Name Heather L. Fleming

Age 36

Where are you from

I am from Reading, Pennsylvania, 2nd eldest of 7 children. I currently reside in the Southern Tier of New York with my two children and loving husband.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Drama Child: Emotion in Rhyme is available on Amazon. It’s a collection of poetry written in my early childhood and teenage years.

Drama Child: Falling in Rhyme is set to release at the end of 2017 and is a collection of new poetry, and the 2nd in the Drama Child Series.

You Might Want to Read This, is set to release in the fall of 2017 and is a collection of short stories.

Check out my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/DramaChildPoetry/ for all the latest details.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was obsessed with Shel Silverstein’s poetry and writing. I loved the rhyme. Light in The Attic and Where the Sidewalk Ends are two of my favorite treasures and biggest inspirations. Then I found Stephen King’s books and movies and I fell in love with the written word. Writing helps me overcome emotions I find too hard to speak of. I heal in my writing. My writing shows the contrast and similarities between Silverstein and King. I’m a dark and twisted rhymer and writer.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I was about twelve or thirteen when my school started publishing my poems and my classmates started making special requests. I became a professional writer that day and you’ll never convince me otherwise….


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The Drama Child in me…

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Poetry and Rhyme has always been my first love!


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My title Drama Child describe my poetry. I consider it the works of a Drama Child.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Well, I’ve buried messages and hidden some in plain sight, finding the message that suits the reader is for them to decide, not I.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s a splash of me, and my memories painted in mysterious fiction.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life? a mentor?

Shel Silverstein Light in the Attic, Where the Sidewalk Ends, Stephen King’s, On Writing, Misery, Carrie. Diary of Ann Franke, Where the Red Fern Grows, Heidi by Johanna Spyri. Poetry by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Shel Silverstein and Stephen King are probably my favorite Authors. I read and reread their work constantly. I think that shows in my style of writing too.

I’ve been enjoying some of Lang Leav’s poetry as well.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My co-workers

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Always!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Never!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

A teacher in my elementary school read Shel Silverstein poetry and stories to us every day. I’ve been inspired and fascinated with rhyme and writing ever since!

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Collection of Short Stories set to release in the fall of 2017

Title: You Might Want to Read This… By Heather L. Fleming

Excerpt from Lucky Ones

“I never think of myself as being poor, though people have said that to me. That poor was what the rest of the world described me as. I’ve heard grown people talk about child neglect, and abuse, but I don’t think I have that. I could see the differences in my life compared to my friends, but I just count them as one of the, lucky-ones. I wanted the nice things they had, I wanted the movies they went to see, I wanted the beautiful clothing and shoes they wore but most of all I wanted the hugs and kisses I seen them get from their parents. I really want my mom to look at me the way Jessy’s mom looks at her. Jessy goes to my school. During our class play, her mom sat in the front row and cried when Jessy read her lines. My mom couldn’t come to the play, she said she had to watch my baby brothers and sisters. They can be a handful, ya know.

But do you know what else I see? Children just like me, living the same way I do, sometimes it’s really bad. Thomas had a black and blue eye once that he got from his older brother, and because he’s a boy his mom wouldn’t let him wear make-up on his face to cover it up. I wore make-up for the first time when I was five. My step-dad hit me on accident a few times and it busted my eyebrow and lip clean open. I got to wear make-up for almost two weeks. I think some of the other girls were jealous of me because they kept staring and pointing. I understand that many of us weren’t born to be part of the, lucky ones and that’s okay. I tried to show them how our imagination could give us anything we wanted but even the other unlucky kids don’t want to play with me, and ya

know what? That’s okay. I always imagine them playing with me even if they never really want to. And if having all kinds of fun stuff like the lucky ones means giving up pretending, then I don’t want it anyway.”

2nd Book in Drama Child Series of Poetry, set to release in 2017

Title: Drama Child: Falling in Rhyme…. By Heather L. Fleming

Baby’s Breath

Another vial powdered white. You crawl around for in the night.

Beneath the skies, spoiled eyes the next fix is what’s insight.

You feel new sickness, unwell. More than the hits would tell.

On your knees; begging trees. Shame of womb, begins to swell.

Lights in whirling, screaming glows. Soaked down to your toes.

Feening, shaking, baby-making. The birth and rebirth of you shows.

Barely felt, nothing left. At the brink, fighting with death.

Introducing, drug inducing

Saved by a Baby’s Breath.

Ashamed Consent

 Creeping sweet nothings, Stuck in her mind.

Earning on the dollar Giving up herself for the dine.

Breath on her neck, Cringed at his embrace.

Couldn’t bring herself to look upon his face.

As his beer drenched lines Rolled out like sticky hands.

She tried to act intrigued Give-in to sickening demands.

Killing off the nerves of her already numbed skin.

The consent of a desperate woman in her own moral raping.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding time to write is often a challenge.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, but I travel with my family as often as I can and I always have my book with me.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed my cover.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding patience, not rushing the project just so I could hold the book in my hand.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned to stop being so hard on myself because others are more than happy to do that for me. One less job I must worry about! Ha-ha!

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I don’t know, do you think Beyoncé could pull it off? 😉


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write for you!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank You for reading my writing. That’s all I want, all I ever need… readers.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Stephen King’s IT

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first novels I read as a child were Heidi by Johanna Spyri and Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Friends, Family, Good Television, Movies, and Books

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Stephen King and his wife because I want them to read my poetry and stories, of course!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I’d rather not think about that…

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Photography, Dancing, watching Movies, reading books

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Walking Dead, Better Call Saul, Super Natural, Scandal are my current favorite TV shows.

Movies- Dirty Dancing, Legends of the Fall, The Kingdom, Superstar, Overboard, Baby Boom, Exorcist, Flowers in the Attic, The Strangers.

I am a lover of film!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love a good medium rare steak, mash potatoes, and broccoli.

Favorite colors are blue and purple.

Favorite Genre of Music: R&B but I love any music that can make me cry, lift me up, or shake my hips.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I currently work in non-profit and provide afterschool and summer programming to children in need. I’m also studying to be a teacher.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 

Drama Child: Emotion in Rhyme Available at:

https://www.amazon.com/Drama-Child-Heather-Lynn-Fleming/dp/1461055806/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1490460642&sr=8-1

Amazon Author’s Page for Heather L. Fleming:

https://www.amazon.com/Heather-Lynn-Fleming/e/B01MXPS39X/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

Facebook Fan Page:

https://www.facebook.com/DramaChildPoetry/

Follow on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/AuthorHeatherL

Follow on Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/heather_fleming005/

Facebook Author’s Page:

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100014763795319

