Name – M.C. Webb

Age – 40

Where are you from: Tennessee

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have four signing coming up this year, the first of which is Romancing the Smokies next weekend March 17&18. I will be signing the 18th from 2-4.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing as an expression. I had all these stories growing up nd didn’t know what to do with them. Later on I realized I write not only to give those stories life, but for my sanity as well!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

High School. A story of mine was published and it scared me too death!


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A traumatic event shook me to the core and I began to write seriously, letting go of anything that previously held me back.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write dark stories with romance and mystery.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first novel, Fade to Black, has an actor as a main character. The last words in a screenplay I was reading when I started the story was a cut and fade to black. It fit my story and has a deeper meaning for me personally.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My motto – Do what you must, just survive.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There are real elements of abuse in the story, some taken from first hand experiences, others are pieces of stories meant to be told.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Jakie Collins – Lady Boss. This is by far one of the most influential books for me.

I do not have a mentor persae, but my love of books doesn’t start or end with one genre.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My current favorite is Kresley Cole. Her immortals after dark series is an all time favorite.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have this incredible friend, Amy Jones. She has been a constant reminder what true friendship is with her never ending positive words and honesty. She has always told me that I am loved, cherished and missed when I don’t get to see her. Simple things like this change a person’s perspective in both real life and during the creative process, I know it has mine. Amy is a safe place for me to just simply be me.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, absolutely. It is the hardest and most rewarding job ever.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wouldn’t change a thing about Breaking the Girl. It turned out exactly as I envisioned.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was in love with boy that was nothing like anything I’d ever known. I began writing poems about how he made me feel that later turned into short stories. One of those short stories was later published when I was in high school.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Until it’s survived the first stage of editing, I can not! 😉

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The abuse. I cover a bit and all my characters experience it in different forms but it’s all in what you do with it. It can get tricky at times because you want everyone to live, but that just simply doesn’t always happen.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I will be this year. I have four events out of state but I’m truly looking forward to them.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Dane at ebook launch designed The Black Trilogy. The second book, Black as Night, actual won the best cover award for that year and Michelle at BlueSky Design @BlueSkyOverBoston designed Breaking the Girl.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I feared judgement because the content is dark and gritty. I no longer struggle with this and only wish for more time to write.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Whatever the subject, let it go, tell it all and leave nothing out.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

For the Black Trilogy it would be Chris Pine as Ryan and Scarlett Johansson as Piper


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write. Don’t think about where it will go beyond that moment and never worry about what others will think of your work..


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

For those that take the time to leave a review, THANK YOU! It is the greatest act you can do for an author.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently writing and do not read while developing a story. I do however binge watch t.v. Most recently it was Gold Rush. I couldn’t stop watching it!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

To Kill a Mockingbird. I was eleven and while I’m sure I read others before, but this is my first memory of truly reading a book.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything can make me cry but the wounded animal commercial get me the most. Cue the ugly cries! I laugh easily and there’s nothing better than a good dinner with friends.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would have loved to have met Jackie Collins. She wrote a strong female character like no other making it perfectly fine to be both smart and sexy as hell..

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I loved you, with all of my heart, then and always.

no reason other than to remind whoever passes by that they were loved.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I sketch, especially when I dream alot. Also, I collect makeup. No idea why but I am never satisfied, it’s like an addiction or something.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I never miss The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones and How to get away with Murder. VIola Davis is the bomb!

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods – Pizza and Celery. Total contradiction but that’s me.

Colors – Black. No really, that’s all I wear.

Music – Primarily Alternative like Breaking Benjamin and Nine inch nails but I am known for my Drake obsession as well.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Art. either sketch or Painting

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is http://www.marenewebb.com/home.html

I am most active on my personal “friend” page on facebook.

https://www.amazon.com/M.C.-Webb/e/B00IIYZALO/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1489311697&sr=8-2-ent

