At the moment I don’t! This is purely and simply because it is my first book and it’s not been released yet.  I find it very surreal.  I took my mum out for dinner on Saturday and she wanted to order a copy of the book so she went into her local Waterstones. I wouldn’t go in with her because I thought it would be weird.  Also the book has taken years to reach the publishing stage (I tried to get an agent years ago without success).  The book survived being temporarily being lost and after rejection I lost confidence and planned to write as a hobby when I’d retired and self publish.  That all changed when my good friend Cheryl Butler told me that her book was being published.  She gave me the confidence to try The Book Guild.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I mentioned earlier it was as a result of a dream and I wanted to know what happened to the story after I woke up.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think so!  I try to concentrate with the characters emotions.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I thought that it could have two outcomes with the addition of punctuation. It could be a statement or question that is why I picked it.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If you work hard at things you may have obstacles along the way but keep going then it may happen.  If you don’t try then you will never know. Oh, and make sure you have the full facts before acting on something.  Well at least I hope that comes out in the book.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It varies.  The first book has a fair chunk of personal experience in it. The main character works in a bank and I had the same operation that he has to cure a congenital defect.  My mood at the time was reflected in the book. Stuck in a job neither of us wanted.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

Nothing has really influenced my life.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I haven’t really been on the look out for new authors except my friend Cheryl Butler. I have read a sample of her book and my blood pressure shot up.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members

Friends Cheryl and David Butler, Neil Stevenson, Rob Childs and finally Alexia Lewis.  It was Alexia who was the first unrelated person who read it.  She also did the vast majority of the proof reading originally.  When she first replied to me I scanned letter instead of thoroughly ready and saw the words needs totally rewriting.  I thought that meant the story was no good.  Thankfully after a short time of sulking I read the letter fully and it was only a paragraph she was referring to, not the whole book.  Never scan letters, always fully read. If I hadn’t I may have quit!!!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

That depends on how the book is received.  I will continue on regardless and as long as people and publishers like my work I’ll be happy.  In an ideal world I would love to write full time.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No but that could change with peoples reviews.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

The dream

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

At the moment the book is in the process of being edited so it wouldn’t be the finished article.  I do have an unedited chapter on my Facebook page.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time, all day long! I stopped working in finance because I was neglecting my family and working night’s means I have to split time.  My wife is a great support and doesn’t nag me a great deal.  She is probably the only one who could put up with me.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

None at all so far!

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The Production Team at The Book Guild designed them.

 

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Not skipping chapters and writing the end first.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes a great deal! I learnt that I could have the discipline to finish the job and keep going back until I was happy with it.  Before my dream I’d never considered writing so to finish something that people liked (I gave my book to a select few before attempting to publish) fills me with immense pride.

Fiona: If any of your books were made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I haven’t really thought about it?  If it was an American film maybe Anna Kendrick for the female and Patrick. J. Adams for the male.  That was off the cuff without much thought. If it was a British film I really have no idea.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

For new readers? If you have an idea go for it.  If you are passionate about something you will overcome the obstacles facing you and you will put your heart and soul into the project.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Please give my book a chance! So far no one has disliked it.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am not reading anything at the moment but I shall be reading David P Perlmutter’s Wrong Place Wrong Time, Cheryl Butler’s A Proclivity to Purience, Jim Proctor’s Veronica Phoenix: Phoenix Series Book 1 and Niki Livingstone’s Eyes Wide Shut.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Three Bill Goats Gruff is the first one I remember.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything makes me laugh. American Comedy. As regards to crying rom coms and sad events.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Kenny Dalglish was my idol growing up.  Daryl Hall…The list is endless

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Writer, father, husband all round good guy, sorely missed!  Not necessarily in that order.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy playing football and cricket.  I also love watching films and TV Shows (mainly American ones)

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Suits, Scandal, Once Upon a Time, Grimm…The list is endless.  I have over 30 TV shows in my DVD collection.  As for films I like every genre. Star Wars, Matrix, Rocky, Serendipity, I Love Trouble, My Best Friends Girl, Paycheck.  I could go on all day…

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Steak and Chips, Spag Bol, Roast dinners etc.  My favourite colour is Green, why? I don’t know! I absolutely love Hall & Oates but I like all kinds of music.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Movie, TV critic. I could watch them all day and be paid for it.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so, what is it?

I have a  Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/robossieauthor and https://twitter.com/RobossieAuthor for Twitter

Amazon authors page UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rob-Osborne/e/B01N5XKZAP/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

 

Buying link

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Anything-Possible-Rob-Osborne/dp/1911320688/ref=la_B01N5XKZAP_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1490635936&sr=1-1

 USA https://www.amazon.com/Anything-Possible-Rob-Osborne/dp/1911320688/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

 

