Name Carrie Whitethorne

Age  33

Where are you from

Originally from South Yorkshire, England but now living on the edge of the lake district national park.

I left secondary school with A levels and worked as a palliative care nursing assistant for many years. I then gave up work to raise my children. As the youngest began nursery, freeing up some time, I returned to my old childhood pass time of writing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am currently finishing the third book in my Riftkeepers Series.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I used to write as a child, giving it up as I hit my teens. I started again when my youngest began nursery in September 2016.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I self-published my first book, Riftkeepers Prime.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Walking to school, my son stepped into the road as a car was approaching. I hauled him back, shaken. On the walk home, I found myself thinking, “what if.” That led to “what if I weren’t there to pull him back. Would he save himself?” then my crazy imagination gave him super powers. When I got home, I began to write it all down.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t know.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I had to give the good guys a job. They keep the rifts between the mortal world, the underworld and the otherworld.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The main message is that those who love you will always fight for you.

Another is that the strongest of friendships can blossom in the most unlikely of places.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Much of the book is grounded in reality. These things happen, all the time.

There have been many events in my own life that are reflected in the series. Some of it wishful thinking, some tragic fact of life.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The Lord of the Rings was the first epic fantasy I read, at a very young age. My love of fantasy novels was definitely born there.

My mum was an avid reader and encouraged me to read and write creatively when I was a child. It’s her influence that spurred me to try writing and publish my own novel.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are so many!

Obviously Tolkien. The way he built a world, created a family within the fellowship and shaped their relationships was incredible.

Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series is inspiring. The world he created, the different races from humans to Kandra and the way he built the story from several perspectives gripped me as a reader from the very first chapter.

I could sit here all night, so I’ll leave it there.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My English teacher, Mr Hanna, was a great support as I came to the end of my school career. He encouraged me to write as a way to relieve exam stress.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No. writing is a pleasure. I do it because it makes me happy. It also gives me an outlet. On bad days, I can channel any negativity into a particularly dark chapter. On good days, we have parties.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so. I allowed my characters to grow as I wrote. I don’t think I would want them to change.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Sadly, no. I do have pieces of work from my childhood in a box somewhere, and remember creating characters and writing their stories for fun, but I can’t remember precisely where and when it started.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Her body slumped into his waiting arms.

“Where?” Callan asked, urgently.

Blowing out his cheeks, Dane said, “The study, I’ll need some help. Are you, all right?”

“Yeah. Do you think you can get them out?” he asked, gazing down at her with concern.

“Between us, we’ll manage. Wonder who it is…” Dane mused, studying her peaceful face.

Callan huffed a humourless laugh. “Whoever it is, they have to face her eventually. I’ll meet you there.”

He pulled her close, cradling her limp body against his chest and closed his eyes.

I’m sorry, I hate myself.

“You had to, Callan. If she’d reacted badly she’d have torn the castle apart. At least this way she’s doing us no harm and they aren’t harming her,” Dane said, sadly. “She’ll be out for a while.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I struggle with emotional scenes. I just can’t seem to get the feeling across. I suppose that comes with experience. I try to draw upon my own experiences but when it comes to putting feelings into words I draw a blank. It’s incredibly frustrating.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Unfortunately, not. I visit places to help with descriptive parts of the books, such as sitting on hillsides and noting the landscape, walking around lakes in the area, visiting stone circles and walking around our local harbour. But I haven’t had the opportunity to travel for research purposes.

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’m using pre made covers at the moment but intend to find a designer for my next project.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I fear it’s a cliché. But editing. Getting the story down was the easy part. Picking it to pieces, scrutinizing every minor detail, seeking out plot holes and inconsistencies was torture.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I can do it. That people will read and enjoy my work. I have very little confidence in my ability as a writer. It’s very early days,

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I’d like Charlotte to be played by someone unknown. Someone not typecast. Someone new, like me. She would have to be from the north of England, Charlotte is typically northern.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write. It doesn’t have to be perfect, it doesn’t have to be anything. Just write. Eventually a story will emerge, characters will take on personalities of their own and in no time, you’ll have a novel.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Your support has been overwhelming and without it I could never have completed the series.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson. Again.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Emily and Mr. Prendergast by Shirley Isherwood.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a very dark sense of humour, and laugh inappropriately.

I’m more likely to cry at an act of kindness than at something inherently sad.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Alan Rickman. He was an incredible actor, was kind and generous and I’d love to have the chance to meet him.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Do not put off until tomorrow what you can get someone else to do today.

Because it frees up time to write.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, watching movies, singing along to Disney films.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a big fan of fantasy. All things marvel, Game of thrones, Shanara Chronicles. LOTR. The Hobbit. I’m a closet Disney fanatic and wish Disney karaoke bars were a thing.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza.  Red.  Sia/Adele/ Ed Sheeran.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I planned to become a nurse.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 

https://www.facebook.com/Whitethornebooks

https://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B01N7K0YK7

http://mybook.to/Riftkeepers

http://mybook.to/RiftkeepersPursuit

 

