Name  Gypsy Maylis

Age 32 years young.

Where are you from

Born in Fort Worth, TX, I was raised mostly in the Northwest by my grandmother. I left home at an early age and got into my fair share of trouble. What youngster doesn’t? I spent the majority of my adult life backpacking and hitch hiking across the country. The sights and people I met along the way were amazing, and the journey helped shaped who I am today. I finally chose to settle down about 2 years ago, moving to the Longview area in East Texas, and recently moved to the countryside outside of Andalusia in southern Alabama.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well. I’m writing my first book! And admittedly extremely nervous about it. Lol

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing about ten years ago as an online text-based role-player. I began simply because creating my own characters and stories were appealing to me.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly? Not until around two years ago when I realized the amount of creativity and work I had begun putting into my writings.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was a trampled flyer a friend of mine had taken a picture of around Valentine’s Day that he’d seen on the ground in NYC.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No. I always believed that a good writer should strive to write in any style, though I admit I personally favor writing in third person.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The flyer my friend from NYC had come across that inspired this book was titled Be My Valentine, and since I decided to make the book a horror/murder novel, I simply took that title and added on to it so it would not be confused for another romance.

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I cannot say that I’ve been influenced by any particular books. Though my goal as a writer is to always improve and hopefully reach the same level of appeal as Anne Rice. I’ve always looked up to her.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Does me being a new author count as an answer for this? Lol.  I can’t say I have a favorite author. It’s just like with music. I love certain things from certain authors, but do not have a particular favorite.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I will have to say my friends. Those I have written with and created stories with. Those who I’ve never met in person, but have been here to support me.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’m not quite sure yet. I suppose I’m waiting to see how well I do with this first book before I decide.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I suppose it was when I stumbled across the online text-based role-playing community.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Oh, so much yes. I’ve been role-playing for so long, that I’ve found I have difficulty transitioning to writing as an author. I continuously catch myself writing a snippet as though I’m writing with someone else and am setting it up for a reply from another writer. It took me over an hour to write a less than 900 word prologue because of this.

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have no books out yet, so no. And I doubt I ever will travel, at least very far, as I also have a side business that I would have to tend to here at home.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have no covers yet, but I imagine I will design them myself. I enjoy photo and graphics editing.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The book itself, as I’m still writing it. Lol.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’m learning that it requires more work and motivation than I originally thought. I’m no longer writing a story with other writers to help move it along.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Oh, gosh. I honestly have no idea. I’m not up to date with the hottest actors these days, as I rarely watch television. The ones I would choose are either no longer acting or no longer with us today.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

As a first time author, I will say this. Entering this world is intimidating. It’s nerve wracking. You’re going to think you’re not talented enough. That’s okay. You’re allowed to feel this way. Just don’t let it make you quit. Tune out the public, and just pretend you’re writing for yourself and no one else. You will enjoy it more, and the quality of your story won’t be held back by stress, worries or fears.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

Simply that I sincerely hope you all enjoy my first ever book once it has been completed and released.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I honestly couldn’t tell you. I began reading on my own at 5 years old, and I cannot remember that far back.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Honestly, I laugh over the oddest things, and sometimes certain scenes in a book I’m reading may make me cry. I get very emotionally involved with the characters I’m reading about.

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Edgar Allan Poe. Simply for the reason that I could speak with him and see how his mind worked. His way with words always intrigued me.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I haven’t really thought about it, to be honest. I don’t particularly look forward to dying, so it’s something that I’ve never pondered over.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy gardening, listening to music, photo editing, piecing together puzzles, and playing the piano.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t really watch much TV. Though I do like the old black and white shows such as Andy Griffith, Perry Mason, and others. I also appreciate a good horror or comedy movie.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

My favorite food is all food except seafood lol. I don’t have a favorite color, but I can tell you that you will never catch me in pink. Music preferences vary depending on mood and the writing project. It ranges anywhere from Celtic, to rock, to orchestral.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m currently making a business out of something I’ve always been interested in, which is herbal remedies, homegrown and made myself. So if this writing thing doesn’t work out, I’ll still have that.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://www.facebook.com/gypsy.maylis

https://www.facebook.com/authormaylisgypsy

https://authorgypsymaylis.wordpress.com (Under construction)

 

