Name Jade Whitfield

Age 23

Where are you from

I’m from a little market town in the Black Country in the UK. It’s a far cry from where my books are usually based in the US but I wouldn’t live anywhere else. Except maybe Australia. I have a four-year-old son that is the absolute light of my life. He keeps me busy when I’m not writing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’ve just released a novelette especially for Valentine’s Day. Four Days to Valentine’s follows Elle Kennedy as she prepared for her husband’s return after his last tour in Afghanistan. It hilarious as well as being hot as hell. I’m also making a few finishing touches to my next book in The Forever Love Series, Happily Forever After.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written. When I was younger, about ten or eleven, I started to write a book called Blue Bellsia. It followed a travelling circus. It probably wasn’t very good back then book I loved it. At school English was the only subject I actually paid attention to and once I finished school, I had a long line of failed career attempts. I’ve worked everywhere from a library to a solicitors to a dressmakers. None have ever kept my attention for longer than a couple of months and eventually I’d just move onto the next one. Writing is most definitely for keeps though.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I probably didn’t consider myself a true author until my second novel, Forever Together was released. It wasn’t until then that it seemed real.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always been an avid reader. Even while reading though, I’d have characters begging to be unleashed in my head. Eventually, they just had to be written. I never started with the aim to release a book, it just happened.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

That’s probably the hardest part of writing. Sometimes it just comes to me, sometimes it’s something that relates to the story. It’s always a long and hard process though.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I always make my heroine’s a little bit different. Theyre either clumsy or ballsy, quirky or sassy. I like them to be realistic while also confident and true to themselves. Different novels have different messages though. For instance, Forever Love very much has the message that love can heal anything and that even the most scarred and broken of people can have their happy ending. Forever Together is a completely different message. It’s the story of two people growing together.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Forever Love has parallels to my own life. The things that Liv has been through and some of the reactions she has to it mirror my own. Her attitude and personality are quite similar to mine though I’m not as extreme. I try to make my books as realistic as possible and a ton of research goes into each one.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Tessa Valis, one of my very best friends is an incredible author. Her writing is so amazing. I always say it’s like something you’d pick off the shelf at a Waterstones. It’s just perfect and so talented. Another of my best friends Julian Napier inspires me so much with his writing because it’s so daring. He’s not afraid to push boundaries and Theyre always entertaining.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My PA, Ana. She’s my best friend, surrogate sister and is my biggest cheerleader. She has my back no matter what and is always there for me. She’s like my left arm! Not only does she keep me organized and focused but she does all my editing and is there for me to bounce ideas off whenever I need to.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Sometimes I do but even two years later, I don’t really feel as if this is my life. I’m incredibly lucky to be doing the thing I love most as an actual job and I thank my lucky stars every day!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I’m a perfectionist story wise. I usually don’t finish until I’m one hundred percent happy with the story. They are my babies after all.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always enjoyed writing. It’s just always come naturally. It was the only subject I excelled it and kept my interest. Being such an obsessive reader too meant that it just automatically transferred over.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Research mainly. I like to be realistic so a hell of a lot of research goes in to everything. Also, sometimes it can be a struggle keeping those different perspectives and characters. It’s easy to get the two mixed up.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really though I do have signing booked for the next couple of years. I’m at Walsall Book Social in May and in July 2018 I’ll be at Kent Book Bash with the amazing Tessa Valis.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 Dokeshi’s Book Services run by one of my best friends Julian Napier is my incredible cover designer who designs all my covers, teasers and author banners.

https://www.facebook.com/DokeshiDesigns/?fref=ts


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I love this question! Mostly because I have the answers already planned out. For the Forever Love Series it would have to be Diana Agron playing Liv. If I based Liv’s physical appearance on anyone then it would be her. Scott Eastwood would be playing Noah simply because he’s sexy as hell. For Forever Together it would have to be Kristen Kreuk to play Cindy and Dave Franco to play Brady. When I imagine those two characters in my head, that’s what they look like.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write whatever you’re willing to read yourself. Don’t ever feel as if nobody will like it or read. I can guarantee that at least one person will love it! And that’s what counts.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for all your support! I never in my wildest dreams thought somebody would want to read something I’d written, something that had come out of my head. I’ve met some incredible people on this journey and made some amazing friends. I really don’t know what I’d do without you all.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’ve just finished Ungranted Wishes by Grace Risata. It was absolutely amazing and I would definitely recommend it.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

As in ever?! I have no idea but the first full book I ever read was probably Harry Potter. I used to be such a fangirl!

Fiona: What makes you laugh?

I laugh at the worst things. Literally anything you’re not supposed to laugh at or find funny, you can guarantee I’m in the corner giggling.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Tolkien. Always Tolkien. He managed to create an entire world, an entire language too! He was so smart and I’d love to get an insight into that.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Warning: Buried Alive

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now, I’m a total Netflix addict! Usually I can go months at a time without watching hardly any TV. Right now, I’m binging though. Gossip Girl is still my favorite show of all time even five years after it went off the air! I love the likes of Supernatural, Vampire Diaries, The US Office, How I Met Your Mother. I’m currently watching The Ranch and Friends with Better Lives on Netflix too. Theyre my new guilty pleasure. Movie wise, I love the Marvel films and The Hobbit films. The Notebook never fails to make me cry and Superbad and American Pie never fails to make me laugh.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mmmm favorite food would have to be any fast food. McDonalds, Dominos, Burger King, KFC, Subway, you name it I love it! I’m way too unhealthy!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably Fashion Design. I love fashion and that would have absolutely been my next port of call if I hadn’t have started writing.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.facebook.com/jadewhitfieldwrites

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1699940473600146/

 

Links:

 

Forever Love:

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Forever-Love-Book-ebook/dp/B00X8D6E7Y/ref=pd_sbs_351_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=3W2RW2KFMXRZEJPD5CAG

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forever-Love-Book-ebook/dp/B00X8D6E7Y/ref=pd_sbs_351_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=3W2RW2KFMXRZEJPD5CAG

Forever Together:

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Forever-Together-Love-Book-ebook/dp/B01D41IR1A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1487009129&sr=8-2&keywords=forever+love+jade+whitfield

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forever-Together-Love-Book-ebook/dp/B01D41IR1A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1487009129&sr=8-2&keywords=forever+love+jade+whitfield

Four Days To Valentine’s:

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Four-Days-Valentines-Jade-Whitfield-ebook/dp/B06X3QSJLG/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Four-Days-Valentines-Jade-Whitfield-ebook/dp/B06X3QSJLG/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

The White Ribbon Collection:

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/White-Ribbon-Collection-Jade-Whitfield/dp/1540898385/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/White-Ribbon-Collection-Jade-Whitfield/dp/1540898385/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

 

Forever Love Teasers:

Forever Together Teasers

 

