Name  Matt Wanicur

Age 38

Where are you from

Philadelphia, PA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I went to Penn State for 2 years, studying film. Next I moved onto The New York Film Academy where I really learned the craft of writing. I am very close to my family, despite the fact that we live far away.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I recently moved to sunny Windermere, FL. I came here to further my writing career. Having a lake view from my writing desk certainly doesn’t hurt!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at the age of 8. My first short story entitled “A Dog’s Kiss” won an award at school. I remember seeing it hanging up for everyone to see, and how happy that made me. After that I went into screenwriting for a long time, before eventually circling back to books.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The day I published my first novel. Although in retrospect, anyone who writes truly is a writer, published or unpublished. We all have something to say!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had worked on that particular story for 15 years as a short film and then feature length screenplay. I wanted to share it with the world. A friend convinced me (after years of egging me on) to turn it into a novel.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I am a free flowing writer in a sense. Not everything is predetermined and mapped out. In my head it is, but not always on paper. Which is why I probably end up editing my novels for a year.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It was natural. The idea of something that wakens in the night and torments people. Born of the Night. Boom!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Definitely. That we truly never know what others had gone through, or what they can be thinking. Underneath every laugh and smile, there can be something sinister and devious hiding under there. Clowns to me were a perfect allegory with their faces hidden behind masks and makeup. You can never know what they truly look like.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There are bits of pieces of me in there, as there will be every novel I write. The rest is a universe that only exists in my head.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

“The Stars My Destination” by Alfred Bester is the most influential for me. The protagonist, Gully Foyle, is unlike anyone I’ve ever read. The story sprawls across the universe so effortlessly. Other considerable influences are Stephen King, Arthur C. Clarke, Clive Barker, H.P. Lovecraft, and Joe Hill.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Joe Hill is my favorite current author. I’m reading “The Fireman” right now and I’m hooked. Everything I read of his pulls me in with it’s flawed, relatable characters. The stories flow effortlessly, and I can only hope to grasp the art of storytelling as well as him one day.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The voices in my head. Always listen to them.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. It is my career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’d write it sooner.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

After reading “The Stars My Destination” as a boy.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m currently working on Book 2 of the “Born of the Night” saga. It picks up directly where Book 1 leaves off. I’m also working on follow-ups to my novella “Blood Harbor”, another novella “Gatorland”, and will be releasing a children’s book “A Dog’s Kiss” shortly.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Staring at a computer screen 8 hours a day is the most challenging part for me. Creating and developing stories comes naturally.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I stay in the Orlando vicinity to promote it.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Crystal Napolitano. An illustrator, and children’s author.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing it without making it too long.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that the only thing holding me back from being successful, was myself.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

GREAT QUESTION! I think Brett Dalton would make an excellent Ethan.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

KEEP WRITING!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for all of your support, and putting up with how long it takes me to write and release books.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“The Fireman” by Joe Hill.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Green Eggs and Ham!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Hmmm that’s a loaded question. Great movies can make me do either.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Stanley Kubrick. The most innovative filmmaker in history, and my greatest influence in everything i do.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

No headstone for me., Cremation all the way.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Swimming, running, reading, video games. Does Netflix count?

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Everything Comic Book related (I love both Marvel and DC equally). My favorite current shows are Stranger Things and The Expanse. I love horror and Sci-Fi. Give me It Follows all day long.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mexican food/Black/All music

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Directing. Which I still hope to become.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 

https://www.facebook.com/mattwanicur/

https://www.facebook.com/botnbooks/

https://www.facebook.com/bloodharbor/

https://twitter.com/MattWanicur

https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/search?query=Matt%20Wanicur&fcsearchfield=Author

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/%22Matt%20Wanicur%22;jsessionid=58309550D6DD1F3AA51B02A1DD7D53BF.prodny_store01-atgap06?Ntk=P_key_Contributor_List&Ns=P_Sales_Rank&Ntx=mode+matchall

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/swathealin

https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B01LN2RFH4

