Name: Jordin Thiele

Age :50

Where are you from?

I live in the northern suburbs of Brisbane Australia with my partner Melissa Bell (Author of Five Brothers Series.)

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Growing up, my family moved around a lot, I have four brothers and 1 sister of which were all born in different states of Australia, so you can imagine how many different schools I went to. ultimately though, I grew up on the Murray River in South Australia.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I finally finished the long-awaited LUST, the final addition to my KINDRED Trilogy. Now I’m focused on the newest genre that I recently embarked upon, a thriller.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I published my first book in 2014, but had written a hand full of short stories and poems in 1995 after my mother passed away. It was my way of  dealing with my grief.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still question that from time to time. But if I’m serious, probably after I published LINE OF DESCENT, book 3 in my BLOOD LINES TRILOGY.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Well Melissa Bell of course, she was already publishing her DUTIFUL GODS SERIES and was also working on THE FIVE BROTHERS SERIES. I was giving her words of encouragement and telling her that not everybody can write a book, and that she should be very proud of herself for what she was achieving. She told me that she thought I could do it, I initially wrote her small chapter of love called after hours….just to prove her wrong. She published it, it’s since been un-published and is waiting to be extended into a book. I realized how much I missed writing so tested myself beyond 2000 words. I’m still testing myself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, I write in too many genre’s now to adopt one specific style, though ALL of my books have at least one character that is loosely based on myself, its usually the smart assed one with the tongue in cheek attitude, my tongue lives in a wet place, so it often slips. So, I guess you could call my style “Jordinesque.”

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Melissa Bell designs all my covers, I tell her my story line, she comes up with the cover, then when I’m totally happy with it, I try to find a name to the story and the cover to match. So far, so good.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Its best not believe everything you hear, and probably not everything you read, but ALWAYS believe in YOU.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

OOOH a loaded question….Almost (But not all) of the victims in my books are real people who have thwarted me in one way or another. This way I can kill them all off, reap my revenge and not have to answer to the law. My Murder Mysteries required some research, so the evidence is as realistic as I could make them without taking from real and actual events. The rest, is fiction, the only facts are vampires and dragons ARE out there. *WINK* 

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Not so much the books, but the authors, have inspired me. Patricia Cornwall inspired me to try my hand at Mystery along with Jeffery Deaver, Sue Grafton, Faye and Jonathan Kellerman. But when I was young, my teacher introduced my class to an Aussie author by the name of Colin Thiele (No relation) but was the author of the books (Later made into movies) Blue Fin, and Storm Boy. I loved how his words took me to the outback, of course it helped that that’s where I was raised, but he took me back and I loved it. I’ve always admired writers that can take me away to places and experiences that my own life can’t even Imagine.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

View the previous response. But please ad, Melissa Bell. All Bias aside, I just love her work.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My job. LMAO but seriously I can’t possibly stop at one. There are 2 people that are forever in my corner, other than Melissa of course. One is my longtime friend Anne Miller, and the other is a man by the name of Chris Wood. The hero the book that I’m currently working on, EVISCERATED, has his name sake. I also have to mention my loyal followers that I plan on meeting face to face ASAP. Wendy Howard, Lisa-Marie Welch and the incredible Karla Hetherigton.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

There’s a lot of competition out there, so probably not a career just yet, but most certainly I can see it as part of my life for the rest of my life. I love it.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not a thing. It is what it is.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, I was in year 9 and we had to do a 1000-word essay on anything we wanted. The other kids wrote about what they did during the recent holidays, I wrote a murder mystery, and my word count was 2500. It was rushed but it was solid. I failed because of my word count, but my teacher loved the story so much my overall grade for the term was an A, she was constantly reminding me of my story every time I wrote anything that wasn’t quite up to scratch. I was embarrassed and honored at the same time, and she always said I should wrote more stories. So, a big shout out to Miss, Annells. Here I am.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Hmmm, it’s a mystery thriller. To tell would be telling.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Mostly time. Time is always against me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Only in my head mores the pity.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Melissa Bell. She’s just brilliant in capturing exactly what I want.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Getting started and knowing when to stop. I can’t stand un-necessary waffle and try to avoid using it to build a word count.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’ve learnt a lot about myself, when I read some extracts I realize that I’m a smart ass, but I’ve learnt who my real friends are, and I’ve learned a lot about patients and humility.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I’d love to see Paul Wesley play Brandon and James Spader play Gabrielle in my Kindred trilogy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep doing what you’re doing, don’t give up, and don’t let any bodies expectations of you be greater than your own.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Please, please, leave an honest review, but be respectful, we are only human and we do our very best to please you.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading “JENA” by Shay Bell.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Charlie and the chocolate factory.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Believe it or not, almost everything. People, mostly.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

We meet every one for a reason, a season or a lifetime, so if I’m meant to meet them, I will, in the mean time they’re all out there. Too many to name them all.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“And Now I Rest In Peace.”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Yes, I make 3D piñatas for people on special occasions and I love cooking and entertaining.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love reality T.V and quiz shows, soppy movies and action packed filled with special effects.  I hate with a passion, soap opera.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love fresh fruit and vegetables, fish and chicken, my favorite colors are red, purple, and all pastels, and I love all music from classical, country, house music, rap and rock. My mood dictates what I listen to in the moment though.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I studied Youth work, and would love to have continued my work with young people but my own life became a priority and I had to step out of it. I’m very passionate about the protection of youth and young people, the aged and equal rights for EVERYBODY.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can find me on google search or any of the following links.

Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/J-Thiele/e/B00XW8S6LM/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Wix: http://authorjthiele.wixsite.com/authorjordinthiele

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJ.Thiele/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Jordintheiele

