Name Dee Dee M. Scott

Age 39

Where are you from

Thank you featuring me on your blog! I was born and raised in Florence, South Carolina. I am a mother, wife and down to earth lady who gives all of the glory to Jehovah God and Jesus. I wear many hats. I am a playwright; film Producer, Publisher, author, entrepreneur, voice over actress, poet, philanthropist and business woman.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am about to release several books, including: Sent From Heaven- Series four, What He Didn’t Tell, and Love Brought Me Back- Series two.  I am also looking forward to the movie release: Lake House-Horror Movie, which was written, directed and executive produced by my husband: Danny L. Scott. I served as the supervising producer.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have been writing since the age of six. It was something I always did. By the time I was a teenager, I was writing poetry and performing in front of audiences. I wrote my first book after my husband brought me a computer to stop me from taking up space in our closets with the notebooks of stories that I had hand written.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have never thought of myself as a writer. It is just what I have done since the age of six. It came naturally and I love it.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book.

Shortly after the birth of my last son. I became ill and suffered with anemia. During the time I was recovering, I thought about all of the stories I had shelved, and all of the ideas and things that I wanted to do that I hadn’t done due to fear. I promised God that if I recovered, I would never hide any of the talents he’d blessed me with. Once I was well, I hit the ground running.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I always write in my own voice and stay true to my voice while writing.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I usually think of the title before I write the book. I try to find a title that sums up the heart of the story.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is a different message for each novel. However, the main theme for most of my books is always forgiveness.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None of what I write is based on my life. I write what comes to me. The characters come from my imagination, but they have personalities and flaws like real people do.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The late Langston Hughes. I read all of his poetry at a young age. His writing is so colorful and expressive. I love it!

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are so many. Even though I am a fiction writer, I love nonfiction and poetry. I would have to say Langston Hughes. His poetry books were the first books I read, and they taught me how to be expressive and colorful with my writing. Another book that I loved was: HomeComing by Cynthia Voight. The book took a twelve year- old -mind (at the time) on a wonderful journey.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My readers. They read my eBooks and attend book club meetings. They email me and write reviews. They spread the word about my books. They are wonderful! I am thankful for them.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. Everything I do pertaining to my career involves writing weather it’s a screenplay, play, poetry, or manuscript.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes, lots of things. But I realize I have to write the stories the way they come to me. Due to that, I believe that is the reason why my books resonate with my supporters.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was a child, I would write songs and make my brother and sister perform them. I always loved to read and create. It was just natural.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Yes. I am about to release several series that my supporters have been requesting.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time. I am working on several projects, and I have to squeeze in time to write at least one chapter a day.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes, with the first books I released. Now that I am producing several film projects, I mostly attend book club meetings and connect with my readers online.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have a team at my publishing company: Ahsyad Publication. We all come together to decide on the best cover for each story.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Again, I would have to say time. I make myself write every day.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes. Always listen to the characters. They drive the stories. They are the story. The characters are what readers love or hate about a book. So, I always stay true to the characters when I write.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

Several of my books are being made into films through my company. Some talented actors have been casted to bring the characters from several of my books to life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Study and learn everything you can about this industry. Lose the naysayers. If you have a talent, if you have a dream, surround yourself with like-minded people who will uplift and support you. Negative people are Cancer. They will destroy you and steer you away from your dreams, if you let them. You have to stay free of as much negativity as possible. You also have to work hard and stay focused on your path. Lastly, protect your dreams and surround yourself with people who believe in you and your vision.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to thank my readers for buying my books and their support. It means a lot to me.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Bible, because Jehovah God is always first and without Him I am nothing. My dictionary because I love searching for new words and my thesaurus because I find words that helps make my writing more vivid.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes. It was a collection of poems from Langston Hughes.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My family. My husband and children always make me laugh and happy. The untimely death of anyone makes me sad.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

The late Langston Hughes. His poems taught me how to be expressive and colorful with my own writing.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I think I am creating what will be written on my headstone every day that I am blessed to be here and present on earth. The way I treat people, the things I do, etc., All of that will be written and remembered by the people. It is left up to my family, the people I have encountered, or helped or shown love to along the way to say or remember and write and tell what they remember about me and why. All I can do is be the kind of person I would want someone to be to me. To sum it up: I treat everyone the way I would want to be treated.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I spend time with my family. We travel a lot together. We are very close and they are my biggest support system.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

When I have time to watch television, I like to watch the history and animal channels. Those are my favorites.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite foods:

I love vegetables and fruits.  Color: red and black Music: Oldies music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A college professor. I love teaching and worked as an elementary school teacher for several years.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.addmsentertainment.com

Links :

Amazan Author link: https://www.amazon.com/Dee-Dee-M.-Scott/e/B00AQL5UJY/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1488466453&sr=1-2-ent

Website: https://www.addmsentertainment.com

www.lakehousefilm.com

 

