Name : Author Betty Shreffler

Where are you from

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc : 

I’m an author of paranormal romantic suspense and contemporary romance. I write sexy and suspenseful stories with hot alphas and kickass heroines that have twists you don’t expect. I also write beautiful and sexy romances with tough women and their journeys at finding love. I’m a mix of country, nerdy, sassy, sweet and a whole lot of sense of humor. I’m a fan of photography, reading, watching movies, hiking, traveling, muscle cars, drinking wine, bubble baths and all things romantic. I live with my amazing hubs and five fur babies; two rescue pups and three kitties. My work experience has been diverse from working as a Ranger for the National Park Service to management positions in Fortune 500 companies. I’ve lived in four different states and moved homes twelve times. I received a BA in organizational management and minor in sociology, although my heart has always belonged to writing and photography. If I’m not writing or doing book events, then you can find me behind the lens of a camera, in the woods, or sipping wine behind a deliciously steamy book.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My 5th book, Fire On The Farm, a second chance contemporary romance will be released April 29th. Pre-orders are available here at: http://a.co/34uNDQ4

My 6th book, Castle of Kings, an edgy MC romance is with my agent currently being submitted to publishers. This is a book I’m anxious to get into the hands of readers.

I’m currently writing my 7th book, called Unbreak This Heart, about a woman who finds love after having survived a traumatic experience.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing around 12 years old. I received an assignment to write a children’s book and it came very easy to me. Writing poems and short stories became an emotional and creative outlet for me. I studied creative writing in High School and College to hone my skills and learn everything I could. During High School a book idea has stuck with me for years. After college I continued to write as a hobby, never really feeling like publishing was a realistic goal until I met a co-worker who had published a book and then motivated me to pursue publishing. My first book was the idea I had been holding onto for years. I ended up writing the book, then trashed it. I didn’t like the direction it had gone. I rewrote the entire book and ended up publishing my second draft. It became the first book of my Covenant Series.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’d felt like I was a writer all my life, but I didn’t feel like an Author until I published my first book.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was an avid reader of books in High School and a fan of Anne Rice. I read all her books. Reading her books, encouraged my love of writing and reading her vampire books is probably the inspiration for my first vampire book.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes, my writing style is descriptive. I write as though I am the character and I write with my senses; sight, smell, touch, so that the reader can feel like they are there as the character too. I also write alpha males and tough heroines. I don’t think I’m incapable of writing a weak female lead. I also like to surprise the reader with some kind of unexpected twist.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Each title of my books come to me like a light bulb being turned on. They usually have a meaning that matches the book. Such as with Embrace the Dawning the title matches an event that takes place in the book. With Cruel Temptation it’s something a character says, using the term cruel temptation. With Dark and Beautiful Nights it matches the plot events. With Fire on the Farm, there is a fire that happens in the book and it also means some sexy/heat/chemistry that happens on the farm with the cowboy and female lead. With Castle of Kings the motorcycle club is called the Kings. With Unbreak This Heart, I purchased a pre-made book cover and a similar title was on the cover. It ended up inspiring the title I chose for the book.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, with Fire on the Farm, the newest release there is a message in the Prologue that talks about overcoming depression and trusting in your journey. It’s something I had to learn for myself having dealt with depression all my life because of a traumatic experience I suffered through as a child.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The book is entirely fictional, but I wrote the beginning based on my own fear of losing my husband. He works in a high risk job and my worst nightmare is losing him.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Anne Rice, Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Ever since becoming an Indie Author and now a hybrid author I’ve been reading far more Indie works and works of my author friends. I’ve recently discovered, read and enjoyed the works of; MNever’s Moto, V. Kelly’s Pop and Popped, Belle Brooks Always you, RC Boldt Clam Jam. I have many more on my Kindle that I’m still working through.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I feel the most support has been from my husband and my fellow friend and author, Jane Anthony. We push each other to be better authors and have become a support system for each other and are able rely on each other for honest feedback.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I currently write full-time and hope to grow my career as an author.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

