Name Staci Layne Wilson

Age 50

Where are you from

Hollywood

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was raised by a rock star and a pinup model (that’s what my new book is about!), so it was an unconventional upbringing to say the least.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’ve been working for the past 9 months – appropriately enough – on birthing not one, but two books. The first one is my mother Nancy Bacon’s tell-all memoir, “Legends and Lipstick” (which I edited) and then writing my own life story, “So L.A.” I think is the first mother/daughter memoir launch, and it’s been pretty exciting getting everything ready. The first reviews are starting to trickle in, and it’s so gratifying to see that the readers are taking both books the way they were intended.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My mom is a writer – when I was growing up, she was the editor of Confidential Magazine and she also wrote romance novels – so when I was very young, I was writing ‘books’ on her discarded typing paper in crayon. I had my first article published in a national magazine at the age 12. As for why I started writing, I think it’s simply my calling. I can’t imagine not writing.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Early on. I was always encouraged by my parents, and when I started getting published, it felt like the ultimate validation.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book, Rock & Roll Fantasy, is a quest saga I started writing in high school. I was inspired by Piers Anthony’s Xanth series of books, Alice in Wonderland, and Led Zeppelin IV. Though I started writing it as a teenager, it took many iterations before it was ready for prime time… it was not published until the early 2000s.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

For sure. And sometimes it’s in spite of myself: no matter what the subject, my dark sense of humor creeps in.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title of my current book, “So L.A.” just seems right for a memoir by someone who grew up in Hollywood, but it’s kind of tongue-in-cheek, because I am not the typical Angelino.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I hope to inspire people, especially women, that it is never too late to find love or (and) success. I want to show that staying true to who you are, and persevering even when it seems the odds are against you, pays off.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s non-fiction, so it’s all true! (Though I wish some of it wasn’t… I decided not to shy away from the more trying times.)


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I love deeply-personal nonfiction. I’d have to say that everything from “Black Like Me” to “I’m With the Band” to “Stephen King on Writing” have all influenced me. I never had a mentor, though I have been met with support and enthusiasm from friends and family on choosing a very unstable career.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m loving: Chevy Stevens, Gillian Flynn, Stacey Keith, Kealan Patrick Burke, and J.H. Moncrieff.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 

The “horror community” in L.A. The writers, novelists, journalists, and filmmakers working in the indie/genre space are incredibly supportive.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

It’s so new, it’s hard to tell yet… it just came out. I spent a lot of time fine-tuning it after it was “done” so I think it’s the best it can possibly be.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Watching my mom, Nancy Bacon, sitting at her typewriter! It seemed so magical watching a blank page go into the roller, and come out with a story on it.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Anyone can read the first 50 pages for free on the Amazon website, or through Kindle.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

More on the editing side – I am the absolute worst about spotting my own typos. So, at least two sets of other eyes is essential for me.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, since it’s partially about me, and partially about Los Angeles, I decided not to cover too many outside travels (though I do talk about traveling to London and Tokyo a bit).


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did! These days, you have got to be a one-man-band.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 

Not belaboring certain points. I had a very difficult relationship with one person who really messed up my life for awhile, and I wanted to write specifically about all the bad things that happened, but then I realized that that would be a different book. And I may write that book someday. But it was not appropriate for this one. So, I pared the story down to the essentials and I am glad I did – it’s a lot better this way.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That my life is more exciting than I thought! I grew up in some pretty wild times (the 70s and 80s), and have been lucky enough to meet and interview some of the biggest stars in the whole world. I’ve taken it all in stride as nothing too special, but seeing all the stories on the page puts it into a different light.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Now, or younger versions of us? I guess, if now, I’d choose Ann Margaret to play my mom and Isla Fisher to play me.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write! That’s it: just do it. Even if it’s not very good, you can always go back and edit. At least you have something.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

My goal is to entertain and educate – I write film essays, as well as books – and it seems that’s what I’ve achieved. So, thank you for “getting it” and sticking with me.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Carrie Keagan’s “Everybody Curses: I Swear!” and I loved it. Next up, I want to finish Owen Glieberman’s “Movie Freak” (which I started weeks ago, but had to set aside). After that, I’m going to need some fiction.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Aside from kids’ picture books, the first novels I remember reading and falling in love with, are Walter Farley’s “Black Stallion” series. I revisited a couple of them as an adult, and still enjoyed the writing style and stories.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

When my cat tries to make a jump from the sofa to the shelf and misses / Stories of reunions.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Oscar Wilde. He was so witty.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Moved. Left no forwarding address.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Writing isn’t a hobby for me. (But I’d still do it, even if I didn’t get paid… so I guess in a way, it is!) I love going to museums.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I just finished watching The People Vs OJ Simpson, and I was riveted by it.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Anything that’s not on my diet / Red and white / Classic rock.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Fitness instructor.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://stacilaynewilson.com

Books can be found on Amazon:

Legends and Lipstick

http://a.co/87de59f

So L.A.

http://a.co/2rxMvGm

 

Amazon Author Page

https://www.amazon.com/Staci-Layne-Wilson/

 

 

 

