Name  Kimberly N. Dean

 

Where are you from

I was born and raised in Atlanta GA.  I have been married to my soulmate for 26 years, and I am the Mom of three wonderful sons

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am currently working on several works in progress and lining up signings for 2018 and beyond


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I honestly can’t remember a time that I didn’t write, but I always wrote for myself.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I first considered myself a writer in November 2016 when I hit publish for Guilty Condolence.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My characters Sarie Anna and Jasen Riggins inspired my first novel.  I couldn’t get them out of my head until I wrote their story.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My writing style is 1st person.  I also have a general idea of the story, but I develop it as I write.  I let my characters lead me to where they want me to go.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the title Guilty Condolence through my character Jase.  He kept repeating it throughout the story, so I went with it.  It just stuck with me.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My message in Guilty Condolence is that true love can withstand anything and everything.  Trust in each other to help you through the tough times.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Guilty Condolence is completely based upon experiences of people that I know and some incidents that I have experienced personally.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are so many books that have influenced my life.  Listing them all would be nearly impossible.  The first book that prompted my love of reading is The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton.

There are several authors that are my “go to “ authors.  They are so inspirational and they can weave a story like no other.  Lexi Buchanan, Lexi Blake, Nicole Edwards, Harper Sloan, Nicholas Sparks, James Patterson, and we simply cannot leave out the King and the Queen:  Stephen King and the one and only, Nora Roberts.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 There are so many newer authors who have peaked my interest here lately.  There is someone new every week.  This week its Amo Jones.  She’s not new, but she’s new to me.  I am thoroughly enjoying The Silver Swan.  Meghan March is also new to me.  I’m looking forward to diving into her newest release Take Me Back.

My Queen is Nora Roberts.  I honestly don’t think that there is anything that she can’t write.  I love her happily ever-afters.  Her character’s careers are unreal, from caterers to artists to magic.  She also takes you around the world with her locales.  She introduces her readers to different cultures and allows us to open our minds.  She’s just freaking amazing.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The entire indie community has been the single most supportive entity for me outside of my family.  From day one they have accepted me and encouraged me endlessly.  These guys are beyond exceptional, and I thank each and every one of them from the bottom of my heart.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I don’t know if I see writing as a career or not.  For me, I write because my characters are extremely demanding.  If I don’t write it down, then they don’t leave me alone.  The words just keep rolling around in my head gathering steam.  So, for me it’s more like therapy.  Getting my character’s words down frees my mind.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

If I had to do it all over again, would I change anything in Guilty Condolence?  No.  I wrote it exactly as my characters told it to me.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest in writing originated when I was in 4th grade.  I received a diary as a Christmas gift from my cousins, which as it turns out, was the greatest gift ever. It also didn’t hurt that we were required to keep journals while I was in school.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current works in progress are from The Sometimes You Have to Fall series.  Dark Acceptance is volume two , Untimely Arrival is volume two point five, and Flight of Regret is volume three.

I also have signed on with the Escape to Reality Series that debuts in May of this year.  This series is a group of twenty authors whose stories are set in the fictional town of Escape Colorado, and the series will release one novella per month.  My novella, Roll the Dice will release March 15th 2018.  Two others by me will be released in January 2019, and January 2020.  I am so excited to be involved with this project, and I think that our readers will enjoy it.  All of the author’s involved are extremely talented, not to mention we are all from different genres, so there is something for everyone.

I also will be announcing a new project in the upcoming months that I am over the moon excited about, so stay tuned.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I think the most challenging thing about writing for me is the fact that I don’t type fast enough to keep up with my characters.  They are a fast-paced bunch.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

My signing schedule this year is pretty limited due to health issue I’m having.  I will be at Authors Invade Columbia in Columbia SC, on November 11th.  Next year, 2018, and 2019 are both shaping up to include a lot more travel with signings all over the US.  I am also including trips across the pond, so look out!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have an amazing cover designer.  I use Brad QK from Graphiqkx.  He took my very basic idea and ran with it.  He’s unreal.  I cried when he sent me the final cover.  He hit it out of the park.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing Guilty Condolence was the typing.  I don’t type fast enough to keep up sometimes.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Writing and publishing Guilty Condolence taught me to have a little bit more self-confidence.  Up until that point, my life had revolved around my boys and my family. I mean, it still does, but GC was something that I just did for myself.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Honestly, I have never given any thought to any of my work being made into a film.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

My advice for other writers is just do it.  Go in to it with zero expectations.  If one person likes it, then it was worth it.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

To my readers, I just want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart.  You all will never know just how much I appreciate you all.  Your messages mean the world to me,  I’m so thrilled that you have fallen in love with Sarie and Jasen and the entire Anna family.  I promise you that I am typing as fast as I can to bring you more.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The book that I am currently reading is The Silver Swan by Amo Jones.  Check it out, it’s wicked.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book that I can remember reading is The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Suess.  Yes, I am that old.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Oh boy.  What makes me laugh and or cry.  My boys make me laugh on the daily.  Books make me laugh, and sometimes cry.  My first really ugly snotty cry book was Beck by Harper Sloan. I was a total snotty hot mess reading that one, but I loved every word that she wrote.  Thanks Harper.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Being raised in a baseball family, the one person past or present that I would love to meet is Roger Maris.  I would love to just sit down with him and have him tell me how it was for him breaking Babe Ruth’s homerun record.  I want to hear the good, the bad and the ugly.  His story simply fascinates me.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Whoa, what do I want written on my tombstone… Mama.  But, when you say it, you must use two syllables Ma  Ma.  That’s how my boys sayit.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Other than writing my hobbies include baseball GO YANKEES, college football GO NOLES, and reading.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favorite tv shows are The Walking Dead, Nashville, and the new show Six.  I love action adventure movies, the occasional chick flick, and anything with Chris Tucker.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

My favorite food is anything Italian, literally.

My favorite colors are pink and black.

My favorite music is eclectic.  I love Metallica, Brantley Gilbert, Eric Church, Sam Hunt, Chris Stapleton, Eminem, and the list goes on and on.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have loved to have been a singer in a rock band.  But, I’m perfectly happy being Mr. Deans wife and Tyler, Dylan and Kyles mom.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do not have a blog nor a website as of now.  I don’t type fast enough.

Amazon authors pages

https://www.amazon.com/Kimberly-N.-Dean/e/B01N97O4IA/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1490245405&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kimberly-N.-Dean/e/B01N97O4IA/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

