Name Clair de Lune and also Fiona McGregor

Age retired several years ago.

Where are you from

I was born in South Yorkshire, England. I did a degree in Modern Languages at Leeds University and taught for 36 years, eventually as Head of the Modern Languages in a small 11-18 school. I’m married with three children, two boys and a girl. I have five grandchildren. I have lived in southern Scotland for 27 years

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have just published two books with Vinvatar and the third will be released soon. I have several works in progress, as usual.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

When I retired I took the opportunity to catch up on all the things I hadn’t been able to do while working. I did a lot of reading and embroidery, quilting and appliqué. My youngest son suggested I write a book, but I am sure he didn’t expect the book I did write.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After a year of writing, when I had had several books published.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had read a lot of BDSM but all the main characters seemed very young. I wanted to explore relationships between people of my generation. For many of them this is a second chance, with all the doubts and difficulties that brings.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes. I write British English. My stories are based in the north of England and Scotland.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Sometimes titles just come to me as I’m writing. With Ness’s  Bane, I was ready to submit the book before the title popped into my mind. I do have a list of titles that might fit someday. I also keep a list of names for my characters.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novels that you want readers to grasp?

Love and sex are not just for the very young. Many of my characters are offered a second chance and it’s how they accept the risks this involves and develop their new relationship, that interests me. One pair of characters has four books dedicated to them and this allows me to explore the development of their relationship. A happy ever after is just the beginning.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I can’t say I know any shape shifters, but it seems to me, that apart from the obvious, their problems in relationships would be the same as anyone else’s. I believe that what I write is enriched by my background and experience, and no doubt people I have met influence my characters, but I do a lot of research as well.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Ever since I was very young I have loved to read. I remember trips to Woolworth’s in Barnsley with a favourite uncle. I always came home with a Blackie’s Classic. When I began to learn French and later Spanish I read avidly in both languages. I love detective fiction and above all Sci Fi. The writer I always return to is Jane Austen. If I could have only one book it would be Pride and Prejudice.

I’m very grateful to Cooper McKenzie for her help and encouragement when I was starting. I am lucky to have Susan Foulkes and Lyn Liles to beta read my books, and Sage Marlowe to edit them

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I am delighted that Chrysta Mane is published and writing books 2 and 3 of her shifter series. She writes well and I’m sure she will be successful.

Jane Austen’s irony and humour are captivating, and her writing is elegant. Her female characters are strong and well-drawn. I love the Regency period and her pictures of life at that time.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My publisher

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No. I retired from teaching, which was my career, and I enjoy writing, but I have too many commitments to pursue a second career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Probably. I edit as many times as I can, but there is always something that escapes me.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always loved to read. I told my children and my grandchildren stories. It’s no surprise to my family that I did start to write

 

 

.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My next release for Vinvatar is MM.

Red is for Denial… 3rd in the Red series. 7

Ewan Keire and Aonghas Drummond have been denying their true natures for all of their lives, for similar reasons.

Ewan, who has worked hard to become the editor of the local paper, believes he will lose his job and ruin his parents’ lives if he comes out as gay.

Aonghas was thrown out by his abusive father when he discovered Aonghas’ true nature. His aunt, who took him in, thought that being gay was a sin and a disease that could be cured, if only he tried hard enough. Aonghas tried, but he has come to believe that love and happiness just aren’t for him.

When they meet by chance in “Red,” a secret and exclusive BDSM club, they are strongly attracted, but feel unable to develop a relationship. Fate takes a hand in the person of Briar Rose, a gold-digging schemer, who decides that Ewan is hers and hers alone. When he rejects her, hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. Will she succeed or will true love conquer all?

I also have collections out for Siren

http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/landingpages/delune.php

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing is not a problem. I have periods when I don’t write, but I usually get over them quite quickly. I find the publicity difficult.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not much. I set my novels in areas I am familiar with. I wrote the Red series after a holiday to Speyside and visits to various Whisky distilleries. The Dragons of the Cairngorms developed out of a visit to Loch Ness.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My Siren covers were designed by Christine Kirchoff and the Wolf shape shifter, “In the Beginning” was designed by Harris Channing. The Red series was designed by Jess Buffett.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part was finding the time to sit down and write.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned to be meticulous in editing, to check facts and show not tell.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I haven’t really thought about it, but Master Angus just has to be Sean Connery.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep trying, edit and rewrite as many times as you can.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading Chrysta Mane’s “Blinded by Snow: The Mystery of Keyser Ridge,” I am enjoying it very much.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Wanton cruelty makes me cry. Many things make me laugh. I loved a weekly satire programme called “That was the Week that Was.” I never missed Monty Python and Have I got News for You” is one of my current favourites.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Several… Jane Austen, A.E. Van Vogt, Professor Robert Bartlett, Isaac Asimov, Jacob Bronowski and last but not least, Sean Connery.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I am going to be cremated and my ashes scattered. I want my family to remember me as I was in life not visit a grave.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, cooking, embroidery, appliqué.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Scandinavian crime like Beck, Wallander etc. I like detective films, love CSI, Endeavour, NYPD Blue, Cadfael, Morse, Foyle’s War, Lewis. I like a good story with strong characters and realistic settings unless it’s Sci Fi and then the Sky’s the limit, Avatar. Stargate Atlantis. Star Trek and I can’t wait for Anne McCaffrey’s dragon stories are made into films.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love to cook and make almost everything from scratch. My favourites are Paella, Spanish Omelette, Roast lamb, Spaghetti Carbonara, Red Velvet cake, home-made soup.

Greens and blues and some yellows.

I like a lot of types of music.

Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Runrig, Moody Blues, Queen, to name but a few.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I taught for many years and really loved it.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.clairdelunebooks.co.uk

Buy links

http://www.bookstrand.com/clair-de-lune

www.vinvatar.com

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/cairgorm-dragons-?store=allproducts&keyword=cairgorm+dragons+

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/rotherham-hall-?store=allproducts&keyword=rotherham+hall+

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Prometheus-in-chains-?store=allproducts&keyword=Prometheus+in+chains+

Amazon.com

https://www.amazon.com/Clair-de-Lune/e/B009EWZF6Y

Amazon.co.uk

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Clair-de-Lune/e/B009EWZF6Y

