Name  Leigh Savage

Age 38

Where are you from

Grew up in Poplar Bluff where I met my husband and married him in 1996 and in 2000 we moved to Saint Louis were we currently live with our two children.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’ve currently put writing on hold as I go through Nursing School. However, I have started modeling and plan on trying to combined the modeling with my writing in the future.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in elementary school following in my Father’s footsteps finding a love for the written word only in a different genre than he did.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I finished writing my first full length novel Angel of Death.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had created a charter called Mika Shadow that was a day walking vampire and her story wouldn’t let me be until I put it on paper.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think that I do…I try to stay true to the story even if it doesn’t fit into the norms of the genre.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Some of the times my titles come from a line in the book as with Angel of Death…in one scene the lady asks Mika Shadow if she is an Angel of Death and I made that my title.

 

I just want the reader to follow the charters and find an escape from the everyday grind of life.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my books are an escape from reality. Now however my poetry book is a collection of raw emotional poems that reflect events from the lives of the people close to me or myself.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I really feel in love with Christine Feehan’s Dark Series and love how she created a series that was great as a stand-alone book or you could read them in order and that is how I tried to create my Saint Louisville Vampire Series.

As far as my mentor I would have to say my late father Kain Savage inspired me even though he struggled his entire life trying to get published and it wasn’t until after he passed that I was able to publish a book we did together called Bound by Blood a collection of short stories ranging from Horror to Tragic Romance.  

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Right now, I haven’t been able to read for fun…so I’m way behind on my reading of my favorite authors. I love authors who write paranormal novels like Christine Feehan, Heather Graham, Angie Fox and Maggie Shayne just to name a few.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The Saint Louis Writers Guild has been a great support and I wish I had known about them before I had released my first novel. I’ve learned so much from everyone that I wish I had known sooner but I’m glad that I have their support now and I’m happy to be a member.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love for my writing to be my career but however at this time I spend more to promote my writing, editing, cover art ect than what I make so I have to work a day job as well and had to put writing on hold to go back to college to become a nurse in hopes that the income and work hours would allow me to invest more into my writing and the hope is that at some point that it will be my career.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I try not to look back to much but to take what I’ve learned from that experience and apply it to my future works.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, my father would read bedtime stories to me that he wrote and I would drift away in the world that he had created just for me and this inspired me to also create new worlds and charters to get lost in.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current project has been put on hold until nursing school is complete but I’m happy to share a teaser to know what to look forward to…The new novel is called Surrender to the Night and is a prequel to Angel of Death … telling Christopher’s and Rachel’s love story.

This is unedited work in progress:

Rachel 13 years old

Oak Valley, St. Louisville MO

 

Rachel hurried towards home she was out way past her curfew and if she didn’t beat her parent’s home she’d be grounded the rest of the school year and then she’d miss the end of the year school dance.  This was the first dance she’d been asked by a boy and she defiantly didn’t want to be the only girl not at the dance.  Rachel glanced up to see how many more blocks she had to go in order to make it home when she saw bright lights coming her way.  Rachel squinted trying to make it out but it was too late in the next insistent the car veered off the street onto the sidewalk and struck Rachel with so much force that everything went black.

*

Christopher walked through the ally way searching for his next meal when the smell of blood abruptly became thick in the air someone had lost a lot of blood and was close to death and they would make an easy meal.

When Christopher found the source of the blood it was a mere child crumpled over in a heap thrown out and left there like a piece of trash.  Christopher felt a rage build up inside him like he hadn’t felt since he’d been turned into a vampire.  Somewhere deep inside his soul his humanity seemed to awaken.  The little girl’s heartbeat was so weak but it was still there.  Instincts took over and without thinking he bit into his wrist and forced the blood down the little girl’s mouth not a lot just enough for the healing effect of his blood to pass onto the girl.  He didn’t have a clue as to how he knew this would work it was a mystery even to himself.  He watched as the color started to come back to the girl’s cheeks and her heart beat begin to grow stronger.  He knew he should leave her now before she fully recovered and awakened but he could not leave this little red headed girl until he knew for sure she’d be fine.  The girl’s eyes begin to flutter open sparkling green filled with fear.  Gently he laid his hand on her bare shoulder to help calm her.

“How did you make me better I should have been dead the car…?”  Rachel couldn’t finish the words.

“Sh, you’re alright now I won’t let anything happen to you.”  Christopher said lacing his words with a command for her to forget the car and the fear.

“You’re hand it’s so cold.”  Rachel said.

Christopher removed his hand from her shoulder.  “Sorry.”

Rachel looked around, “I don’t know where I am how am I supposed to get home now?”  Rachel began to cry.

“I’ll get you home don’t worry.”  Christopher said reassuringly.

Rachel looked at him as if she was trying to figure out if she could trust him or not.

“Why do your eyes glow like cat’s eyes in the dark?”  Rachel asked.

Christopher hadn’t realized that he’d let his guard down and his emotions were showing through his eyes.  He could simply wipe it from her mind later so why not give her a plausible answer.  “I have a rare blood disorder that makes me different in many ways and let’s leave it at that.”

 

Editing…I’m terrible at finding mistakes in my own writing…so it’s very important for me to have a great editor that understands my voice and I finally found that with Leanore Elliott who has edited my last couple novels and even more recently I had her re-edit my first novel Angel of Death.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not at the moment but my hope is that in the future I will be able to attend more events to promote my books.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve used pre-designed covers and I’ve had help from author friend like Seraphina Donavan and I’ve also used stock photos to create covers as well. With my modeling, I’ve made some great friends with photographers and I hope to start having custom covers made using their work.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Time, with working and having a family it’s always hard to find the time to write.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I based Mika Shadow off of Angelina Jolie and I would love someone strong and sexy like her to play the role.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Seek out any writing groups or guilds in your area they can be a great resource for support and learning tools.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to tell my readers that I hate that I had to put writing on hold to return back to college to become a nurse but I hope they understand I had to do it to support my family and I truly hope that when I’m through with school and back to writing that they find that it was worth the wait.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Phatho and Pharm books nothing fun…lol

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Disney movies make me laugh and cry every time.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Marilyn Monroe, I would love to sit down and talk with her and find out the truth behind her death.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I try not to think about death.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to draw and paint and I love photography.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Supernatural, Charmed, Vampire Diaries, Lucifer and many more.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza, Red and Black, and Gothic Medal

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 Be an artist.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Please take time to stop by my Author page and give it a like.

https://www.facebook.com/EroticRomanceWithaBite/

 

Follow me on Amazon to be the first to know when a new book is released.

http://www.amazon.com/Leigh-Savage/e/B002BLYBRE/

 

You may also want to join my public group a place for fans to gather and other author’s share upcoming news on new releases, contest and appearances.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/leighsavage/

 

Every now and then on Sunday I’m part of a blog talk radio show called Write Pack Radio we cover topic’s pertaining to the world of writing. Please stop by and give the page a like and be sure to check out our shows.

https://www.facebook.com/Write-Pack-Radio-258130144353624/

 

You Tube Video’s

***Warning  This Video Contains Graphic Sexy Content*****

I have a hot new book trailer lineup that I’d like to share with everyone. If you like what you see please remember to hit the like button on YouTube and please share.

 

Book Trailers with the Newest:

https://youtu.be/9ySqhJfcHag?list=PL49M0brOgClD8Jj50SHw8IWr_3qHZ44eA

 

 

