Name Kerri Ann

Age 40+

Where are you from North of Toronto Ontario

I read, write and love stories wholeheartedly. I live in them more than I probably should. I have an amazing husband that gives me time in my head and reminds me when I’ve checked out too long. I have five pets, two cats and three dogs that know I’m the queen. I might be the slave when it comes to their schedule, but when I want to relax they know the drill.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My large series is in it’s infant stage. It will be a few years until it’s done, but it feels right to pen it now. Some of it has been sitting on the shelf for a bit waiting for the right time to be released and everyday more of it clicks together.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

To quiet the voices. Damn characters are noisy. When I’m driving that’s when they talk, and when you’re on the road a lot they are your only constant companion. Giving you dirt on their lives I either write it out, or deal with them talking —all—the—time. It’s all about my sanity.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

About a month ago. It had nothing to do with sales, friends or followers, it had to do with stories just flowing out and feeling right. When a story feels like a story, it makes you feel more like a writer and less like a dabbler.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The characters. Really, every time it’s their fault. Stories are beautiful when the people in it want to tell you all the things that make them tick. It’s like this; if you don’t put them down, you become mentally imbalanced when they talk to you too much.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes. I hate to know the storyline upfront and that comes across in the stories. There has to be elements that make it suspenseful, intriguing, and hopefully enough to keep you engaged. Sure, I’ll give you the story in the end — what made them tick, but until then I want you to fall in love with them.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It’s somewhere in the story. It shows up when I least expect it. I don’t necessarily chose it, it choses me.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

It may sound familiar, but JK Rowling had it right, ‘Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on a light.’ We all have sections of light and dark in our personal stories, and even though we want a release from the day to day troubles, we want something that feels real and that’s relatable.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Made up. I’m a people watcher so of course there will always be elements of truthfulness to the stories, clips and snippets of something I’ve seen, but all in all it’s all from this head.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? Most influential?

That’s hard. There’s so many as I’m an avid reader. I’d have to say David Gemmel, Jack Whyte would be the two that made me love reading again. As for mentor, there’s many. Each author you meet gives you a piece of their style, their knowledge and their joy of writing. It keeps you humble knowing they helped you, it makes you help others.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

All are pretty new to me. I’ve only been reading now for the last ten years, and every time you run across something new, it’s a new author to you. I’d have to say that so many are an absolute joy to read. They make you laugh, cry, pout and wish your iPad had wings and a soft landing. What strikes me about so many authors is their individual styles. Each have little tidbits that make them special.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Bloggers and support teams. I’ve made so many new friends that there are ladies I’d consider family now. I’m looking forward to meeting them in person. The internet can be such a lonely place. We’re connected and close, but distance makes it almost impossible to give them the gratitude they deserve.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. No question about it. At this time I have a full time job and I wish that writing were it. Soon enough it will be because it gives me such joy.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. That’s the worst thing we do. We adjust it so much, hoping to make it better each time, but I think we overdo the corrections. We take out some of what made it special in the first place. Once it feels good enough for me to put The End, then I consider it complete.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Grade 10 english class. I had to write a creative story and it ignited the writing bug in me. Now, I almost feel like I’m denying the characters life if I don’t write them down.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It’s a series. I don’t know when it became apparent that it would stretch out to the number of books I’m putting into it, but it felt right to give them all their due. My Crown and Anchor series will be stretched across three families. There’s darkness, sadness and intense happiness. I hope it’s enjoyed.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The tie ins. I know where I’m taking them, I know where they came from, but it’s the bits that tie it all together. That is what makes it seamless and necessary. You can overdo it, or under, it’s knowing when to give it more.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Nope. I wish I did though. I will in the future as the stories need a hands on experience to make it realistic and plausible.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

B2B covers. She’s amazing. I ask a ton of her just in tweaks, in changes, in the way that the cover has to make me say ‘yes, that’s it!’ and if I don’t have it, we just keep trying.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Blurbs are always a challenge, but the acknowledgements and dedications. It’s evil to think of all those who have helped or made you better.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes. Mental health is dangerous, hard on those around them and that it’s overlooked as an illness. It’s seen as a weakness which makes it harder for those suffering to relate in everyday conditions. Understanding is key.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

Easy. But I can’t tell you about him yet. He’ll arrive soon enough though.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes. Don’t focus on the sales. Sure it’s great to see yourself climbing charts, being noticed, and seeing that people have picked up your books, but it’s not the reason you started. If it was, find another profession to dabble in. Writing is a passion and if you don’t have a passion for it, then others will know. Care about your characters, give everyone you meet fairness and remember when someone helped you. Don’t be a bitch later because you’re amazing now. Always remember who you are and why you did it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. It’s that whole, ‘if a tree falls in the forest’ then who knew of you. Without readers picking it up and flipping pages you’d be nothing. I love their feedback, their care to share you and the sweetness they show for your stories. It’s immeasurable what it means.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Honestly, I’m waiting. I have tons to read; friends books, authors I look forward to their next, and Arc’s that are in my to do list. But at the moment I need to get these characters out. They’ve been talking to long to be silenced. Soon though, that iPad will fire up and run out of juice quick.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No. But the first that stuck with me I do. Jack Whyte and his take on King Arthur. The Singing Sword.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

It just takes the right situation to make me laugh, I’d laugh all day if I could. Crying. Yeah, I’m not a crier. I’m a laugher. I’m a glass half full and I always let shit roll. Sooner or later it’ll come back to you, but don’t stress it too hard. If it was hard now, it might be clearer later and easier to deal with then.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Elton John. I’d ask him for a lullaby. I think he’d sing a lovely lullaby.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Never took shit too seriously. I always look at the bright side and figure it will all be there long after I’m gone.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Travelling. I figure living in the same post code your whole life and not venturing will be a regret. I want to see it all, and I don’t want to wait until I’m ninety and unable to.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Taboo. Anything Marvel or DC, and if it has action with a sassy man or sarcastic woman I’m in.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

Food — easy. Give me spice. A girlfriend once told me I was born the wrong color. I shouldn’t love Indian, Caribbean and spicy foods as much as I do, but dammit give me everything you got! Music, easy. Alternative. I’m a child of the nineties grunge, Britrock like the Smiths and even now I love the new alternative. I don’t listen to regular radio stations, and I can’t live without Sirius radio. The music is needed to write the stories, and picking the right music gives the characters their flow.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A professional traveller. I’d love to work for a company that let’s me try out all the best places. I’m not afraid to try anything or anywhere.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes. my website is www.authorkerriann.com

Amazon Authors page USA     https://www.amazon.com/Kerri-Ann/e/B01K689UZ6/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

UK   https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kerri-Ann/e/B01K689UZ6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1489170523&sr=1-2-ent

 