It’s ironic that you asked this. My editor has wanted me to change something in the beginning of the story that I did not want to change. I went back to the beta readers and they agree with me and told me not to make the change. So now, I have to wait and see what the readers think. I hope I was right in making my decision not to change what my editor wanted me to.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From the very first children’s book I wrote and my desire to express my emotions. At a young age writing was the only way for me to express my emotions. I had a very hard time verbally expressing them.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m currently writing my 7th book, called Unbreak This Heart, about a woman who finds love after having survived a traumatic experience.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I love to write all the time, but since becoming published I have to keep up with the marketing and staying in touch with readers and fellow authors, so my writing time has been cut back. Also I’m the kind of writer that doesn’t plot out my story, so I don’t always know what direction my book and characters are going to go. It’s all a mystery that comes together at the end and sometimes I can get a little stuck figuring out where the book is headed next.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do try to attend 2-4 books signings a year.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The Killion Group, Inc. designed the first 4 books. Cassy Roop of Pink Ink Designs designed Fire on the Farm and Unbreak This Heart. I have a cover I designed for Castle of Kings that I planned to send to another designer I wanted to work with, but that cover is on hold, while I find out if a publisher wants to contract the book.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I don’t find any of the writing hard. The most challenging is figuring out where the book is headed next, because I don’t plot out the book.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learn something new with every book I’ve written and it’s what my writing strengths are and what my writing bad habits are.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I’d love to see the Covenant Series make it to the movies or a tv series. I’d recommend Theo James, Jason Mamoa, Phoebe Tonkin as the lead characters.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up and hire an editor to clean up your manuscript. You can learn so much from your editor. Unedited work or self-edited work does not succeed as well in the writing market. Also join a writer’s group to get comfortable asking questions and learn what you can about the industry and your genre.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I absolutely adore my readers. They are the folks I get to share my work with and their feedback is sensational. I love to get to know readers and have met some incredible people that have become friends, who started out as someone who wanted to take a chance on reading my work.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m in between books, but will start either Rushed by Kerri Ann or Wrong by Jana Aston.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I do not remember the first book I read, but I do remember having some favorites as a child such as the Berenstein Bears, The Three Billy Goat Gruffs and the Precious Moments book of poems.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a big sense of humor and love to laugh. A lot of things bring me laughter such as; jokes, funny sexual innuendos, comedy movies, romcom books, or kids, puppies or kittens doing adorable things that make you laugh.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d like to meet Anne Rice or Nora Roberts, but I would hope they would be friendly and down to earth. I’d be disappointed to meet one of my writing idols to find out they weren’t nice.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She took life by the balls and never looked back.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I do. My husband and I love to travel to National Parks and hike and do wildlife or landscape photography. We’re a big supporter of the National Parks and wildlife.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Blindspot, Emerald City, This Is Us, Secrets and Lies, The Designated Survivor, Speechless, Timeless, Reign, The Originals, Game of Thrones.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Love all food! I enjoy going out to eat and enjoy different kinds of food. Some of my faves are spaghetti, lasagna, tacos, chicken salad, beef pot roast and vegetables, ham and scalloped potatoes and many more! And if it’s done on the grill, it’s even better.

Favorite colors are green and orange.

Favorite music: I like all kinds of music. There isn’t much I won’t listen to, but I do like upbeat music when working out.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’d like to run a horse therapy ranch for injured/discarded horses and for people who have suffered sexual/physical abuse to be able to come to the ranch and work with the horses and build their emotional/mental strength.

Or an investigative agent or psychologist.  

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://bettyshreffler.wordpress.com/

 

My Amazon Author Page is: amazon.com/author/bettyshreffler

Photo of me attached.

Book Cover photos attached.

Links of Books:

Embrace the Dawning: http://a.co/ayXqnj5

Cruel Temptation: http://a.co/43tdFMx

Dark and Beautiful Nights: http://a.co/7R73n3f

When Hunter Meets Seeker: http://a.co/ixcpg2C

Fire On The Farm: http://a.co/iFZluXg

 

 

 

Author Betty Shreffler

We all need an escape from reality.

                   Let my books by yours.

 

https://www.facebook.com/authorbettyshreffler/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/AuthorBettyShreffler

 

https://twitter.com/betty_shreffler

 

https://www.instagram.com/betty_shreffler/

 

https://bettyshreffler.wordpress.com/

 

Thanks so much!

~Betty

 

