Name Roya Carmen

Age I’ve been 36 for a while now… lol!!

Where are you from

I’m originally from northern Canada. I now live just north of Toronto with my husband and three kids.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am presently working on my third and final book in my Riverstone Series. It’s a steamy romance series about three siblings who inherit a horse estate. The book will be out next May.

 

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always loved drawing, reading and writing. Although, I didn’t write seriously until I had the idea for my first romance series The Ground Rules.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When my series The Ground Rules was picked up by a publisher (Omnific Publishing).

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book Back to You was a short romance (55k words) I wrote because I was dreaming of being published with Harlequin. It’s a sweet summer romance.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My style is fast paced. I sometimes jump from character to character or from scene to scene relatively swiftly. I prefer 1st POV and I always throw in a little sass and humour.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Ground Rules came to me before I even wrote the book. For my Riverstone Series, I used the names of gems and stones for my heroines; Loving Amber, Loving Ruby, Loving Jade. Stories will sometimes inspire titles as I am writing them.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The main theme is The Ground Rules is monotony and infidelity. It’s easy to get caught up in the excitement of a passionate affair but is it worth it?

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The Ground Rules trilogy which is about two couples who swap was inspired by an article I read and my friend’s sister who was in a polyamorous relationship and it almost turned to divorce – I found that lifestyle fascinating and wanted to explore it in a story. The Riverstone series is inspired by the barn where my daughter rides.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I loved Wuthering Heights. It was one of the first romance I ever read. Bridges of Madison County. I love Sophie Kinsella books and Jodi Picoult books. When I was younger, I was crazy about Nicholas Sparks.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

As mentioned above, I love Jodi Picoult. Her stories are character driven and her prose is poetic. She weaves such intense stories. I’ve tried to do the same, using intense storylines and lots of angst but I’m just not as good at it as she is… no one is. These days, I’m loving Gillian Flynn who is an amazing Canadian writer.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My small writers group. We meet almost every week… love them!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it as a hobby, a passion and a dream.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No… I might revise the ending of my third book in The Ground Rules trilogy… it was met with mixed reviews and I received a lot of hate mail over it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always enjoyed drawing, reading and writing. I took a creative writing class in my twenties and revived my passion for writing.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Loving Jade is still pretty rough at the moment but it’s the story of a broken woman who runs from her abusive husband and retreats to a horse farm, and falls for her equine therapist.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Since I write erotic romance, I find incorporating lots of sexual scenes and still weaving a good plot is challenging.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. At the moment I do not do events. I do travel for personal purposes and I sometimes use the locations I’ve visited in my books.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My covers for my trilogy The Ground Rules were designed by my publisher. My other covers are designed by me – before I became a stay-at-home mom, I worked over twelve years as a Graphic Designer, and studied Graphic Communications. I do all my own teasers too.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Achieving good plot structure.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Passion can be both wonderful and heart breaking.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

If The Ground Rules were a movie, perhaps Kat Dennings (from Two Broke Girls) would be a great Mirella…. beautiful and curvy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Do it only if you love it. Be patient and enjoy the journey.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much to all of you who have supported me.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Die for You by Lisa Unger

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Le petit prince was one of my earlier memorable reads.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Books and Hallmark commercials.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

J.K. Rowling because she’s amazing.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Loving mother, wife and friend.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I paint, read, travel, yoga, billiards and camping. Presently learning Spanish.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now… The Affair, Suits… I love TV!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Thai food, green, all kinds of music from pop, hard rock, classic, country and blues.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A psychologist… I really am fascinated by people and why they act the way they do.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.royacarmen.com

Other links:

 

Roya Carmen Amazon Page

Roya Carmen Goodreads

Roya Carmen Facebook Page

Roya Carmen Twitter

Roya Carmen Instagram

 

 

