Name  Scarlett Wells

Age 29 and holding

Where are you from

I grew up in Canada and moved to the US in 2005 when I got married. I currently live in Northern California.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I have been married for 12 years to the only man who truly appreciated all of me – especially my inner nerd. We have a 5 year old daughter who is my whole world. Prior to having her, I was an executive assistant. I was fortunate enough to be able to stay at home with my little one so I have been doing that since I was put on bed rest during my third trimester.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I currently have 10 works in progress. If my assistant lived near me, I’m sure she would come over to my house and sit on me until I finished one. I am aiming to have my next book out sometime before the end of June.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I remember writing stories and plays in elementary school for extra credit (and some just for the fun of it). I have always had a vivid imagination. The urge to write left when I began university and didn’t pop back up until I was pregnant and gobbling up books by indie authors while on bed rest.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly? I still don’t consider myself a writer. I consider myself a rank-amateur dabbler at this point. Maybe when I hit a best seller list (honestly, any will do) I might consider myself more than that.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My sister-in-law were discussing indie authors and stories one day. We both felt we had stories in us to share and so we both began writing.  I sat on my story, Time Will Tell, for a few years as I didn’t have the confidence that it would be well received.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I do not. I fly by the seat of my pants and hope that others will go along for the ride.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title went through several variations, due to other authors publishing books with MY title (the nerve! j/k). I settled on Time Will Tell because time is a major player in the book – it spans close to 30 years. It just made sense.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love can overcome many obstacles.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Time Will Tell starts off with Viola meeting Emmett on her first day of kindergarten, the same way I met one of my best childhood friends. Their first few years together mirror mine with my friend. He left when I was in grade 3 and I have always wondered “what if.” So I wrote a fictional version of “what-if.”


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have always loved The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. They were some of my favorite books growing up – developed my love of fantasy. I have always been a voracious reader. I used to read just about everything! But now I focus on romance and the many sub-genres within it. I love getting lost in a good love story. My current favorite authors are Kristen Ashley (I want to be her when I grow up), Alice Clayton, Harper Sloan, Amy Bartol, and Tara Sivec.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Keep your eyes open for Love in Carson Falls by Paisleigh Aumack. I worked with her on the With Love at Christmas anthology. Her story All I Got was a Hangover was wonderful! I see big things for her.

Kristen Ashley is my absolute favorite author. I just LOVE her alpha males and how she weaves a story. I will read anything she writes, without question. I am excited to read her foray into BDSM culture.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My beta reader/assistant/best friend Aja. I posted in a book group looking for someone to read my book and give me feedback. She did more than that. If it wasn’t for her, I would not have hit publish. She believes in me and my writing so much. I am so blessed to have met her and have her in my life.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to do this for the rest of my days! Life does have a way of getting in the way, but when I am able to just sit and write I feel truly alive. I feel I have lots of stories to share and would love to be able to share them all.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would have published it sooner instead of sitting on it for 3 years.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always loved to read and that translated into writing.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My next book is titled Against the Ropes. I hope to have it out in time for summer reading! Here is my working blurb:

 

Harlow Winters spent her entire life trying to put her legacy behind her. The death of her husband forced it back into the forefront when her estranged father, wrestling scion Lance Masters, decides to insert himself back into her life. Harlow has avoided life in the USA Wrestling League ever since she was able to say no. But when her father gives her an offer that she really can’t refuse, she is thrust back into a world she loathes. The last thing she was looking for was love.

 

Alfie Flemming hasn’t formally met Harlow Winters, the boss’ elusive daughter, but he has seen her and had interactions with her and she has definitely had an impact on him. After years with the wrong woman, has he finally found the right one? The rugged pro wrestler finds himself drawn to Harlow and will stop at nothing to make her his.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the quiet time to just sit down and write seems to be the biggest challenge. I would love to tell the laundry, errands, and chores to take a long walk off a short pier, but if I don’t do them they don’t get done. Also all the stories! I swear I have had about 100 ideas that I have just had to shut out because I have so many other works in progress and ideas at the ready for when I finally have things under control and can focus my efforts on writing.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have done two signing events since I released Time Will Tell in August of 2016. I have 3 more events scheduled this year and about 4 on the agenda for 2018 so far.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kari Nappi at Kovers by Kari. I had a vague idea of what I wanted for the cover  for Time Will Tell and she just ran with it. I honestly tear up every time I see it. It’s so beautiful!

