Name  Samantha Swain

Age  Since I was 25 I’ve never told

Where are you from  Originally, Harvey, IL which is a suburb of Chicago.  Currently, Atlanta, GA.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest book is called “The Neighbors Next Door”.  In short, have you ever wondered about the neighbors?  The cute childless couple that live in a house in the middle of the street?  From their accent to their ages and not willingly complying with being fingerprinted, nothing about them and the findings matched.  Everything about them seemed suspicious.  What could they be up to?

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

Writing has always been easy for me.  It wasn’t viewed as a gift or something I could do full-time until I became an adult.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I first considered myself a writer about two years ago.  I analyzed most book that I’ve read.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As a female non-fiction writer it wasn’t easy.  To me, the market was empty but most true crime writers are male.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

Non-fiction writer of true crime.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

That’s something I look to my daughter.  She’s great with creating names and titles.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

There is no direct message.  It’s interesting to me how people can relate to the crimes; whether for themselves or someone they know.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Very.  Non-fiction writing you learn to pay attention to detail.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

I work in the law enforcement and legal arena so the stage is set from people/inmates I come in contact with.  When I was younger I had a subscription for Nancy Drew books not knowing that her type of crimes would influence me.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are authors that I have befriended, but none that I have grasped.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

It’s hard to say that I would be more detailed when most individuals are not readers of true crime.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure.  “According to the dictionary, authenticity is defined as “the quality of being authentic.” Changes occur from what we see and what we know. There are crimes that play on that change. When it comes to authenticity of crimes, autopsies exist for a reason; crime labs exist for a reason; forensics can be cutting-edge. All three exist to differentiate what is seen and what is known. What we see is everyone displaying traits of law-abiding citizens on a daily basis, but behind closed doors could be something different – a different world that we do not know.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes. Finding crimes that people find interesting to read.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not at all.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

They are selected based on what’s offered through the website of amazon.com.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Keeping it authentic.

 

 
Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Never thought about them being in film, but considering the different investigative shows that people are in to, I always see my books being on tv.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Learn, learn, learn.  Learn all that you can before you settle into a genre of writing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

Trust me, you will start to see people differently.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I keep returning to my own manuscripts.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

The first book I read was Charlotte’s Web.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? 

That’s a hard one.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

That list would be too long.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ? 

I enjoy people!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

Castle, Criminal Minds, SVU, etc.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music. 

I don’t have a favorite food.  One of my favorite colors is pink, another is brown.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I can’t imagine.

 

Amazon authors page https://www.amazon.com/Samantha-Swain/e/B01LWZ191X/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