She has been working on my cover for Against the Ropes with a photo of David Wills taken by Wander Aguiar. I cannot wait to finalize it and show it off!


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The actual book seemed to flow out of me. It took me less than 3 weeks. Getting the courage to put it out there was the hardest part.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Writing is like buying a ticket on an emotional roller coaster. From the first word, you are going on a crazy ride. I feel everything along with my characters. Sometimes it is utter joy, sometimes complete curling-up-in-the-corner-rocking despair. I cannot seem to separate myself from feeling and it makes having other people read my stories seem so intimate in a way.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

While he’s a little old for it, when I picture Emmett in my head, it’s Jason O’Mara. And Christina Hendricks would make a wonderful Viola – she’s full of spunk (it’s the auburn hair).


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do it. Don’t hold back. Write. Publish. Don’t worry about what EVERYONE will think of your work. You won’t be able to please everyone. And it might surprise you who does enjoy your stories.

Also, an editor/proofreader is worth the investment.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

If you enjoy what you read, the best way to share that is to write a review! (Not just my books, all books! If you read it and love it, share what you loved about it on Amazon or Goodreads.)

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished The Alabama Summer series by J. Daniels. Love those Bama boys! And last night I started reading the Advance Read Copy of Copperfield Lane by my friend JL Long.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t remember my first book, but I remember Dr. Seuss rocking my rainbow socks when I was 4 or 5. My parents recently sent me a box of my childhood books to share with my daughter and it was mostly Dr. Seuss. I have thoroughly enjoyed sharing those books with her. She loves books! I am sure that once she gets better at it, she will be holed up in her little cozy corner reading books all day.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I am a crier. I will cry at commercials, songs, seeing a dead squirrel on the road… It’s safe to assume that anything will make me cry.

My husband and my daughter both make me laugh all the time. I have such a broad range of humor – from crass to dark, fart jokes to mathematical quips. It doesn’t take much to tickle my funny bone (although, really, have you ever hit your funny bone? SO not funny).

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Jane Austen. I would love to know what and who inspired her to write all her novels. I can read them over and over again and never tire of them. She just had such incredible talent for story telling.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“She literally shopped till she dropped”

I’m pretty sure that’s what I will be doing when I go. I may have a wee problem…

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Trying to keep up with the laundry… Oh that’s not a hobby. That’s just life.

I don’t have much time to just sit and ‘do’ these days, so when I have the chance, I read. If I have time for more, I play on my piano or do cross-stitch.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones and The Blacklist are the only two TV shows I watch these days. I will watch Firefly reruns any time they are on (it’s been 11 years since Fox canceled it and I am still upset about it).

As for movies, I watch a lot of Disney and Pixar flicks (comes with the mommy territory). They add so much humor into those movies for the parents now. We are big Star Wars and Marvel fans.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My waistline will attest to the fact that I love food. LOL I love Italian and Mexican food. I am a big fan of sweets and salty snacks.

Even though I wear black most of the time, I actually do love pink and purple. I just can’t pull them off.

Music… I pretty much love it all. I grew up studying classical piano and I have a serious soft spot for Beethoven and Mozart. I love almost all music, to be honest. My husband hates it when I have control of the music in the car because he says I am schizophrenic. I will put my library on shuffle and it will go from Led Zeppelin to Taylor Swift to Journey to Pearl Jam to Queen to NSync to Kaskade to Outkast. *shrug* I like what I like! And variety is the spice of life.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

If I went back to work right now, I would probably go back to doing administrative work. I started working in my father’s company when I was a little girl, collating catalogues and filing, working my way up to filing in on reception in the summers when I was in my teens. It just comes naturally to me.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Still working on my web page. 😀

Author Links:

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/Author-Scarlett-Wells-665753776865540/

Instagram:
@author_scarlett_wells

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15549405.Scarlett_Wells

Amazon Author Page:
http://amzn.to/2eRQD1S

Twitter:

@authorscarlett1

Book Links for Time Will Tell:

 

US ➜ http://amzn.to/2aQo0RA
CA ➜ http://amzn.to/2baeMSm
UK ➜ http://amzn.to/2bMUMWO
AU ➜ http://amzn.to/2bal5S8

 

 

